We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, as usual!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2008

I'm afraid to write too glowing of a review - if this place gets too popular, I might not be able to book again!

I stay here every April for a long weekend with my sisters. There are 3 of us, so we get one of the two bedroom suites/apartments for three nights.

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean (if dated), and the location is wonderful. For our purposes, it works out perfectly.

A few things that would be nice improvements: a new/better sofa bed - we take turns using it, and none of us have ever gotten a good night's sleep on it; dual-paned windows for the traffic noise down Bath Street; blackout curtains for the living room and dining room windows for the person trying to sleep on the sofa bed.

The suite had new carpeting since last year, and new wallpaper in the bedrooms - but not the hallway and living room. Hopefully by next year that will be done.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCashCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2008

This was a lovely hotel, the room was clean and the bed comfy. The staff was very nice and helpful

Stayed: April 2008
Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

This is not your cute Santa Barbara B&B experience, but a good choice none the less as long as you know what you're getting. Nice property in nice residential area of SB, about a mile from the main downtown area. Rooms have a cottagey feel with some lace, etc. Great covered parking. Pool looked nice.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Dr_Jay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

I stayed at this hotel twice in the last month, each time for several days while I was visiting a medical clinic in Santa Barbara. The hotel is literally right across the street from Sansum Clinic & Cottage Hospital, and offers lodging discounts to patients.

I like the fact that the hotel is in a quiet and safe residential area. There are no businesses nearby, but the hotel restaurant serves very good meals with fine service at reasonable prices. Just past the clinic on Pueblo St, walking away from the hotel, you will find a couple shops that sell coffee and pastries or sandwiches and soups (all delicious), probably because there are so many medical employees looking for lunch. The clinic also has a gift shop and a pharmacy, and I was told the hospital has a cafeteria.

The hotel room was very clean and comfortable, and we even had a kitchen for $10 more/night. There is a lovely garden area around the pool, with a bird aviary that overlooks the restaurant. Massage services are also available, as are soda vending machines.

The front desk staff helped me repeatedly with inquiries about stores, shops, etc. They are very knowledgeable and patient. The hotel is very close to State St., a main street which takes you right downtown, or uptown (?) towards Goleta, where UCSB is. In either direction you can find gas stations, grocery stores, and other services.

With the medical discount we paid $149 (including the fee for the kitchen), which I still felt was pricey, but it was certainly much less than other SB hotels. In my situation, the cost was well worth the location and the ambiance. We will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

This is decent lodging. The room was clean, in good shape (mostly) and everything worked. I'd add this to my list of places to stay in Santa Barbara.
3 very minor issues as alluded to in other reviews. Yes the decor is kinda funky, but it seems to me the wallpaper in the dressing and bathroom areas needed replacing, all the seams were becoming unglued. And the drapes pulled the wrong way, they need to either flip the drapery hardware the other way or flip the sliding glass door the other way. And it could use less mirrored surfaces, unless this is secretly and 'adult' motel I don't see the need for a mirrored wall in the room and a mirror in the bathroom when there is no lavatory, ya still have the mirror over the sink and the mirrored closet doors in the dressing area and there is a mirror over the dresser.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprisedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

My husband and teen son stayed here for one night in March 2008.

Check in was smooth. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Not much parking available.

Our room was on the 2nd floor with 2 double beds, tall ceiling. Kind of funky decorations for a Best Western. There was floral wallpaper in the mauve and teal colors. The beds and pillows we found uncomfortable and small, if sharing a bed. I have never stayed in a hotel with floral bed sheets. They were quite worn. Room and bathroom were clean, but need updating.

We didn't eat at the restaurant on site, but did find a need to use the restroom in the restaurant. There was a dead cockroach on the bathroom floor - not appealing if I were eating there.

Location is quite far from a lot of the action of shops and restaurants on State Street.

While the price was okay, compared to other hotel prices in SB, I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

The Best Western Encina was exactly as I hoped it would be. It received lots of great reviews here and lived up to each of them. Most importantly, the hotel room was clean and well appointed with nice toiletries and linens. The room was fairly large and had an empty fridge, great for leftovers! The staff was helpful in recommending restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyndilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
864 reviews
2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
775 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £123 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the Best Western Plus Encina Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara offers comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, the Encina Inn offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, one and two bedroom suites and townhouses. Many of the units have full kitchens. The Live Oak Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available and highlights many of the extraordinary products that Santa Barbara has to offer including: local produce, seafood, local wine, and craft beer. Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing