We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent only one night at the Pepper Tree Inn having travelled from LA on our way to San Francisco. Santa Barbara is a beautiful city and the Pepper Tree Inn is a very good place to stay, only a few minutes by car from the Mission and downtown SB (State Street). Check in was very straight forward and we were able to enter our room early, where a bottle of Champaign had been left on ice in recognition of my birthday. The amenities were very good although sadly we weren't there for long enough to take advantage of them. There is no breakfast but hot drinks and fruit is available in the lobby area, and there is a diner right outside the lobby entrance. All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful and I would definitely stay there if I have the good fortune to visit SB again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    486
    176
    40
    26
See reviews for
377
422
35
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The room was perfectly presented and you cannot fault the cleanliness and the comfort of the bed. We had a comfortable little patio which over-looked a nice garden, which near our room, had a fire pit, and further down the way was the pool.
My only complaint was that there was no door dividing the bedroom from the kitchen/bathroom area. A sliding door would prevent light and any noise coming in to the bedroom area. Because the light comes in from sun rise, this can disturb you and wake you up earlier than you would like when on holiday.
Also, the air conditioning was extremely noisy but we needed it on to keep the room cool as having the windows open let too much noise in and certainly did not give us the same cooling effect.
The gardens and overall greenery from the plants and shrubs gave this hotel a relaxing feel and almost oasis like. A lovely place to come back to and have a swim and relax in the garden.
This hotel is about a 15 minute drive into Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: If you have a room at ground level you get a little patio to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSilver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
CarolineSilver10, Thank you for taking the time to provide your nice comments. We appreciate hearing from our guests and I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Pepper Tree Inn. I do hope you come back to have a swim and relax in the garden. Best, Chivaun Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We are a Young couple from Germany and were amused that we found a hotel like this. When we arrived the room was not ready but it was early in the morning so we let our luggage at the office. 20 mins.later they told us room is ready. All the staff at the front desk, the cleaning women and also the valets were so friendly and helpfully as we've never seen.
Water and Fruits on the room were complementary. Price was a little bit higher than the other hotels.
Unfortunately, there was a big confusion regarding our booking but the front desk clarified this problem and was so sorry about that confusing booking that we got a free breakfast. We thank you so much for the nice stay and would be glad to be your guests in future on our next trip.



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bsearched
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

When I booked this hotel, I was concerned that I would have to drive to eat, drink, or do anything. The hotel is very close to 101 which is very convenient, has a diner on the premises, a Panera right across the street, a few other restaurants and a mall all within walking distance. The main area of State St is a few miles so you may need to drive or take a taxi if that is where you are headed.

The hotel was very clean, the staff is very friendly, and I felt very safe. The only reason I gave he hotel 4 stars instead of 5 was the thin walls and being able to hear people outside. Luckily the next room wasnt noisy and there wasnt yelling kids running around, but I could pretty much hear the people in the next room and if someone walked by the front door talking, it sounded like they were in my room. Again, no crazy parties or yelling so my stay was great and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsearched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Clean, pleasant, pool, fire pit, gift shop, centrally located, walk to GOOD shopping. Plus, I am happier when traveling with my standard poodle, and she loves going there too. There is bottled water in your room with NO EXTRA charge. I was there for business but because of the location of the hotel, I was easily able to walk to shopping, restaurants. Internet with no extra charge. Fruit and goodies for no extra charge. Love this place and I continue to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Vickie H. I am so pleased that you appreciate all of the complimentary amenities we offer our guests as well as our location. All of these factors contribute to why our hotel is such a great value with enjoyable accommodations. Thank you for continuing to choose the Pepper Tree Inn during your visits to Santa Barbara. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your poodle as our guests sooner than later. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upon reservation I specifically asked for a quiet room and again when I arrived,unfortunately the only rooms available where on State st.That was not the worst part,in front of our room 2 huges buses were parked.When I inquired to the front desk personnel if they were going to park there all night,I was told yes,but I was promised it would be quiet.All threw the evening I heard the engines running and the annoying beeping of the buses backing up.At 9h30 I asked the bus driver when he planned on stopping.His answer was
:well Management made me park here.Next morning we were awakened at 7h30 by the same noises.I was offerred a breakfast as compensation,but all I wanted was to leave.I paid 200$ to sleep in a bus depot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Rachel M. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear of your experience while you were our guest. I regret that you were placed in a room that was located next to where buses had parked and I assure you this is not a frequent occurrence. I invite you to consider staying with us again. Please ask for me direct and I will ensure that you are placed in a lovely, quiet room where you will enjoy a patio or balcony overlooking our relaxing garden courtyards. I apologize for this incident and do hope to have a chance to have you as our guest. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed at many Best Western Plus Hotels all up and down the State of California and have always been pleased with our stay. BW Pepper Tree was no exception. Excellent service, accomodations, etc.. Loved the location. Right on the main street leading right into old town Santa Barbara and on to the beach area. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank J T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing