We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it if it were $100 cheaper” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth it if it were $100 cheaper”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2007

Stayed here in October on a business trip, and although this was a charming enough place, it is definitely not for the business traveler.

First of all even though the Inn offers wireless Internet, I could barely get a signal in my room (the Titmouse).

Second, the evenings were pretty warm but there was no air conditioning in the room. I opened up the windows to let in a breeze but the noise from the traffic racing up the street made it very hard to sleep. The Inn did leave a fan in the room, but for $150+ a night that was pretty pathetic.

Third, there was no television in the room. Thanks for letting me know ahead of time (not!), I would have brought some more books.

Finally, the great home cooked breakfast they advertise isn't available on during the weekdays. So, there was a mediocre continental breakfast instead.

The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean, however the management could have done more for us. Even though the Inn was fairly empty during our stay they still put us into the cheapest rooms. For what we were charged I didn't feel this was a good value, and would recommend that you negotiate everything upfront with the Cheshire Cat before you confirm a reservation with them.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TripAdvizahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    144
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
92
458
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2006

My wife took me to Santa Barbara for my birthday. The folks at the Cheshire Cat were very welcoming. The Catepillar room is a great choice, over looks the beautiful grounds and has an excellent deck. Breakfast was outstanding!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank oiwseufrwbfkwjndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2006

We stayed at the Cheshire cat for 2 nights in September. We viewed the various different rooms online and booked Alice's room ( all named after Alice in Wonderland characters). Upon arrival we were greeted by the Inns host who was very friendly. The room was very clean and quirky and our balcony overlooked the lovely gardens. We had breakfast in the morning whch was included in the price, it was served in the little courtyard, there were cerals, muffins, fruit and lovely blueberry muffins. We were able to walk to the main street were all restaurants, bars, shops were it took us about 10mins. The beach we drove to but they do run a trolley system up and down the main street. When we return to Santa Barbara we will return to the Cheshire cat.

  • Liked — Friendly homely feel
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alfie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2006

Stayed here while touring California to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Beautiful room - Mockturtle - nice & bright. Lovely token of sparkling wine & chocs left for us. Very well located, walking distance restaurants & shops. Area felt very safe. Lovely breakfast provided. Beautiful grounds, parking provided. Easily found from freeway. Highly recommended. Ate at very nice restaurant 'Opel'.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book it
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgoldenoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2006

Suddenly finding that we had three extra days, we decided to drive up the coast from Los Angeles, ending in San Francisco. Our first stop was to be Santa Barbara, so we went on line and found the Cheshire Cat Inn and they had a great sounding special called the Cat’s Grin. We called the Inn and the innkeeper explained the “special” and the options available, so we booked it for our first night.

When we drove into Santa Barbara, we immediately started to talk about staying here for three nights instead. When we parked outside the Inn and looked at the gorgeous Victorians and beautifully kept gardens, the decision had almost been made. Then we were met by a very friendly innkeeper, who gave us a run down on Santa Barbara and the various activities available. We were escorted to our room, the White Rabbit, and within 5 minutes I was downstairs asking if we could extend our stay for three days. Unfortunately the Inn was sold out, but they could check around for us, to see if there were any other rooms in town. About a ½ hour later, we received a call saying a cancellation had just come in, and we could stay but we would have to move rooms the next day.

From beginning to end, our stay at the Inn was a very memorable experience. The staff, cleanliness, attention to detail in the decor, breakfast, afternoon wine hour and the other guests we met all rate a ten. We are already planning our return next year.

  • Liked — Friendliness and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2006

My wife heard about the Cheshire Inn from a friend of hers, she had been "talking" about it, so I booked it as a surprise for her. We really enjoyed our spa room and the entire Santa Barbara experience. There are great restaurants/bars and pubs/shopping all up and down State Street, which is a bit of a walk but an enjoyable stroll from the Inn. Stearns Wharf is another enjoyable venue to spend some time, a great fish eatery called "Brophies" I think. The grounds and common rooms of the Cheshire Cat are meticulously kept and inviting, as well the outdoor spa. We certainly enjoyed out stay, the staff and accommodations for our all too brief 3 night visit, and look forward to returning on a fairly regular basis.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNIEandDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2006

The Cheshire Cat Innkeepers could not have been more welcoming, and the Inn is charming, but we do have some comments. When booking, travelers should be aware that there is no air conditioning (at least not in our room). Sleeping with open windows would have been fairly comfortable, but constant road noise made it impossible. Again, it could have been only our room, which was on the street side, but the noise was rather loud so I doubt it. Towels were threadbare, coffee was not available at 7:30 as promised, nor at 7:45 when we departed (we had to skip breakfast because it was not served until 8.)

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Duanefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#3 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing