We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We come here often to visit family, and always enjoy our stay. Beautiful property, close to town yet quiet and peaceful. Lovely desk, housekeeping and maintenance staff, always make the stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for sending in your nice comments about our hotel; I do appreciate your review.

Will see you next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! One of the nicer Best Western hotels that we have stayed at. The hotel is older but is extremely well kept. Staff was very nice and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel was located in a residential/commercial area close to the main street with easy access to the highway, restaurants, down town and beach areas. Nicely appointed rooms with wifi and TV. The TV was poor in quality and reception. But fortunately, we did not use that amenity. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Santa Barbara. And do appreciate your comments about your stay. I will certainly try to figure out which room you occupied so that maintenance can check the television. We just recently purchased large screen televisions for all the rooms; so will need to check the cable and the reception.

Hope you come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The room itself was clean. My only suggestion is that the wallpaper and rug be replaced. The wallpaper was peeling off on the edges and there were stains on the wallpaper in some places. The rug had lots of huge stains. But again, all in all, the rest of the room appeared clean. The food at the café located on the same grounds as the hotel was a tad pricey, but the food was good and it had a nice patio area. ALL staff was friendly.

Room Tip: I was in room 288, which appeared to also be a room easily accessible for a wheelchair, which was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjcruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions. Thank you again for your feeback and we hope you come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I realize this is Santa Barbara, but this hotel tried to be too pretentious and did not live up to the Best Western that I choose for my travel needs. It was rather overpriced for no breakfast, a room that looked like it had seen better days, trash outside our room door upon check-in and a bathtub stopper that did not work. Also, people smoking not far from our room that drifted in when we opened our sliding door to our balcony. Hotel staff was "snooty" and a bit condescending.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 856ColleenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I'm very dissappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you that the Best Western Plus Encina Lodge is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness, and quality of its product. Your feedback will help us improve. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Nice residential neighborhood with easy parking, comfortable pillow top mattress, large room and on site restaurant. Just a few blocks from main downtown. The beach area motels are very crowded together with problematic parking, but this location feels open and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for you review and we appreciate your very kind remarks. Thanks for staying with us, we do hope you will come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Our room was a good size and poolside which was nice and relaxing. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Parking was easy.
The motel is slightly out of the downtown area but a very easy drive to everywhere.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowMeTheSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We loved your review of our hotel; thank you so much!! Certainly hope you will visit us again when traveling to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
882 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £116 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the Best Western Plus Encina Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara offers comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, the Encina Inn offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, one and two bedroom suites and townhouses. Many of the units have full kitchens. The Live Oak Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available and highlights many of the extraordinary products that Santa Barbara has to offer including: local produce, seafood, local wine, and craft beer. Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing