We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place,great people,great location"”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Great place,great people,great location"”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

My wife and I whilst taking a short 2 week tour of California decided to book 3 nights at the Chesire Cat Inn. After reading countless positive reviews we were not disappointed. We booked the White Rabbit room which had a small balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens.The room was very clean,tastefully decorated and spacious.Morning breakfast was served in the drawing room or the garden dependant on the weather. We were greeted each morning by a wonderful lady named Connie and occassionally Dee who were extremely friendly. There was an excellent choice of foods and each morning freshly baked items were also served. The B&B is located one block away from State street and we found a 15 minute stroll would find you in the heart of the shops and restaurants.A small electrically powered shuttle bus ran the length of State street each day at regular intervals for a very nominal charge. We chose a B&B to avoid the corporate hotel atmosphere and meet some "real" people and that we certainly did. The Chesire cat is an ideal base whilst exploring Santa Barbara and we will certainly return.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    150
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
100
474
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

This was my first stay at a B&B and it was exactly what I imagined it would be. We stayed in the Queen of Hearts room which is a little cottage with its own private entrance. It had an in-room spa tub, a separate decent sized bathroom with shower and a private patio outside where we could have breakfast.

There were fresh baked fruit breads an muffins in the morning and wine and cheese in the evening. I liked that we were able to be as sociable with the other guests as we wanted. The environment was open to socialising with other guests, but we didn't made to feel guilty if we just wanted to duck out to our room.

The room was really comfortable and cozy, the only drawback is the tile floors. Even in May the floors were cold and the small rugs at the side of the bed weren't enough when you had to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

  • Liked — Fresh baked breads and muffins
  • Disliked — Cold tile floor in the bedroom
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock_it_real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

this is a great little b&b, with lovely gardens and a jacuzzi, great breakfasts and staff. 2 minute walk to state street in santa barbara, will definately go back. we stayed in the room march which was lovely

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed at the Cheshire Cat Inn in the 2-bedroom cottage (Prestbury) and had a delightful experience! The cottage has its own driveway, private jacuzzi, kitchen, TV, and DVD player and they delivered a delicious breakfast to us every morning. The cottage was immaculate and the perfect place to have a group of 4 for a long weekend getaway. The Inn is very well-run and located conveniently near State Street. We had a fabulous time and I would absolutely recommend this Inn and plan on returning soon.

  • Liked — Adorable, well-located private cottage at a good price
  • Disliked — Nothing - had a fantastic experience
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymoonerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Magical weekend in queen of hearts suite. Cheshire cat is our new SB favorite. Great location. Easy walk to State street. Quiet neighborhood. Lovely backyard with a giant old tree, fountain and flowers. Our suite had a private entrance with its own patio and its own jaquzzi tub. Weekend breakfast is served on the patio. Early coffee and wine/cheese late afternoon. Wi fi allowed me to follow the northern cal fires. Did not want to leave. Gracious staff. Bharti kindly fed ex d back the clothes I left in a drawer. A magical little oasis.

  • Liked — quiet ambience and location
  • Disliked — the wicker couch was too low
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2008

This was our first stay at the Cheshire Cat Inn (and my first stay ever at a Bed and Breakfast). The Innkeepers were wonderful and very friendly. The Inn is a short walk from the many restaurants and shops on State St. Our Room (Alice's Suite) had a very nice balcony and was very comfortable. The room had several journals which could be written in to describe your stay. I noticed that many people had visited repeatedly over the years (some staying in the same room for over 10 years). I can see why- the friendly staff, updated accomodations and overall quest to go above and beyond will make this Inn a repeat on our list. Looking forward to making many more journal entries!

  • Liked — Very quiet and peaceful, great complimentary happy hour!
  • Disliked — They do have a parking lot, but its limited. Street parking is the next option.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinesecognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Was going to be near Santa Barbara on business, so the wife and I decided to make a night of it. Found the Cheshire Cat online and booked a room. (It was a slow Wednesday night so I negotiated a significant discount.) We stayed in the Cheshire Cat Suite, a king room with a jacuzzi tub. The building itself is a stately old victorian mansion, very nicely restored, on a quiet-ish residential street near the main drag. Our room was right on the first floor, just off the common areas. Jacuzzi was luxurious, bed was firm but comfortable. We'd definitely come back, but probably in a different room, since in the morning, breakfast is served right outside the door. So, you'd better already be awake. Also, breakfast is just OK (my wife thought the scones were dry!).

Overall though, a lovely place.

  • Liked — The general luxurious feel
  • Disliked — The scones
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlendaleNaptime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing