We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An lovely oasis in Santa Barbara”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marshfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“An lovely oasis in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The Cheshire Cat was recommended to us by friends. It was the last leg of our driving trip down the coast of CA. The accomodations are lovely and spotless. We stayed in the Tweedledum suite, which had a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, large living and dining area and kitchen facilities. On the weekends, you can request that your breakfast be brought to the room, which we did. A wonderful breakfast is served every morning, as well as wine and apps late afternoon. Bharti (the innkeeper) made us very comfortable and was a pleasure to talk to you. I highly recommend this inn. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenAnn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    146
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
94
463
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Everything about the Cheshire Cat Inn is perfect. No detail has been missed. The staff is warm and wonderful. The gardens are gorgeous. The rooms feel like home. You won't ever want to leave. We stayed a week and it wasn't long enough. We miss Bharti and Connie (inn keepers) as if they were relatives we visited.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed in the newest cottage - Bramhall - and it was lovely. Comfortable and very nicely appointed. The staff are the highlight, they take wonderful care of you. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We have been here twice now and love it. I always feel sad to leave ... the Victorian decor makes me feel like I'm in a fairy tale and I don't want to leave! Some of my favorite parts...
-the dining room by the window, always sunny and warm
-having a cup of tea at breakfast by that window is like stepping out of time
-squeaky old wood floor in the main house - priceless
-the peaceful garden to sit and read in (the weather was perfect in October and June!)
-Alice in Wonderland decor
-We love Bharti, our innkeeper - seems like we've known her forever, even though we haven't :)
-greeted by a welcome note, chocolate and bottle of wine on our anniversary
-Jacuzzi tub in the room!
-great location, close to town, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful
-we love downtown Santa Barbara... so fun!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne0fGreenGables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We just came home from our 6th or 7th stay over a number of years and can't wait to return. The Cheshire Cat Inn is one of our favorites and we've stayed at numerous B&
Bs all around the world.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanTarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The staff at the Cheshire Cat make you feel right at home. From wine and cheese in the after noon, to little surprises left for frequent guests, you are made to feel like royalty. I have been to the Cat 4 times and plan another trip soon. The location is so close to the action, you can park your car in the lot and leave it there for the duration of your stay. I highly, highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laluz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We loved the Cheshire Cat and upon check in wish we had stayed for a second night. The rooms are comfortably furnished and the beds are really comfortable. Our room backed onto the garden which has a lovely hot tub and nice lawns. Breakfast and afternoon wine and nibbles are served which is also very nice!
It's located a very short walk from State Street (the main street) in Santa Barbara so you don't have to worry about taking your car. You can also walk all the way down to the pier and have great seafood on foot, which means you can particpate in a few wines too :-) Wish we had stayed longer and for those of you that don't like cats, don't worry, all theirs are porcelain!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#3 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing