We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime and outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime and outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from an overnight stay at Cheshire Cat Inn as part of our honeymoon. Every aspect exceeded expectations. The Cheshire Cat offers plenty of charm, privacy, value and quality. It’s a beautiful place with warm and welcoming hosts. Everything is impeccably maintained. One could comfortably stay a good, long time.

We arrived to flowers, chocolates, a split of wine, and a congratulatory note from the owner. The two-room Tweedledum suite where we stayed is a small apartment. The main area has living room with TV and fireplace, dining area, and fully equipped kitchenette. The large master bedroom is tastefully furnished with a lush king-size bed, wall-mounted flat screen TV, and a Jacuzzi big enough for two. The roomy bathroom offers a walk-in shower stall, comfortable robes, and Molten & Brown bath products. The walk-in closet is big enough to be a small bedroom.

The splendid flower-filled grounds offer lovely places to sit and relax, complete with a hot tub inside a beautiful gazebo. The wine and cheese happy hour offered a nice assortment of appetizers. There were brownies and hot beverages in the evening. Breakfast included wickedly delicious pancakes filled with cream cheese and covered with warm berry sauce, as well as an abundance of warm hard-boiled eggs, muffins and toast, ham and cheese slices, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, and an assortment of cereals. You won’t leave the lovely dining room hungry!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    145
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
93
460
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Years ago I saw the Cheshire Cat in while visiting Santa Barbara for two days. I was staying at a hotel outside the city at the time, but I wrote down the name so I could have it for a future trip. That trip finally happened in July, and I couldn't be happier I chose this spot for a romantic getaway. In addition to how lovely the inn and grounds are, it is also professionally run. The rooms are immaculate, the grounds lovingly maintained, and the breakfasts a real treat! In addition to the standards (cereal, breads, ham, cheese, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs), there was always a special offering from the kitchen. Ebelskivers anyone? Those are delicious filled Danish pancakes that are orb-shaped and require a special pan to make. Don't miss the wine parties in the afternoon. Hot and cold snacks and free-flowing wine is a perfect was to compare travel notes with the other guests before heading out to dinner (where there are dozens of options in walking distance)! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Two beautiful homes next to each other with a lovely courtyard / dining area between. We booked the Dormouse room originally but it was a bit too small and got the afternoon sun so it was hot. They quickly moved us to the Mad Hatter which was cooler and more spacious. Staff was pleasant and helpful, beds comfy, fridge in most rooms. Make sure you take advantage the evening wine and appetizers. Wish we could've stayed longer. Town within walking distance. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Ellen and I stayed at the Cheshire Cat Inn in Santa Barbara this week for the first time in 13 years and liked it even better than the first time!

The place is ideally located in town and is a beautiful complex with gardens and its own convenient off-street parking. The inn offers afternoon wine & cheese and breakfast in the morning. Rooms are beautifully decorated, quiet, and comfortable.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Cheshire Cat Inn is located in a nice and quiet location, just a few blocks from State Street. The owners are British, and so is the style of this B&B. Old furniture, wallpaper with patterns, but all very tastefully done. The rooms are very nice, very clean and equipped with everything one needs.

Breakfast and pre-dinner wine and snacks are served either inside or in the patio between the 2 main buildings of the place. There is no large breakfast buffet, but what is available is really good and makes you leave fully satisfied, including excellent homemade scones, a dish of the day, nice orange juice.

What makes this place stand out is the attention to detail. Even as a seasoned and critical traveller, I didn't find any negatives. Add to this the nice and personal service and a fair value, and all is set for a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here four nights and loved every minute of our stay. The Inn is CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN, and the hospitality is warm and gracious. We had a lovely breakfast every morning outdoors in the garden and enjoyed wine and cheese in the late afternoon in the garden as well. The entire staff is wonderful and friendly, particularly Connie and Suzanne, who are personable, friendly, and kind. The staff anticipates your every need, so your stay will be quite comfortable. The Inn is located a block off State Street, so it is close to the "action", yet tucked away enough to make you feel you are at a private resort. We highly recommend this hotel, and intend to stay there again when we return to the west coast.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful! There is nothing negative to say about this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our 2 week self drive for our honeymoon. The house itself is stunning, the area is quiet but is a short walk to all the lovely restaurants and shops Santa Barbara have to offer. The wine and canapés in the evening are a lovely touch, as are the brownies when you get back after dinner. The rooms are clean, quirky and very welcoming. We stayed in the Dormouse room, the bed was so comfy and the room was light and airy. There is a hot tub, free tea and coffee all day as well as the wine, canapés and brownies I've mentioned... There is no reason not to stay here. It's beautiful and a real treat!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dormouse which was lovely, light, bright and airy. It's the cheaper of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle28b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing