We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We didn't want to leave!! Everything was perfect! It was so tranquil and the setting was beautiful! The food as well as the service was excellent. It was truly paradise. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We will definitely visit again and stay longer the next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    148
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
96
468
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

What an incredible experience! My fiancé and I stayed at the Tweedledum and we were very pleased! Our room/cottage was cozy, quaint and very comfortable! The bed was comfortable and the pillows were heaven! Did I mention the private jacuzzi tub? WOW! The cheese and wine were a great addition to our stay! The hostesses were very nice, professional and very helpful! We had plenty of room in our quaint little cottage! Fireplace, dining area, fridge, microwave and plenty of space! We will definitely be back! As a suggestion, if you do decide to stay here and you wish to bring your own drinks, etc, bring ice. There is only one ice tray. There is plenty of parking, although watch yourself......the one way street outside is very dangerous. A lot of traffic and people drive very fast. The price isn't too bad for a B&B! It sure beats a lot of other places! Overall, a wonderful and an enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks and get the Tweedledum. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was so delighted to pull up to our bed and breakfast choice in Santa Barbara - The Cheshire Cat Inn - first impression - TRANQUILITY - the gardens are divine. Immaculate, lush and and manicured. We arrived a little early for check in, but could park for free and met the lovely Connie who gave us maps and tips on where to head - especially as we were staying July 4th weekend. We decided to head to State St, considering we were early for check in - this was about a 10 - 15 min walk, a tiny bit out of the way, but good exercise! A shuttle runs down State - last stop is Sola, 2 blocks from the Inn.

Our room, The Mad Hatters was just what we were after - a light filled room with all the little extra touches such as robes, hair dryers, lush towels etc. it felt like Our room in our very own home. The room was calming, relaxing and spacious.

Connie and the other ladies were so accommodating and friendly and really made us feel welcome. We stayed for 5 days so a considerable amount of time, and most likely the youngest couple there. We did not feel out of place and particularly enjoyed the quietness of the Inn and sitting out in the gardens.

Wine and cheese served from 5-6pm every night was a hit. Gorgeous treats and Chardonnay from local wineries. The breakfasts each morning were also delightful. I wish now that I had gone down every morning!

The White Rabbit and Alice suite opposite the Mad Hatter and Jeans Room have balconies which overlook the gardens - I would like to request these rooms next time. Not to say Mad Hatters wasn't a treat!

Thankyou Cheshire Cat Inn for a spectacular stay whilst traveling from Australia. So special, so relaxing. I was searching for a resident 'Cheshire cat' though :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed in Santa Barbara overnight & chose the Cheshire Cat. Booked Queen of Hearts room because it had large jucuzzi bath & looked very nice. If I had any criticism at all it would be the shower was very dark in the hallway to the bathroom, if you are happy to spend your time in the tub then it would not be a problem.

Staff very friendly & helpful and always around to help. Breskfast was served in the garden and there was a good variety of food on offer. Garden wax absolutely beautiful & clearly receives daily tlc to keep it like this.

You can walk into the main shopping area & waterfront of Santa Barbara but it was a far longer walk than I had expected, there is a shuttle but I am unsure how close it operates to the hotel.

Lovely unique place to stay if visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mads26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful! We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. The Inn is located in two really nice buildings close to Santa Barbara's central State Street. Both buildings share a beautiful garden in which breakfast is served in the morning and wine and snacks in the afternoon. The garden is also a great place just to relax and read a book.

Our room was beautiful and very large, only the bathroom was on the small side but had everything we needed. Great was also the large balkony overlooking the garden. Both buildings and are very nicely decorated and very well maintained. All in all this Inn was certainly one of the best places we stayed at during our three week trip through California. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Top Notch B&B. I stayed here with my family, ages 18 to 78, and we all had high praise for the Cheshire Cat. My 18 year old son loved the endless appetizers, my wife the quality of the Chardonnay, and my parents the attention to detail in the rooms. Hosts Suzanne and Tia took great care of us. They have style and flair. They made our stay Top Notch. The rates seem high at first blush, but you get so much. We stayed during Graduation weekend of UCSB and every hotel in town was filled. My friend paid $169.00 at Motel 6 and enjoyed a vinyl floor and a clean comfortable room. I paid just $100 more at Cheshire Cat & stayed in a 5 Star room, had breakfast for 3, Hot Appetizers & Wine in the afternoon, and grounds which served as a meeting place for my family and friends. The breakfast served at the Inn is gourmet, and wine & cheese in the afternoon allows you to relax without having to gel your hair or comb your face. If you've never stayed at a B&B its time to start. And there is no better place than the Cheshire Cat Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Alice's Room. It has an extra sitting area & nice balcony. Eberle room has a cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoSwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Everything and more . Your host is well versed in how to make you feel comfortable.
All amenities highest quality, Molton Brown, beautiful dressing gowns, cleanest of bathrooms and comfortable beds. Small touches like a mini bottle of wine, chocolate cookies left out everywhere. The gardens are gorgeous and breakfast was enjoyed outside which was just delightful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinr613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#3 of 18 in Santa Barbara
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing