We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Great Breakfast!”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
“Good Location and Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cheshire Cat Inn last weekend for a friend's wedding. We rented the Prestbury cottage and shared the space with another couple. The Inn is in a good location for exploring State Street. We were able to make it to the Granda Theatre in a 10-15 minute walk. The cottage was clean and air conditioned - it also has a small private patio with a private hot tub. It you have two couples, I recommend this cottage as it is big enough that you aren't on top of each other and it faces Valerio Street, which is relatively quiet compared to the cross street.

We were only able to eat one breakfast at the Inn, but it was fantastic! The staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate anything you might need.

Good stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    148
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
96
469
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I loved it! Service was great I will come back. The grounds were beautiful. Food was awesome. Can't say enough about it. I was in the mad hatter room which I was in the second house. I loved the theme of the room. Free WiFi was very nice

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjorystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Second time here this time we stayed in the prestbury cottage as we were travelling with our friends who are from Orange County and it was great having all the room to use in the cottage as before everything was excellent from start to finish

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emerald hills, ca
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have stayed here at least once a year for the last several years. The hostesses/greeters are all super people. they are warm and friendly as well as knowledgable about local sites and restaurants.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable but at this time lack air-conditioning so the top floor rooms get very hot! The windows are not screened and some do not stay open so we could not leave the windows open at night because of insects attracted by the interior light.

The inn is centrally located to shops and restaurants. One can almost get by visiting the local area with out needing a car using the local shuttle bus or walking or a taxi.

the Inn is not equipped to serve disabled guests to to lots of stairs to enter the lobby and to the top floor rooms.

We will stay here again and are hoping that the a/c will be installed or at least screens on the windows.,

Room Tip: avoid the top as the rooms are very hot during warm weather- lots of stairs to get to the top. avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireCatInn, Owner at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review dated May 24th. It's wonderful to hear that you have returned so many times to stay with us and appreciate your lovely comments about our Inn. My delayed response is so that I can inform you that we have just finished installing air-conditioning throughout the Inn. We realized that this enhancement was a necessary factor in our continual strive for our guests comfort and thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Christine Dunstan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I managed to arrive during a short heatwave. Some of the rooms don't have air condition and the innkeepers moved me around every night into those rooms and cottages which had aircondition, which was really helpful. Stayed one night in the Alice room and 2 nights in different cottages and loved all of them. They are thoughtfully decorated and very charming.
Breakfast is really good, especially the different extras every day! Also liked the wine in the evening. Many thanks to the innkeepers, and especially Connie!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingcloudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great Location. Walk to everywhere in SB but far enough away to feel the charm of the city. We were there we two other couples each room was unique and more than comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. The amenities were all first class. The breakfast and happy hour were perfect. Incredible attention to detail was really appreciated by all of us. The grounds are immaculate and parking very easy. One of the nicest B & B's in the U.S. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is honestly one of the best experiences I have ever had staying as a guest in an inn/hotel. The property is beautiful and charming and makes you feel like a guest in a friend's home. If you are looking to have privacy, feel enchanted and pampered, yet close enough to everything you want to see in Santa Barbara this is the place. The breakfast is good and presented beautifully outside as long as the weather is nice. Also, the wine and hors d'ouvres is a wonderful and welcoming touch. Common sitting areas feel very homey and nice to relax. You can tell there was a lot of thought put into this inn and there is so much attention to detail. I don't know that I would want to stay anywhere else in Santa Barbara. You can't go wrong with the Cheshire Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twyndle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing