We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel stay 100% perfect”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Besides the fact that the property is spectacularly situated in the hills of Santa Barbara, that the view is breathtaking, the neighborhood quiet, the propery impeccably maintained, luxurious rooms that are exquisite and immaculate, the STAFF was over the top for service. From the moment I arrived I was greeted with warm and impeccable attention. I was treated like the most important person staying there. It was a seamless transition of perfection from valet throughout my stay. I particularly liked the way my named was used by all staff. Personal attention combined with a beautiful property make for a a perfect hotel stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelhotels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Hotelhotels2013,

Wow! Such a nice review!

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience. Hope to see you again very soon!

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nestled high up in the Riviera-area hills of Santa Barbara, this hotel felt like an oasis from it all. Not cheap, but this was a rare instance of actually getting what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The property for El Encanto is beautiful: set above Santa Barbara with views of the ocean. I stayed in January for a weekend for my birthday. We had a suite, which was really not that amazing. The decor inside the suite was uninspiring and some of the furniture placement awkward. For instance, the chair for the desk in the sitting area was directly behind the sofa, so you could not really pull the chair out to sit in it. Our suite also had a private balcony which was tiny and had barely enough room for the bench. Also, the housekeeping staff is not up to par for what is supposed to be a 5 star room. We were missing a corkscrew upon arrival, and after calling housekeeping for one, it took way to long for it to be delivered. Coffee mugs and Nespresso pods were not replenished on the second morning, so we had to call (and wait and wait) to get them. The continental room service breakfast was so bad, it may as well have been from a Dennys. Maybe some would consider these minor irritations, but when spending $1300 plus dollars a night, I expect a bit more. A much better place to stay is the San Ysidro Ranch. We actually returned 2 months later to Santa Barbara and stayed there for just about $200 less, and it was exquisite in every way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Susan L.,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay in January with the Trip Advisor community.

It has been over 6 months since your last stay and I would encourage you to try us again. I do believe you will find some positive changes in areas you may have felt were lacking before. For instance, we have a wonderful new Executive Chef who has revamped the menus, including the breakfast offerings. As you said, El Encanto is in a beautiful setting and we have such a special property. I believe our service and standards match the beauty and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a week in Santa Barbara at the El Encantado. We are already looking at our calendar to see when we can return!
The rooms are very nice, elegant in a comfy way. The grounds are spectacular and well kept.
The restaurant is superb! The terrace is incredible in the warm weather. We had several breakfasts (wonderful eggs Benedict and fresh fruit), lunch and dinner there. The specials at dinner are out of this world. Makes it hard to drive the short distance to town to enjoy the other spectacular restaurants as well!!
Love the location and would choose it over the Biltmore. Although both are very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear jenandgary,

Thank you for a lovely review of your visit to El Encanto!

Please do let us know when your schedule permits another visit, we would love to have you back soon. Such a quick getaway from the heat of an Arizona summer, the breeze coming off the ocean is calling you back!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A stunning setting tucked high in the hills overlooking Santa Barbara. An exceptional terrace for drinks and dining, excellent staff.
Pull up to valet parking and you and your rental Honda Fit will be treated with the same courtesy as the Porsche and Porsche people behind you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travelready247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear travelready247,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of El Encanto. It certainly is a Magical place and we are so glad you were able to experience a little bit of our enchanted resort!

We hope you will visit again soon!

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The two of us spent a long weekend here and could not have asked for a more quiet, beautiful and serene place. The hotel is located on the mountainside overlooking Santa Barbara and the views of the Pacific were stunning. Apparently the hotel (mostly cottages) was founded decades ago, but after the original owner passed away, the present owners completely upgraded the property to at least 4 star quality. The cottage we had included a huge grand room with very elegant furnishings (Tommy Bahama-like) with a private terrace and bath/shower room that was as large as an efficiency apartment. The front desk, pool area, and valet staff were all well trained and helpful. The workout area and pool area (where you can dine also) were very well equipped. The pool is almost Olympic size and a lot of people were doing laps. We really loved the El Encanto and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The property is gorgeous, the restaurant excellent and some of the staff outstanding. However, some of the staff lacked professionalism. Most didn't seem to know who we were and we were there for 4 days and had our wedding dinner was there. It was an excruciating process planning the wedding dinner until the wonderful Christopher took over. The rooms are sorely lacking in space to hang/store clothing. But still overall lovely--could be superb with a bit of tweaking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Beth T,

Congratulations on your wonderful marriage! We are so pleased everything worked out so well with your lovely intimate wedding dinner on The Terrace. Christopher is such a gem and was thrilled to be able to work with you on the details of your reservations and flow of the evening.

We do hope to see you again many times in the years to come.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
3.8 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £335 - £811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing