We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by this nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My wife and I only spent 1 night here on a stop to SB on our way to San Fran. I must say I was worried about what it would be like but most surprised when we arrived to find a qurky, friendly clean hotel. Nice clean rooms which I guess could be modernised, but regardless it was clean and had a very nice pool area and spa bath. Ate in the small restaurant/diner in the morning and had a nice breakfast. Loved Santa Barbara very nice small town with great weather when we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

The Pepper Tree Inn is nothing fancy, but if you've stayed in BW Hotels before, you'll be familiar with their efficient level of service and accomodation. While I have booked better hotels in other cities for the price, the Pepper Tree Inn is a quality accomodation for the going price in Santa Barbara. HINT: If you're going to Santa Barbara, book early because all the quality places are booked up far in advance 365 days a year, and the Pepper Tree Inn is no exception. While it is a couple of miles from historic downtown, it is near the mall and many restaurants in an upscale part of town.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Just back from a trip to L.A and Santa Barbara and had to write about the Pepper Tree Inn. Hotel completely exceeded my expectations and is one I'll definitely stay at again. Teri on reception started the 5 stars - welcoming, friendly, informative, what else can you say. We had just come from the 4 star soul-less Sheraton in Santa Monica and the Pepper Tree blew us away. Forget official ratings - this bettered the so-called 4 star - better rooms, better staff, better facilites, better all-round. On the outskirts of Santa Barbara - handy for the wine area of Santa Ynez and near the bus to town centre. Only $1.75 each and about 20 mins. Lots of places to eat near enough and restaurant on-site a great place for breakfast. Even a cosy wee bar there. We saw a few families and we would take our kids there - green areas, nice pool, laundry facilities and complimentary coffee, water and fruit in reception. Room big with balcony and comfy beds. Even had a microwave - not that we needed one. recommended Carlitos Mexican and Pizza Guru and both great. Forget fancy hotels, if this is Best Western's standards, I will only use them next time. It's worth saying we stayed at Beverly Hilton first and we thought that was fantastic so our standards are high!!

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

on our drive from LA to San Francisco, this was one of our stops and we wish we'd stayed longer as the hotel was really nice and so was Santa Barbara. Nice gardens and swimming pool.

It took about 10 minutes to drive to the seafront and SB has a nice town centre. recommend Enterprise Fish Co for evening meal - my husband said his Scallops were the best he'd ever had. also, do the Segway tour, excellent way to spend a morning.

Only issue we had was that we were in a ground floor room at the front and a coach turned up late, parked outside our room and emptied a whole of noisy tourists. In the morning, we were woken about 7.30am by the coach running its engine, so I'd suggest asking for a room at the rear.

nice touches we appreciated were the sweets, fruit and complementary water in the room. Nice toiletries and comfy bed.

Room Tip: avoid room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eve-boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPinkstaff, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Dear Eve-boots,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn.

I apologize for the unintended disruption during your stay. It is rare that a coach would arrive late in the evening and depart that early in the morning. We do our best to assign the group attendees to the rooms in that particular area of the hotel, to minimize the disturbance of our other guests.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you will stay with us again. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Chivaun Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Old style BW hotel. Lots of nice touches - like sweets and fruit in the room, two comfortable chairs and real drinking glasses. Basic bathroom with not much space for stuff. Reasonable nights sleep with average plus bed and no outside noise disturbances. Love the garden outlook.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

After a pleasant stay some years back, we returned to the Pepper-tree Inn for the same reasons we chose it the first time around, namely a location just off the La Cumbre Blvd. freeway offramp, away from the train horns that along the waterfront hotel strip blow guests out of their beds at all hours, and away from the lower State Street scene. The La Cumbre Plaza shopping complex is just across the street and lower State Street, Wharf, and Marina are just a short ride by car or bus away. The bus stops in front of the Inn.

With its red tiled roofs, flowering vines trailing up to balconies, a central green area with a gigantic tree, and a nice pool the ambiance is rather pleasing. As always, reservation by phone, check-in and -out were handled by friendly, eager to please staff.

Our very spacious Deluxe King-bed upstairs room was again spotless, appearing to have brand new, thick , soft carpeting. Its light wood colored furnishings along with the sliding glass door to the balcony gave the room a very pleasing, bright ambiance. A complimentary basket of fresh fruit, two bottles of bottled water, and a dish with a selection of candies were a pleasant welcome surprise. The well appointed room included a fridge, microwave oven, in-room safe, a comfortable seating group, a sleeper couch, coffee maker with supplies, a desk, TV with lots of channels, A/C, and a balcony with seating and a table. The room and bathroom were very well lit, super clean, and very quiet at night. The King bed was a dream of comfort. Ample off-street parking is available, and breakfast can be had for a separate charge in the coffee shop on the same property. In summary, we will certainly stay at the Pepper-tree Inn again on our next Santa Barbara visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We go to Santa Barbara every year for the annual orchid show and have found hotels In Santa Barbara to be expensive, in bad condition, or hard to book (minimum stays, etc.) This year, the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn worked out well. Reasonable rate, reasonable room, and very convenient to the orchid show (Warren Showgrounds). It was an easy drive to the downtown restaurants. We had a garden room, with our family staying next door. Due to the patio set up, we were easily able to spend time together and enjoyed a glass of wine in the evenings. Nice selection of coffee, tea and fruit in the lobby. Very convenient to a large shopping center across the street with a Vons and a Starbucks. It's an average property, but for Santa Barbara, it worked well for us, and we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a garden room, off the street
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £124 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing