We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheshire Cat Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$262
US$184
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$412
US$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montecito Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$205
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$186
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
574
157
27
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
157
27
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwhite rabbitqueen of heartsalice in wonderlandmad hattermock turtleprestbury cottagealice's roommarch harestate streetdeviled eggsother guestsbed and breakfastwine and appetizersthe main houseafternoon winebrownie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were fortunate to stay at Cheshire for two nights in December, 2013 and had a delightful time. The Inn is beautiful, well maintained, had an excellent breakfast, wine servings and evening treats. The inn keepers were all wonderful, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Caterpillar room which was beautifully decorated, comfortable, quiet and had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. I can't say enough about how charming and lovely this B & B is. We will definitely be back again. Thank you all you "Cheshire Cats"! Kim & Terry W.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We decided to make a quick trip to Santa Barbara and after looking briefly online decided on the Cheshire Cat Inn. What a lovely surprise. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. The drinks and hors doeuveres before dinner in front of the open fire were a treat. We stayed in the Duchess room; small but very clean and pretty with a nice new bathroom. Not suitable if you are elderly and have large suitcases as the two flights of stairs are narrow and quite steep. However there are other rooms more accessible. The B&B is in a good location; a 15 minute walk to the pretty shopping precinct where public shuttle buses cost 50 cents and take you down to the Harbour pier. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend The Cheshire Cat to couples or singles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crislenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to stay if you like to chat with other guests. You get plenty of opportunities at breakfast and at the wine hour in the evening. Both breakfast and the hor d'oeuvres are delicious. We checked in on Christmas Day and got a real nice gift, an upgrade to an absolutely great room. This B&B is a true gem with a perfect location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank USAfantast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Charming B&B in a great location. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and shown to our lovely room. My husband and I stayed in the Duchess room which was inviting and comfortable with what appeared to be a recently re-done bathroom. Couldn't be happier with the clean and attractive accommodations. Before venturing out we had a nice glass of local wine and some delicious appetizers (try the artichoke hearts with baked cheese in the center if they have them). We had our breakfast brought to our room the next morning. There was plenty of food and it was very tasty. We had two wonderful nights away and we will definitely return to the Cheshire Cat Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCHCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood just off Upper State Street, the Cheshire Cat Inn is a charming B&B within easy walking distance of Santa Barbara's shops and restaurants on the way downtown. Service is very attentive and personal. Complimentary local wine and home made snacks at 5pm and home baked breakfast in the morning add to the inn's attractiveness as a place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. You'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews