We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and comfortable motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Relaxed and comfortable motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a twin room on the first floor. The room was spacious, clean but a bit dark. We enjoyed the patio with direct access to the poolarea, but I guess the upstairs rooms will have more light. We also appreciated the good wi-fi and guest laundry, and the fact that both Macy's and Wholemart are very close. So are several other eateries. Staff were average in regards to greeting and service. 

The late check-out (12) gave us time to relax in the pretty garden and the pool. We did miss pool towels though. 

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    487
    177
    40
    26
See reviews for
378
423
35
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed with a group, wished to stay longer! Great surroundings, yes, Macy's across the street. :)Loved the access to the pool from the room. Felt like a little village. Great place to stay for several nights and with a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaE70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
KristaE70. I appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. Our location is one of our strongest benefits offering convenience to all of the areas attractions and just across the street from one of the two open air shopping paseos in Santa Barbara. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay during your next visit. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good stay at BW Peppery Tree Inn. Convenient to everything! Even Macy's across the street. Would stay here again when in Santa Barbara. Hotel is a bit older but very clean and well kept. Room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fromhawaiiwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Sara W. It is so nice to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable and homey. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience. We hope to have you as our guest when you return for the next horse show in Santa Barbara. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, UT, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Love staying at PepperTree when we are at horse shows in Santa Barbara. Staff is always accommodating and hotel feel homey and comfortable. It's a very convenient location; easy to find when you are tired from driving all day. Shopping, groceries and restaurants within walking distance, and five minutes from Earl Warren Show grounds. Nice place to relax in the evening with a glass of wine on your patio.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Genetouze, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great overnight stay every thing was excellent thanks very much we will be stay in more best Westerns hope they are as good as yours.
Clean,confortable,peaceful........pool facilities great.....fresh fruit and coffee offered in lobby(Great idea).......restaurant friendly and food good,....just a pity that no buffet breakfast available.

Room Tip: Take time to appreciate this hotel....do not limit yourself just to overnight stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Susan B. I certainly welcome you to come back and relax with us for a few days. Come and stay us mid-September or October when the weather is really nice and you can spend more time enjoying our pool and garden courtyards. See you sooner than later, Chivaun Clark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

After a long flight and drive, the Best Western Plus Pepper Tree was a breath of fresh air! The service at the front desk is really great and friendly and the hotel is lovely. There are beautiful flowers all over the place and the pool areas are really pretty too.

Our room was lovely, it was a double queen room so we had lots of room. The beds are super comfortable and we had a lovely little patio area overlooking the pool. The complimentary water, fruit and cookies in the room was a lovely touch too. We made the most of the facilities, using the pool, spa and gym. The gym is quite basic but fine for a vacation workout!

The drive downtown is quite short and really easy. I wish we'd had more time in Santa Barbara and if we ever return, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This is probably one of the best best westerns I have stayed in! Great pool , great rooms and great facilities ! Would stay there again ! Rooms very clean and decent size! Location very central. Heated fire pits a nice treat outside!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing