We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complimentary Windscreen Clean just made my day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Complimentary Windscreen Clean just made my day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a beautiful property in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Lots of restaurants nearby and a mall right across the street with a Macys:)
Gotta love the personal touches- fruit, water and mini choc bars in the room and our car windscreen was cleaned while we were sleeping, Clean and updated rooms. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    481
    175
    40
    26
See reviews for
370
415
35
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burlingame, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good stay overall :
- located 10 min. outside the downtown area, the place offers complimentary parking. This means you'll have to drive to downtown : good luck finding a spot!
- rooms are clean but tiny
- Swimming Pool is OK

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel with fab pool and jacuzzi set within tropical gardens, peaceful and relaxing.
Room clean and comfortable with patio, wish we could have stayed for more than one night.
Staff were welcoming and friendly, with maps, directions and an early check in!
Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting a good value stay. Onsite restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorksTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was unfortunate enough to spend one night in this MOTEL. Noisy and dirty with rude, unhelpful staff. Have never felt unsafe anywhere but this place managed it. Would have checked out same day if another hotel was available but sadly had to wait until next day. Fair to say will not be making a return visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank EJAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear EJAF – Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. I am very concerned that you mention rude and unhelpful staff as well as not feeling safe. We pride ourselves on the kind and helpful actions our entire staff. We consistently receive comments from our guests commending our staff. It would be helpful if I knew of specific actions that you found unacceptable which would enable me to address directly with the appropriate staff. Although one can never guarantee, I do assure you that our hotel is located in a very safe, respectable area of Santa Barbara. We strive to provide a safe environment for all guests, at all times. If you do plan a future visit to Santa Barbara, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to invite you to return as our guest. Best regards, Chivaun Clark – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. We arrived early but that was problem to the Reception Staff who were all very polite and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and had a nice view overlooking one of the pools and the last of the days sunshine. The room was lovely clean with a very comfy bed. We ate breakfast at the adjoining restaurant and it was very good. The only downside was the excessive noise from the Guests next to us on the 1 st night. We reported this to the reception and they obviously resolved this as there were no further problems. They were there for a second night. If we return to Santa Barbara we would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Santa Barbara is a beautiful place. We'd only booked for 2 nights (having already had 4 in Vegas, 4 in LA and the last 4 in San Francisco). We wished we'd have booked 4 here and 1 less in LA and SF.
Hotel is lovely. I'm guessing it's family run. Ground floor rooms overlooking wonderfully kept gardens and pools with lovely warm water and a nice hot, hot tub. Rooms were a little jaded but refurb work was going on. Nice touches like coffee machines, CD players and microwave. Nicely situated too with mall opposite and a short drive to downtown SB. Loved it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our recent stay, April 8-14th was very nice. The Bw Pepper Tree is a great location, clean, quiet, good bed, nice grounds, great value for the price. Is nice and sunny most mornings as compared to the beach which can be foggy. Easy access to beach and wine country plus lower State Street. You do need to drive to get to lower State Street. The room we had, standard King, was about average size, but for the price is a good value. We would stay here again. The restaurant next door was good and mall across the st was convenient

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank grampajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing