We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheshire Cat Inn
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
575
158
27
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
158
27
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite rabbitqueen of heartsalice in wonderlandmad hattermock turtleprestbury cottagealice's roommarch harestate streetdeviled eggsother guestsbed and breakfastwine and appetizersthe main houseafternoon winebrownielocal wine
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 775 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood just off Upper State Street, the Cheshire Cat Inn is a charming B&B within easy walking distance of Santa Barbara's shops and restaurants on the way downtown. Service is very attentive and personal. Complimentary local wine and home made snacks at 5pm and home baked breakfast in the morning add to the inn's attractiveness as a place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. You'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place is lovely. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed the jacuzzi and patio immensely. The best aspect of the experience to me were the interactions with both the staff and other guests. These were personal and valuable, something that you won't find staying in a hotel. I also took wonderful walks down to the water (about a half hour each way) along State Street. I highly recommend the Cheshire Cat, and if I'm ever back in Santa Barbara, I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Cheshire Cat Inn in mid October for two nights half way through our month travelling from San Francisco down to San Diego. The Inn consists of two large Victorian houses, plus four small cottages on the opposite side of the road, there is free parking provided. The location is quiet and yet within a 10 minute well lit walk of State Street main restaurants and shops.The beach is around 40 mins walk or you can catch the shuttle bus service. The Inn has beautiful, well maintained gardens with outside seating plus a hot tub. We stayed in the March Hare Room which was charming and immaculately clean although a little small, fine for two nights but if staying longer we would prefer a slightly larger room with more wardrobe space. Bathroom was small but had an excellent shower plus good quality toiletries (Molten Brown). Connie the manager/innkeeper was a fund of useful information, a charming friendly lady who did everything to make us feel welcome but was not intrusive. Breakfasts were varied and delicious and the wine and nibbles in the garden at 5.00 were much enjoyed and a great opportunity to mingle with other guests if you wanted to.
We loved Santa Barbara, two nights was too short, and we would certainly recommend the Cheshire Cat Inn - charming, comfortable and a perfect quiet yet convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We do not live far from Santa Barbara, but when we go to the Granada Theater we do not like to drive home at night with all the construction on the 101. This is our first trip back to the Cheshire Cat Inn in a year. Know why we stay there again and again. Wonderfully clean, well decorated inn in an historical old home. The staff is so helpful. Love the morning breakfast usually with quiche and other breakfast foods, including home made pastry, but most especially being able to talk to other guests from all over the world. Returned from our show in the evening with a plate of chocolate chip cookies waiting in the lobby. The room we had requested was being worked on and they upgraded us to a room with a whirlpool tub. No cost to us. Can't say enough good things about this home away from home. Also pretty centrally located. Easy to get to events.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice clean, attractive B&B. Location was excellent allowing you to walk to and down State Street and therefore leaving the car behind. Breakfast was good, with a 'special' breakfast dish each day. We felt the bathrooms needed updating but all and all a good experience.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony for that extra private outdoor space
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kckaceykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews