We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day and night at Cheshire Cat in Santa Barbara.”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I had a very nice time in Santa Barbara. It was our first time in a Bed and Breakfast inn and the Cheshire Cat was very pleasant and we loved the morning quiche and scones for breakfast. Close proximity to State St. and close to the mission.Thank-you for the hospitality, we will see you again soon.

David F.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room choose one that is off Chapala St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have been coming here since we got married, and after approximately 40 stays, The Cheshire Cat only continues to exceed our expectations. We have stayed in many of the rooms, the cottages, and the coach house (Tweedledum). The grounds are beautiful with a lovely garden. The food is delicious and plentiful, with great variety. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the atmosphere here is magnificent. The innkeepers are helpful and friendly. Finally, if you get the opportunity to meet the owners you will find such lovely and caring people that this alone will make you want to return. This is our favorite place to stay, only an hour and a half from where we live! Thank you again for making every trip memorable.

Room Tip: Tweedledum offers a suite style arrangement. We love all of the rooms. Ask the Innkeeper which rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We didn't want to leave!! Everything was perfect! It was so tranquil and the setting was beautiful! The food as well as the service was excellent. It was truly paradise. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We will definitely visit again and stay longer the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

What an incredible experience! My fiancé and I stayed at the Tweedledum and we were very pleased! Our room/cottage was cozy, quaint and very comfortable! The bed was comfortable and the pillows were heaven! Did I mention the private jacuzzi tub? WOW! The cheese and wine were a great addition to our stay! The hostesses were very nice, professional and very helpful! We had plenty of room in our quaint little cottage! Fireplace, dining area, fridge, microwave and plenty of space! We will definitely be back! As a suggestion, if you do decide to stay here and you wish to bring your own drinks, etc, bring ice. There is only one ice tray. There is plenty of parking, although watch yourself......the one way street outside is very dangerous. A lot of traffic and people drive very fast. The price isn't too bad for a B&B! It sure beats a lot of other places! Overall, a wonderful and an enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks and get the Tweedledum. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was so delighted to pull up to our bed and breakfast choice in Santa Barbara - The Cheshire Cat Inn - first impression - TRANQUILITY - the gardens are divine. Immaculate, lush and and manicured. We arrived a little early for check in, but could park for free and met the lovely Connie who gave us maps and tips on where to head - especially as we were staying July 4th weekend. We decided to head to State St, considering we were early for check in - this was about a 10 - 15 min walk, a tiny bit out of the way, but good exercise! A shuttle runs down State - last stop is Sola, 2 blocks from the Inn.

Our room, The Mad Hatters was just what we were after - a light filled room with all the little extra touches such as robes, hair dryers, lush towels etc. it felt like Our room in our very own home. The room was calming, relaxing and spacious.

Connie and the other ladies were so accommodating and friendly and really made us feel welcome. We stayed for 5 days so a considerable amount of time, and most likely the youngest couple there. We did not feel out of place and particularly enjoyed the quietness of the Inn and sitting out in the gardens.

Wine and cheese served from 5-6pm every night was a hit. Gorgeous treats and Chardonnay from local wineries. The breakfasts each morning were also delightful. I wish now that I had gone down every morning!

The White Rabbit and Alice suite opposite the Mad Hatter and Jeans Room have balconies which overlook the gardens - I would like to request these rooms next time. Not to say Mad Hatters wasn't a treat!

Thankyou Cheshire Cat Inn for a spectacular stay whilst traveling from Australia. So special, so relaxing. I was searching for a resident 'Cheshire cat' though :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil_Traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed in Santa Barbara overnight & chose the Cheshire Cat. Booked Queen of Hearts room because it had large jucuzzi bath & looked very nice. If I had any criticism at all it would be the shower was very dark in the hallway to the bathroom, if you are happy to spend your time in the tub then it would not be a problem.

Staff very friendly & helpful and always around to help. Breskfast was served in the garden and there was a good variety of food on offer. Garden wax absolutely beautiful & clearly receives daily tlc to keep it like this.

You can walk into the main shopping area & waterfront of Santa Barbara but it was a far longer walk than I had expected, there is a shuttle but I am unsure how close it operates to the hotel.

Lovely unique place to stay if visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mads26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful! We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. The Inn is located in two really nice buildings close to Santa Barbara's central State Street. Both buildings share a beautiful garden in which breakfast is served in the morning and wine and snacks in the afternoon. The garden is also a great place just to relax and read a book.

Our room was beautiful and very large, only the bathroom was on the small side but had everything we needed. Great was also the large balkony overlooking the garden. Both buildings and are very nicely decorated and very well maintained. All in all this Inn was certainly one of the best places we stayed at during our three week trip through California. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
882 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £169 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing