We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well organized staff, soft sheets and comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Poway, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, well organized staff, soft sheets and comfortable bed”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend. It was busy in Santa Barbara , and this location was full most nights. It is a spot for tour buses and airline pilots and flight attendants for overnight stays.
Positives:
*The softest sheets and bedding! The beds were comfortable , and although all hotels have problems with noise we were not bothered by noise from the pool or the road in front. Great sleep all nights
*There is lots of free stuff. You don't have to pay $4.00 for a bottle of water like most locations. Every day our room was stocked with water, fruit (orange, apples, bananas in the office as well, coffee, tee, and cookies) Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit etc. is in the lobby with a gift shop and fireplace as well.
*A restaurant on site is open early each day . The food is more than adequate ( I read a review from someone complaining about the Eggs Benedict, but this isn't an Eggs Benedict type of place--more on the diner type of fare). We had an activity to go to each morning and needed an early, quick, hot breakfast and the service was fast, food well cooked, price reasonable and location convenient. You can also bill the meal to your hotel room.
*The location is not near the beach, or near UCSB --but it is relativerly close to both, and a short drive on a scenic road to Harry's Beach only takes 10". There is a mall with Macy's , Sears, several children's clothing stores, Starbucks, J. Crew, J. Jill, Pottery Barn, Talbot, Toy store, Starbucks , as well as a Vons , Sees Candy and several fast food type of fare (chipotle, Panera Bread and Panda) across the street. You are within 10" of the Botanic Gardens, Natural History Museum and the SB Mission, within 2" of a great book store, Chaucers, and the municipal golf course. Buses take you to downtown area, and it is actually a bit nicer to stay away from downtown due to the crowds and some crime (car break ins).
*There are two pools, both well maintained and a deep end that is at least 8 feet. For families with kids who like to jump or dive in the water it's a great place.
*The grounds are lovely and also well maintained. It has a garden feel, and is a pretty place. For native Californians it isn't unusual , but if you were traveling from North Dakota in March in search of some pretty warm place, this would be a perfect fit.
*The price was very reasonable, competitive with other locations that offered the same or less. (We have also stayed at the Quality Inn--not at all comparable and more expensive at the time, and the Pacifica in Goleta area--very nice place as well, with a hot breakfast included in the stay, but the pool area was smaller and more crowded and it is further north on 101)
*This is also a full service place. You can get a massage, your hair and nails done, a van takes you to and from the airport and it is a pick up location for bike and wine tours.
However, it is an old place, the rooms are small and pretty soon it will need some overhauling, but it was clean and well cared for. I was especially impressed with the people who work here--it is a well organized.
Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't notice an elevator. we stayed on the second floor. all rooms have a balcony--the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runswim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
DrJoCardiff, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am so pleased to hear you had a pleasant experience with our staff, as they so enjoy providing superior customer service. Although we are not located at the beach, our hotel does offer a convenient location to all of the area’s exciting attractions and at a great value. I look forward to having you as our guests again, Chivaun Clark, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    507
    182
    43
    27
See reviews for
401
446
38
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not to knock Best Western, but most facilities are unremarkable. This one stands out. The grounds are spacious and exceedingly well kept. Right away, you notice the Spanish style and lots and lots of flowers and shrubs. It has a feel of a boutique hotel. The room we inhabited was clean and pretty standard. As in most hotels, you could hear the person in the adjacent room snore and watch TV. Soundproofing is one of the biggest problems in most hotels I have ever visited.
The receptionists are all very polite and forthcoming. Free fruit offered at any time, which was a nice touch. The gift shop in the reception area is tempting. It has nice items, not schlock. We bought souvenirs and matching hats there.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in such a way that the rooms are away from the busy street. Personally, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cest0vatelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We woke up to no hot water. We were checking out very earlier so I stop at the desk to let them know and come to find they were aware of the issue but didnt fix the issue before renting out the room. what the hell

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 922rosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comment. It was an unfortunate Sunday morning during the Memorial Day holiday weekend that one of the hot water heaters stopped working. a Hoteliers nightmare! Of course our first thought was about our guests and how we can best accommodate them. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience and I believe monetary compensation was given to all effected. I personally invite you to join us again and experience the many wonderful features and amenities of our hotel. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel to stop in a real American feel to it. It was lovely and clean and the staff or helpful. We just stayed for one night and it was a perfect hotel to explore Santa Barbara on our way to Santa Monica. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kam_Lall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 1 night at this hotel/motel on a drive north from LA to San Francisco. The hotel is well located near the highway 101. However it is quite a drive from the main shopping area and the beachfront. The hotel had a more Motel feel and look about it. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the front car park. There is however a large Macy's store located across the road. We found there was some road noise from traffic on the main road. If you want a quieter room request a room away from the front of the motel. The room itself was comfortable and clean. As we were room only we did not eat at the motel. Very average room for the price. Wouldn't recommend to anyone visiting Santa Barbara which is a lovely place and well worth a visit. Plenty of good restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from front of hotel and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When we booked this hotel, there was no availability nearer the waterfront and it is quite a long way from downtown. Having said that we had a pleasant stay and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was dated but comfortable and we would be quite happy to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Friendly, helpful reception. This hotel is large, with rooms spread over a number of wings.
Our room, on second floor, had no elevator access. The room was very clean and reasonably furnished. The a/c and fridge had been turned off and it took about two hours for the old-fashioned a/c to cool the room ( It was 83F outside ). WiFi worked well.The bathroom had no extractor fan and the window was jammed in one position.
The room had a balcony overlooking a large courtyard and pool. The sliding door to the balcony had a lock that did not work, but a pin had been provided ,to jam in a hole in the rail.
The electrical outlet sockets in bathroom and bedroom were worn and connectors dropped out.
The hair dryer would not work in the bathroom.
There were very few disabled parking spots and all parking spots were narrow.
Three of the main support posts to the access stairs on our wing had been completely eaten through by termites.
Breakfast at their restaurant, the Tree House, was chaotic on the Sunday we were there, but better on the Monday. Service was poor, cutlery and condiments missing from our table. Food was fine. The 15% tip was pre-added to the bill's total.

Room Tip: Get a room facing East, to get afternoon shade on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Nepenthium, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience. We certainly strive for all of our guests to enjoy their stay from the minute they arrive until they depart. I apologize this was not the case for you. Please know that our team strives to offer well maintained accommodations and what you experienced is not typical for our guests. If you will be traveling to Santa Barbara again, I personally invite you to stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to provide a different experience for you. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
3.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
945 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
677 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing