We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have never been to Santa Barbara but can say this hotel was so reasonable and very clean. I originally booked two double beds and was upgraded to a full kitchen upon check in. I can say the kitchen was great. We were able to store our drinks, snacks, etc and have us more room. The hotel was a little way away from the main avenue(state street) but shot a taxi each night for dinner for $10.00 each way which was pretty cheap. There was coffee and pastries each morning and a great whirlpool hot tub that we used each night. All in all I would stay here again especially for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the kitchenette, it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    247
    102
    35
    15
See reviews for
289
197
34
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I found the staff and amenities wonderful - I would and am staying there for continued business "consulting" for Deckers Outdoor Corp. I am recommending this Lodge for others that are heading this way

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thais T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The rooms were huge and comfortable. Very clean, looks like rooms might have been recently renovated. Felt a little dated since one wall was covered with mirrors, but this added to how bright the room was. The bathrooms looked like new tile, very clean. A microwave would have been nice. Would definitely stay there again. Restaurant service was wonderful, and food was good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable but very small. Mirrors were everywhere to increase the illusion of size. Bathroom clean, no tub. Free wifi. Small fridge. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were mainly using it as a place to sleep while we explored the city and surrounding areas, so it met our needs. The neighborhood is quiet and it's close to everything we wanted to see during our two day stay. There were cookies, apples and bottled water and a nice desk area for keeping in touch on our computer. I thought it was a bit pricey for what we got, but maybe everything is in Santa Barbara. We didn't have a chance to use the pool or try the restaurant, although both looked enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us; and for sending in your review. I appreciate hearing from our guests; and it sounds like we made you happy. Am just hoping you will come back again to see us; and will ask for a larger room next time. We do have suites here at the Encina; which would afford you much more space….or just larger regular rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a wonderful hotel on a residential street in Santa Barbara. Quiet and comfortable. Staff very helpful and cheerful. Great shower! Nice amenities -- fruit, candy and cookies. The only problem was that one wall in the room was completely mirrored, and when the sun came up in the morning, the light reflected off the mirror right into my husband's eyes. The restaurant on the premises has delicious Mexican food, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I’m sorry about the mirrors………….we are slowly but surely getting rid of them as the rooms are re-decorated. Many guests love them; but I can see where the sunshine hitting them would be a problem.

I do hope you will come see us again when traveling to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the Encina Lodge during Labor Day weekend. I was a bit disappointed because when we walked into our room, the room was very hot. When I called the front desk, they informed me they don't keep their A/C running if the room is vacant. Also, the room has air conditioning, but it's not central air. It's only one wall unit. If our room was a regular room, I wouldn't have had a problem, but we stayed in a one bedroom suite. The A/C unit was only in the main room and the bedroom had no A/C and no ceiling fan. I was surprised no one else had mentioned this and frankly, was disappointed considering this wasn't an inexpensive motel. I called the front desk to relay my concern, and they were very professional and said the room should cool off. And, to their credit, it did, but it was very hot for the first two hours. Also, at night the bedroom was very stuffy. I guess I was surprised because I was expecting more, given that we spent a decent amount of money for this hotel. But, I have no complaints about the staff, all were very pleasant and friendly. Also, the pool is very nice and everything was very clean. My only real complaint is the AC unit. It was also VERY loud. At night, it was hard to sleep. The bed was also very hard and uncomfortable. The pillows were very hard too. I don't think it was worth $250+ a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunocean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a great place to stay in Santa Barbara.
We had a suite which was really well appointed and comfortable.
We had a happy hour drink followed by a dip in the pool!
The staff were excellent and the on-site restaurant was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farts_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing