We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little touches make a big difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Little touches make a big difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four days in July. We were on a trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles and had hired a red mustang convertible (big treat for us!). Besides all the nice things which other reviewers said about the nice rooms, balconies, pools etc., I would like to mention that the staff cleaned the windscreen of the car each morning so it was nice and fresh for another day's sightseeing. Now that is thoughtful.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking one of the two pools which are surrounded by a nice garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    480
    175
    39
    26
See reviews for
369
415
35
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The was one of the nicest hotels on our route from San Francisco to LA. Pleasant and helpful staff. Great Rooms and big balconies. Only stayed one night to chill would have liked to stay longer. Easy to find and free parking, in the morning we found our car windows being cleaned!
Nice goundw to relax in, 3 pools. Will definatly stay there again. Good to find free internet and tea/coffee in reception. CV supermarked nearby, pleant of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed for just one night. Large room, very clean, overlooking a grassy area by the pool. Hotel had everything we needed, and was only a 5 minute drive from the town center and waterfront. The property is spread out over several buildings, and our door opened to the outside rather than an enclosed hallway. Otherwise, no complaints. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days on route to Monterey. Hotel was clean and the staff are really friendly and helpful, I couldn't fault them. Pool and jacuzzi were great. Room (327 I think) was spacious. Internet access was free, easy to sort and fast. Room had an air conditioning unit in it but it was out of the ark and did not work (other than to bring warm air into the room from outside). This wasn't too much of a problem but it would be if it were really hot.

Parking was free (the other hotels we've been staying at had valet parking which added up to $30 per night to the bill so this is a major advantage for a Yorkshireman!

Major problem was that the hotel is about 3 miles from the beach so it was a real pain to get in there.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Location is convenient for drivability. Easy access to 101 fwy, on State St. (main) and across from the La Cumbre Plaza for shops and restaurants. Too far to walk to the beach and downtown activities. A little expensive for the amenities (rented two rooms, 335 & 339), but adequate. Older hotel (bathrooms old), but clean. Had a quiet room upstairs on the north side, with a balcony and view of the courtyard/walkway. Had a mini-fridge, flat-screen TV, free water/fruit, coffee maker, extra power outlets via power strips, robes, and microwave, etc. Mattress was comfortable, but pillows seemed old (brought my own). Children used the pool and jacuzzi and enjoyed it. Staff are friendly, courteous and very accommodating the the different changes in scheduled stay. Hotel coffee shop is convenient. Downsides: registration parking a little inconvenient, cigarette smoke wafts into the room from outside, dog next door sometimes barked and whined (pet-friendly hotel), shower turns very hot/cold without notice, closet doors kept coming off the track, had to use the stairs for the luggage (could not find elevators), and the wi-fi only worked for the laptops and not the ipods (had to continually reset connections). May stay again, but may opt to try the many other hotels closer to the beach next time.

Room Tip: Upstairs away from State St. and parking are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTM_Saratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The staff were nice and the room was decent. For a best western it was clean but not spotless. The front desk were nice young men and even called a personal taxi friend to drive us to go to the downtown nightlife. The driver was rude to us but that's not his fault. In any case it was a decent stay and I would come here again for the price and convent taxi drive away from dt Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing