We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Santa Barbara”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2006

Myself and my boyfriend have recently returened from a three month around the world trip. In this we stayed at some fantastic places.One of which was The Chesire Cat in Santa Barbara.This is a gorgeous guest house/ b & b that I booked on the internet before we left.The staff there are so friendly and welcoming. It is a very homely place where they provide afternoon cakes and wine.They have a fab spa pool in the large garden perfect for relaxing. The whole place has an Alice in Wonderland feel, with each room named after a charachter.Our room was callled the March Hare.This place is a must if heading to Santa Barbara.Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

5  Thank Jowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2006

My husband and I just returned from our anniversary celebration at The Cheshire Cat Inn.
It was perfect! This B&B is so charming and so perfect---I highly recommend this wonderful place.
We had a large suite--the Tweedledum suite in a separate house. It was so beautifully furnished and so clean. The shower was great and there is a jacuzzi tub in the room that we used for a romantic late-night bubblebath.
There's a fireplace and a little kitchen that's very convenient.
The gardens and grounds are beautifully maintained and the staff was so nice.
There's a lovely continental breakfast that included fresh baked scones.
All I can say is that we are definitely going back there and you should too!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelleyB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2006

This was our first port of call having flown out from England, and it was lovely. We stayed in 'Alice' for 2 nights, slept extremely well and the room service breakfasts were just divine! This is an extremely well run establishment that was a pleasure to be at (and if you can scarf on of the legendary chocolate browines, you will truly be in heaven!). It was well placed to walk into town, with loads of eateries around. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2006

My wife and I just returned from an absolutely wonderful weekend at the Cheshire Cat Inn. We celebrated a milestone 40th birthday in a most relaxing and enjoyable environment. We can truely say we were blessed by the friendliness and outstanding service by Bharti and the rest of the staff. From the moment we arrived, plans were in place for us to enjoy our weekend together. Her very warm personality made out stay a most enjoyable. I am not sure if this is standard practice (so don't expect it) but we were given the choice to upgrade to a suite which was available, which made our stay even more relaxing and fun. The jacuzzi tub was awesome and coupled with a very comfortable bed and the full, delicious breakfast in bed the next morning, we started the next day with a feeling of rest and satisfaction.

Bharti was very personable and caring, and she was sure to make reservations for us each night, recommending two excellent restaraunts (Opal and Olio e Limone) which we thoroughly enjoyed. The location of the Inn was convenient and we walked to town each night.

If you are trying to decide where to stay we highly recommend the Cheshire Cat. We hope you have as wonderful an experience as we did!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilton_Honors_Membr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rolling Hills, California
14
Reviewed 20 December 2005

We just renewed our acquaintance with the Cheshire Cat. Our stay was truly delightful and reinforced our decision to return once again. Our room, Jean, in the second house, although not the biggest or fanciest was beautiful and the new bed guaranted sweet dreams. The breakfast included a baked apple, warm scones and a mexican fritata that was to die for. The Cheshire is located in a quiet neighborhood just off State Street and close to everything. I highly recommend it and the price was right.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Orange County, CA
15
Reviewed 14 December 2005

After more than a decade of beloved B&B stays, we were disappointed that our night at the "Cheshire Cat" will not go down in history as a positive experience. The staff was less than gracious, and our room didn't come close to meeting my expectation. For a little more cost, I would recommend heading down the street to the Simpson House-- a splendid experience, in my opinion.

Stayed: October 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2005

3  Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
660 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Eagle Inn
The Eagle Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £174 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing