We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hillside retreat”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Exquisite two day stay in this opulent and relaxing setting. The hotel consists of beautiful individual bungalows. Service is excellent and the restaurant cannot be faulted. Pool time was amazing and room and hotel maintained impeccably. Our room was tastefully colonial furnished. About 10 mins drive from State St for shopping and great dinner locations. The walks around the grounds and neighboring area give some great views overlooking Santa Barbara. Staff were friendly and professional. We will be back!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank RoamingBrit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

we tried to use a gift certificate and were quietly billed for extra charges we didn't realize until it was too late. The management was not customer friendly and just wanted to be right We won't be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Lynn B.,

I apologize for any confusion regarding the inclusions of the gift certificate you purchased at a charity auction. I have sent a private email to you and would love an opportunity to speak with you about this matter. We have researched all of the inclusions as well as any additional charges and it seems that all was honored as agreed in the certificate that we donated to support the auction.

Should there be anything additional you believe should be taken care of we are happy to look into it further.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I cannot think of anything constructive to say about the service or quality of the room or restaurant when it comes to this hotel. The staff is attentive with very professional management who demonstrate why years of experience matter. If you are staying in Santa Barbara and want the very best on all levels of service, stay at Belmond El Encanto, it lives up to its name!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bob411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear bob411,

You flatter us! Thank you so much for staying at El Encanto! We hope to see you back again very soon.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After a miserable night at another hotel, we checked in here. From the first contact on the phone, I knew this was probably going to be a much better experience, and indeed it was. I want to think I am not spoiled (is it wrong to not want a green and black carpet-not original colors?), but we try to stay 4 star; rarely 5 star. Checking in here was night and day. The small personal touches are amazing-the valets who know your name, the use of your name throughout, the personal tour and escort to your room-it's a 5 star experience.

Once inside of course it was first class-amazing bed, electronics, bathroom, rain shower, and of course heated floor. Clean..clean..clean, with an amazing patio and beautiful lush grounds-quite and serene.

Pool is small but super nice-heated and saline pool that is inviting on your skin. Cloth covers on all chairs, towels already out, water and fruit and games poolside. Limited menu but enough to satisfy. Great view too.

It is expensive, but if luxury and a beautiful resort is what you want, this is the place. I found the staff to be among top 3 of any hotel I have been to and I appreciate that they did not charge me when we had to leave early for illness.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AZ-Traveler85253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear AZ-Traveler85253,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience with the Trip Advisor community!

I am delighted to see that you had a wonderful time and relished all of our special touches. I do hope you will stay with us again next time you find yourself in beautiful Santa Barbara.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As its name suggests: Hotel El Encanto is very aptly named. Our room and bathroom were ample, new, simple yet beautiful. the decor reminiscent of old world with a modern sensibility. gorgeous, warm and pared down. the hotel itself is precious: each room is a bungalow, sometimes with 2-3 (tops) rooms per bungalow. Still very private. It feels like a small enchanted village with little paths and beautiful tended gardens connecting all that were a delight to see. The concierge and the entire staff were very attentive, pleasant and always at the ready. An amazing stay with amazing weather in a drop-dead gorgeous location. We would love to come back and stay there again!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank mkd_travelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We've been to Santa Barbara/Montecito many times over the years. Every time we go anywhere, I Google new hotels and food. This time I came across the Belmond El Encanto. A couple of my friends went there years ago and encouraged me to "try it for all of us" because of the remodel. We did and it is spectacular. Everything from the room to the service and lovely setting. It is amazing! The Biltmore has a great location, because of the closeness to the ocean. However if you want something a little less crowded and fabulous--try the El Encanto. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for your wonderful review of El Encanto! I am so happy you found us in your on line searches and hope you won't feel the need to look for a new place next time you are in Santa Barbara.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stunning property with amazing villas. Highly recommend. Great food and totally luxurious with an amazing friendly staff. Only complaint would be spa services are a total ripoff. 80 minute massage was $290 and was terrible

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Randy D.,

I am delighted to see that overall your stay was wonderful and you enjoyed our very special resort. I am concerned about your spa experience as we rarely have complaints about our treatments, and our pricing is very competitive with other resort spas in the area. If you would like to discuss any issues directly with myself or our Spa Manager we would be pleased to speak to you about your experience so that we might understand how we disappointed you.

I do hope to hear from you soon.

Best wishes,

Laura M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
47 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £334 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing