We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Encanto was the treat that a special birthday deserved”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent two nights in this fabulous hotel as we traveled through a ten night trip from Sonoma / Napa Valley to Santa Monica (with stops in Sonoma, Napa, San Francisco, Carmel, Santa Barbara, and Santa Monica) for a special birthday. This hotel was an outstanding luxurious choice!! The location is magnificent - the sunset views over the pool and restaurant are some of the best I have ever seen. The appointments in the bungalow style rooms exceed the adjectives in my vocabulary. We ate two breakfasts and a dinner in the hotel - each meal was exceptional (yes, even the white omlet with chives was a masterpiece). I loved the breakfast tea!
If I travel to CA again, this hotel will be the centerpiece of my trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnECR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear AnnECR_12,

Thank you for making El Encanto a stop on what sounds like an amazing birthday celebration journey! We hope you will find many more occasions to visit us in the future for more pampering.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I spent three fabulous nights at this incredible hotel over an extended weekend. The cabin I stayed in was beautifully furnished with all the high-end modern conveniences along with a heated bathroom floor, glorious rain shower and lots of space. The quality of the finishes, the bedding and amenities are incredible. A personalized monogrammed head-pillow the most subtle of elegant touches. The setting is hard to beat and in the main building the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Each night I enjoyed the hospitality at the bar and fire-place and the piano player and singer were a real treat. Food was excellent. The service was outstanding and I will be back., Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear seanmage,

We are thrilled to read of your wonderful five star experience at El Encanto! It sounds like you really made the most of your long weekend and we are so happy you spent it with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I booked into El Encanto for a mid week three days of relaxation after a crazy time at work and left feeling completely renewed.
The attention to detail in the room and bathroom was wonderful. From the Nespresso machine, to the assortment of fresh milks, to the monogrammed pillows, to the bag which held the morning newspaper - it was truly a luxury resort experience. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was one you could really relax in. The cleanliness was exemplary.
I particularly loved the heated infinity pool - swimming at night under the stars in winter was bliss!
The gardens are beautiful with the bungalows spread over the property. As a result the property does not have a hotel feel to it and instead feels like a home away from home.
I enjoyed the spa facilities by way of a massage. The massage options are a little on the pricey side, but once again, the attention to detail made it a perfect experience.
I did order room service by way of a cheese plate, but otherwise cannot comment on the restaurant.
The staff were friendly and professional.
El Encanto is hidden in the Santa Barbara hills with wonderful views of Santa Barbara. There is plenty to do a short drive away. I've stayed closer to the beach before and would take El Encanto's location over that any day
I would note for those driving that the only realistic parking option is to valet for a daily surcharge given the location is in a residential area with limited or no parking signs in the vicinity.

Room Tip: The Superior Bungalows do not have a patio or balcony. Book the Duluxe Bungalow if you are looking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iznik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A serene and beautiful hideaway tucked in the hillside above Santa Barbara in a quiet, upscale residential area. Perfect for couples or those wanting to get away and relax in a quiet, secluded and peaceful location. Not good for families with young children; the Bacara and the Four Seasons are better equipped for this group. Amiable service and lovely amenities in a sophisticated setting suited to adults. Excellent dining with beautiful vistas of Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I will this hotel is way better than Four Seasons. The little touches in the room to the hotel amenities and not to mention the great staff in the Dining Room made our stay amazing. I am already making plans to use this hotel for our upcoming summer vaca with the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SHALINI209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just spent a few days in this true paradise. Everything was perfect, from details in the room to landscape and food. My favorite memory was probably the fire place which makes the room cosy and romantic and the sent of Jasmine as you open your window early morning. Everything is made to make you feel home, with touch of elegance and special attention. This was also my first time in California and Santa Barbara is lovely, so is the whole area. Get one of those electrical bikes from the hotel to discover the center of Santa Barbara, best way to have fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foodiesd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The property is gorgeous! The rooms are very charming and well decorated. The floors are heated in the bathroom and the fireplace and comfy bed make it hard to leave. We were very disappointed with the dining experience on the terrace. Outside guests dining on property make it very difficult for those paying to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Patrick B.,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at El Encanto. I am so pleased to see that you were able to find a cozy retreat in our wonderfully renovated rooms.

I am concerned about your comment regarding non resort guests disrupting your dining experience. We value all of our patrons including guests staying with us as well as visiting us from the local area. Santa Barbarans have enjoyed coming to El Encanto for many years and cherish the many special occasions spent creating memories here. We endeavor to help create special memories for all of our visitors.

We certainly hope you will visit us again. If you would like to contact me directly to address your concerns I would be happy to speak with you anytime.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
476 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
165 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £341 - £816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing