We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely! Great Location. Great Breakfast.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely! Great Location. Great Breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars if that I feel we should have been warned about noise on Chapula (one way busy street) next to the cottage we stayed in. My husband is a light sleeper and after not sleeping for two nights had to move to another hotel (El Encanto) up in the hills. The 2nd night wasn't as cold so we didn't have the white noise of the heater so I didn't sleep either. He was going there to "chill" so it really was too noisy in that cottage for him to relax during the day. I was out walking the city so day noise didn't bother me.
BUT, the Inn and staff were lovely, the breakfast was delicious and people we talked to at breakfast said noise was not a problem in their rooms (they are on 2nd story above traffic).
Most importantly, the owner did not charge us for the remaining days we had booked even though it was Christmas week. We will definitely be back there but will be careful to stay away from the busy street.

Room Tip: Just stay away from the busy one way street on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    144
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
92
458
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We wanted to take a quick getaway between Xmas and school starting. Looking for a direct flight landed us in Santa Barbara. The weather was great (unseasonably warm according to one of the inn keepers) and the city is small enough that you can get to all of the sites very easily. This is a bit farther off the main area but close enough to walk if you want.

Pros: The various inn keepers on many of the days were all uniformly nice and helpful. The wine and hors d'oevres every evening were nice (not spectacular but good). The service was particularly ample on New Year's eve - which was a nice surprise. The breakfasts also had a variety of choices and when they served quiche, there was a vegetarian option. The grounds are beautiful - with little surprises hidden in the gardens.

Cons: They don't actually have a lot of indoor space to serve breakfast and the dining table is a bit dark. On our first day the ladies who were asked to share the table with us clearly did not want to do so. (You can tell by tone of voice and body language). Since there was no other location, we just chatted amongst ourselves. We had a similar experience on our last day with another couple but they just asked for 2 minutes to finish up. For the rest of the time, all the other people were very nice.
The room we had was spacious and beautiful but had a feeling of being a bit old. The wiring was odd and there weren't enough outlets. The internet was also a little slow and spotty but I'm not sure whether it's due to the service that the B&B has itself or the distance of our room. It may be that the rooms in the main houses have better reception and are more quaint.
There's also not enough parking. So, it is better to walk, if you can. (On the other hand, Santa Barbara has ample parking downtown and the first 75 minutes are free. In a sense, it's a toss up.)

Would we stay here again: Yes. I suspect that we might want to split our stay between something in the wine country (so that we don't have to drive around so much) and/or the beach but this was definitely a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If you need something, it's easier to ask someone rather than figure out their phone system - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were fortunate to stay at Cheshire for two nights in December, 2013 and had a delightful time. The Inn is beautiful, well maintained, had an excellent breakfast, wine servings and evening treats. The inn keepers were all wonderful, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Caterpillar room which was beautifully decorated, comfortable, quiet and had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. I can't say enough about how charming and lovely this B & B is. We will definitely be back again. Thank you all you "Cheshire Cats"! Kim & Terry W.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We decided to make a quick trip to Santa Barbara and after looking briefly online decided on the Cheshire Cat Inn. What a lovely surprise. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. The drinks and hors doeuveres before dinner in front of the open fire were a treat. We stayed in the Duchess room; small but very clean and pretty with a nice new bathroom. Not suitable if you are elderly and have large suitcases as the two flights of stairs are narrow and quite steep. However there are other rooms more accessible. The B&B is in a good location; a 15 minute walk to the pretty shopping precinct where public shuttle buses cost 50 cents and take you down to the Harbour pier. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend The Cheshire Cat to couples or singles.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crislenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to stay if you like to chat with other guests. You get plenty of opportunities at breakfast and at the wine hour in the evening. Both breakfast and the hor d'oeuvres are delicious. We checked in on Christmas Day and got a real nice gift, an upgrade to an absolutely great room. This B&B is a true gem with a perfect location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank USAfantast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Charming B&B in a great location. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and shown to our lovely room. My husband and I stayed in the Duchess room which was inviting and comfortable with what appeared to be a recently re-done bathroom. Couldn't be happier with the clean and attractive accommodations. Before venturing out we had a nice glass of local wine and some delicious appetizers (try the artichoke hearts with baked cheese in the center if they have them). We had our breakfast brought to our room the next morning. There was plenty of food and it was very tasty. We had two wonderful nights away and we will definitely return to the Cheshire Cat Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCHCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood just off Upper State Street, the Cheshire Cat Inn is a charming B&B within easy walking distance of Santa Barbara's shops and restaurants on the way downtown. Service is very attentive and personal. Complimentary local wine and home made snacks at 5pm and home baked breakfast in the morning add to the inn's attractiveness as a place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. You'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing