We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I decided on the Cheshire Cat after researching Santa Barbara properties on TripAdvisor - and we were delighted with the choice. The beautiful - and very well maintained - Inn is perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful town on foot. The staff were very proficient and friendly. Breakfast hit the spot for us - outside in the garden next to the beautiful 'more than double fuschias’ – the weather was also great! We very much enjoyed the wine (good quality Californian Chardonnay) and hors d’oevres (varied – hot and cold) in the garden in the early evening. Fresh cookies and coffee and tea on tap also went down very well. We will certainly be coming back.

Room Tip: The Cheshire Cat Room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    145
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
93
459
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We found this B & B on line and quite simply lucked out, which doesn't always happen. We were absolutely delighted with our selection and also our selection of the Prestbury Room, with it's spacious 2 BRs, private hot tub deck, kitchen, private entrance, etc., etc. The Innkeepers were really welcoming and seemed genuinely interested in our comfort. Breakfast was really good, and so were the afternoon snacks and wine - a very nice touch. The room was clean, and so was the hot tub. We were so impressed that we hope very much to return and we are recommending it to friends for a perfect California getaway in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: The suites across the street are very private - highly recommend that if you prefer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Cheshire Cat Inn at the end of our california road trip and it was just charming. On arrival we were told that as the weather had been unexpectedly hot, we'd been put into a cottage across the road rather than in the bedroom we booked so that we had the benefit of air conditioning. We were thrilled to bits with this and thought it was very good customer service. Not only did we have air con but we made use of the private hot tub too! Of course even if you don't have a cottage you can use the hot tub in the garden of the main house which looked very inviting. The inn itself is lovely, unique, full of character and very well kept. Its exceptionally clean and the gardens are beautiful. The staff were all very professional and friendly and we felt right at home. They offer wine and nibbles in the garden every evening which is a real treat, as is the breakfast. We stayed in a few B&B's on our trip and the breakfast was extremely basic and although there isn't an extensive menu here, what they do offer is great - fruit salad, cereals, bagels, scones and jam, cheese, meats, fruit juice, tea/coffee etc and one hot dish per day. We had quiche one day and little danish pancakes on another. Both of these dishes were homemade and delicious.
Location wise, its very close to State Street where all the restaurants and shops are although walking back at night can be a little daunting as there are very few street lights. It was very quiet though so really no cause for us to be worried. The beach is quite a walk, it took us over half an hour which we didn't mind but some people might.
If you're planning a stay in Santa Barbara, would like somewhere homely and comfortable to stay and the Cheshire Cat is within your price range I would definitely say look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and i spent 3 nights in the Cheshire Cat inn at the end of a 2 week California road trip and we were spoiled. The property itself is unique,,charming, immaculately well kept and ideal for those like me who spend too many nights in hotel chains. The ambience is very relaxed and friendly and the staff are both helpful and attentive. We stayed in Alice's suite It was very comfortable, the balcony over looking the garden was a delightful place to relax after a day downtown

The location is ideal for visiting Santa Barbra, just of State Street and no more than 10 minutes walk from many great restaurants and attractions and 20 minutes walk from pier and beach

The attention to detail in the Inn is obvious. The little extras particularly the evening wine and cheese where you get to mingle with the other guests is a treat. Breakfast is wonderful with fresh fruit, a variety of cereals and scones. When you return from a night out there is alway a little treat in the kitchen fo accompany your last tea or coffee

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcgrann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very good inn. Fantastic rooms and very clean. 2 remarks: the breakfast is rich, but salty: there are very few cakes or cookies. The rooms has not the shutters so the sunlight is strong in the morning. The position is good in a clean and quite area. The garden is amazing and the "cheese and wine" in the afternoon is fantastic. We recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from an overnight stay at Cheshire Cat Inn as part of our honeymoon. Every aspect exceeded expectations. The Cheshire Cat offers plenty of charm, privacy, value and quality. It’s a beautiful place with warm and welcoming hosts. Everything is impeccably maintained. One could comfortably stay a good, long time.

We arrived to flowers, chocolates, a split of wine, and a congratulatory note from the owner. The two-room Tweedledum suite where we stayed is a small apartment. The main area has living room with TV and fireplace, dining area, and fully equipped kitchenette. The large master bedroom is tastefully furnished with a lush king-size bed, wall-mounted flat screen TV, and a Jacuzzi big enough for two. The roomy bathroom offers a walk-in shower stall, comfortable robes, and Molten & Brown bath products. The walk-in closet is big enough to be a small bedroom.

The splendid flower-filled grounds offer lovely places to sit and relax, complete with a hot tub inside a beautiful gazebo. The wine and cheese happy hour offered a nice assortment of appetizers. There were brownies and hot beverages in the evening. Breakfast included wickedly delicious pancakes filled with cream cheese and covered with warm berry sauce, as well as an abundance of warm hard-boiled eggs, muffins and toast, ham and cheese slices, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, and an assortment of cereals. You won’t leave the lovely dining room hungry!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Years ago I saw the Cheshire Cat in while visiting Santa Barbara for two days. I was staying at a hotel outside the city at the time, but I wrote down the name so I could have it for a future trip. That trip finally happened in July, and I couldn't be happier I chose this spot for a romantic getaway. In addition to how lovely the inn and grounds are, it is also professionally run. The rooms are immaculate, the grounds lovingly maintained, and the breakfasts a real treat! In addition to the standards (cereal, breads, ham, cheese, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs), there was always a special offering from the kitchen. Ebelskivers anyone? Those are delicious filled Danish pancakes that are orb-shaped and require a special pan to make. Don't miss the wine parties in the afternoon. Hot and cold snacks and free-flowing wine is a perfect was to compare travel notes with the other guests before heading out to dinner (where there are dozens of options in walking distance)! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing