We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little chic spot”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Del Mar
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Santa Barbara can be quite pricey when it comes to hotels, so imagine our glee to find this affordable little gem. Just a block from the beach, this little hotel is a total deal. The room was done in a minmalist asain style. Very clean and classic.
One tip for folks who may like to sleep late, get a room away from their "pool" ( A little jacuzi they have). People didn't seem to mind having their kids out there early in the morning.
Other than that, we totally enjoyed this spot!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crtwrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2008

We lived in Santa Barbara for 10 years and recently moved to Los Angeles. We returned to SB for our wedding weekend and decided to try the Casa del Mar based on their web page and a quick stop in the lobby (they are VERY friendly). The location is perfect-- one block off the beach on the west side-- which means it is not as expensive as a an ocean view room on Cabrillo Street, but really convenient and in a very quiet neighborhood. We stayed in a one-room suite, which included one large room (king sized bed on one end with a sitting area/fireplace on the other), a small kitchen, and a bathroom. The suite faced the "spa area" (a hot tub and little deck area), with an entire wall of windows. We had tons of space in the room, were able to host family during the day, and it was very relaxing in the evenings. In terms of services, there is a good continental breakfast (with Santa Barbara Roasting Company coffee!) and wine and cheese in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly (they printed my dad's boarding pass and he wasn't even staying there and stored our extra wedding cake for us for an afternoon), the facilities are lovely, and the location is excellent. We would definitely stay there again and recommended it to everyone we know in SB for out of town guests.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Stayed for three nights in Casa Del Mar as a family of four. The location is good, near the beach and harbour. We had two queen rooms, both were clean with comfortable beds and nice duvets. We had room 28, which is on the corner of Bath St and Mason St and feels very exposed with the door straight on to Mason St, almost as if it isn't part of the hotel. There was some traffic noise, but it's a fairly quiet area. The other room, 27, was better and more private. The staff were all very good and happy to give information on the local area. Breakfast was average, nothing to get exited about. Would I stay again - probably, but not in room 28.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank October03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Just came back from 1night stay. Hotel looks so much better on website. Happy hour is cheap wine and stale crackers. Breakfast is better at Motel. Very pricey and mgmt not understanding. Toilet ran all night and mgmt said we should have gotten up during middle of night and looked for someone to fix. Don't stay there. Waste of money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sabisake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The hotel is very well located, one block from the beach and the harbor. You have lots of flowers around you.
Our balcony king room was big, clean (perhaps too clean as there was an awful smell of bleach in the room) and nicely decorated with flat screen TV. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is very decent in the morning (bread, bagel, muffins, orange juice, coffee or tea). The staff is friendly.
I think this is a good hotel if you want to stay one night or two near the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bagatelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

The hotel room looks exactly like what they look like in the pictures. Very clean, duvet covers on down comforters, flat screen TVs, blue, brown and white color scheme. This was a great deal for $180 a night, one hotel seperates you from the beach. The neighborhood is quite with lots of flowers and birds - very relaxing, but at the same time you are walking distance from restaraunts and State Street. There is wine and cheese in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning in the common area. I go to Santa Barbara all the time and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights, sat and sunday with our 2 dogs. The queen size room was a little small, but clean with white comfy beds. Every room has new flat screen TVs. The hotel is close to the beach, across the street. It worked out perfectly because we brought our boat with us to drive to Catalina, and we were able to park our boat and truck which was 40 feet , at the launch across the street (for a fee). But the convenieince was great. The walk to state street was not very far and there are many restaraunts nearby not to mention the waterfront is just across the street. They had a simple breakfast set up in the mornings and wine and cheese at night which was nice. The staff were super nice. On our way back from Catalina a week later ( after a grueling 11 hours trek acrosss the Pacific), I called with a 3 hour notice and they were able to lodge us that night without a booost in their rates. Again, the staff were very nice and polite. This room was smaller than the first, but after a day like we had, we didint care, and the beds were so comfortable. T o top it off they had fresh flowers in the room. We would definately stay there again, although a pool would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seasick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
375 reviews
0 mi away
Marina Beach Motel
Marina Beach Motel
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: 18 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3803
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £101 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing