We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location and staff”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location and staff”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Harbor House Inn June 2014 and was extremely pleased with the room, location and staff. Complimentary bikes made getting around easy and fun. All the staff was terrific. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToomeyTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    155
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
532
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just one night but really enjoyed it. Excellent location, immaculately clean room, very comfy bed and attention to detail of a 4 or 5 star hotel. Didn't have time to use the bikes, beach towels or DVD collection they have but that is a nice extra. There's cheaper motels/inns nearby but this one is worth the extra!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank oO-STEVE-Oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent four weeks travelling around California & our stay at Harbor House Inn was one of the highlights of our trip. Customer Service & staff amazing, nothing too much trouble. Our luxurious King Room had everything you could possibly wish for & the bed was the most comfortable ever. The location was ideal, just minutes from the beach & harbour. We were given delicious home made Banana Cake wrapped up with a gold bow & the hotel even emailed me the recipe. Just wished we had booked to stay longer. Free use of bikes to go & explore Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable & situated around two attractive courtyards. Superior rooms are huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found the Harbor House Inn here on TA and everything good that has been said about he place is true. We stayed two nights and now wish we had changed our vacation plans to stay longer. The bed room is huge, the bath also has lots of storage places. Then the kitchen is like going back to the 1950s providing a cosy place to eat our generous basket of goodies provided when we arrived as well as left overs from Toma's. We liked the hard wood finishings and original art on all the walls. You can be assured that the bed is delightful, very comfortable. Top it all off with a quiet, ideal location two blocks from the beach. It is just a wonderful place and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad we found this place to stay while visiting the beautiful Santa Barbara . The location is superb just 2 mins walk from the beachfront & harbour . Staff are excellent so friendly & helpful . I was thrilled with the room ! So comfortable & calm with its own little terrace outside . There are bikes for customers to use. We rode along the beach promenade early in the morning & saw dolphins & sea lions playing near the shore . This really is a great place to stay , I can't fault it at all .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sybiltheswan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place was a great choice! We decided to get away for a day for a birthday. Having used Google's Hotel Tool, the results in SB weren't promising if you are expecting a range of 4-5 star hotels.

This hotel was one of the two top rated hotels - the other was further away from and much pricier.

Upon a arriving, check-in was a breeze. The associate was very friendly and helpful. The rooms have parking directly next to the units. The welcome basket ($12 optional charge) is an excellent deal - a variety of fruit, drinks, snacks, and fresh homemade banana but bread.

Our favorite amenity, besides HBO, was the free beach cruiser bikes. The beach is RIGHT there, and the main shopping and dining on State St is easily accessible.

The room itself was very clean, with thick towels, coffee and plenty of accessories, a full kitchen, and comfy bed.

If we visit SB again, this is our choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SPG100Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved the Harbor House Inn. It is perfectly located a block from Cabrillo St along the harbor and about 3 blocks from State Street and all the shopping. The rooms are very roomy, nicely furnished, and private. The small kitchen was perfect for us and they had free WiFi. There was no A/C and almost always, that wouldn't be a problem as the temperatures near the bay usually are mild and pleasant. We happened to be there during a heat wave of over 100 degrees. They did have both a ceiling fan and a floor fan which helped a lot.

The staff was very helpful and they had a small business center. They also had a surprisingly good collection of DVDs that were free to view. The property has 3 of the most picture perfect palm trees I've seen. They have lounge chairs in a small yard area that is a great place to chill out in the morning or evening. We very much enjoyed our 2 nights there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing