We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellen!t comfortable impeccibly clean room. Fantasic service in both the bungalow and restaurant. Loved the bellini brunch (stayed for 3 hours) and the view was breathtaking. Highly recommended if you want to relax and refresh. Romantic or family friendly - you decide. None better in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platepeddlergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    122
    62
    25
    14
See reviews for
165
596
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Best hotel experience we have. highly recommend this hotel for any stay but for our anniversary, the attention to detail was staggeringly good. stay at this hotel! everything they did from a heart with candles outside our room to the wonderful staff exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Anonymous A.,

Happy Anniversary and thank you so much for sharing your special occasion with us at El Encanto.

It is so nice to know that we were able to help you create special memories and hope you will continue to visit us for future celebrations!

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

El Encanto is a fresh new experience in Santa Barbara. Sitting on the deck it has a similar feel to being in Italy looking down at the Isle of Capri. The restaurant is run by a friendly Italian gentleman - he may not get the order perfect but what charm and flair. At the same time the restaurant has the feel of a country club. Refined and correct.

The grounds are endearing and comfortable. The rooms are nice but lack a bit of flair and feel more like a model home than a hotel room. One downside is that many rooms have windows that look out on the grounds - which means people can look in. It is not uncommon to be able to see into people rooms without trying.

This is a great experience and challenges the San Ysidro Ranch Inn - which is saying something.

(Not the hotels fault - but one family had their little kids and it was very loud and out of place. - This is not the place for little ones. Many better options. I have kids but would not want to infringe on the romantic privacy of others at a place like this)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusty634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderfully rejuvenated property with outstanding service, all employees exceedingly well trained. This is our second stay this year and we will be back. The property is pricy but though the price is high it is matched by the service and therefore value is also very high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank totmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great vacation place to be pampered and made to feel special by the staff. The entire staff was great, greeting us by name whenever we came into contact with them. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Belmond for two nights. It was an unbelievable experience. From the time we pulled in to the valet we were greeted with friendly, impeccable service. Every member of the staff was attentive even if they were not directly interacting with us. The rooms are charming individual bungalows which allowed for more privacy when sitting on the front porch having a drink. The rooms are appointed with all the luxury you would expect. We enjoyed the state of the art fitness room and the pool was very relaxing. I highly recommend fitting in a bike ride with the electric bicycles. It helps getting up the hills.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saksshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent two great nights at the El Encanto. We were in Cottage 102 which overlooks the pool, is feet from the restaurant and has great views into the bay. The staff were superb from start to the end - just enough service and just enough distance not to encroach on guest privacy. The quality of the food was excellent throughout our stay, dining and breakfasting on the terrace, warmed when necessary by the generous heaters disguised as giant table lamps and shades. The cottage is generously proportioned with coffee making facilities and a stocked honour bar in the separate lounge area. The bathroom features storage, a separate toilet and a deep tub (bath) with separate rainfall shower.

Beds are very comfortable and the room is spacious with robes and slippers provided. The outdoor verandah provided a nice location for early morning reading or to shelter from the unseasonal rain shower during our stay. The fitness studio is below the pool and features two outdoor bikes (one upright and one recumbent) and inside there is generous provision of both CV and weights systems. There is an adjoining dance studio and spa. The infinity style pool itself is heated and towels are provided along with a number of loungers.

The hotel is 3-4 minutes from the restaurants and stores but is very quiet due to its hill location. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Well you can't do better than 102 unless you want a location where no-one passes your cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
394 reviews
3.8 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Property: Belmond El Encanto
Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing