We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Orcutt, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Best Westerns are clean, and this one is in a very quiet area. It was also convenient to restaurants and shops. Our room felt more like a B&B room as it had a cottage feel. We will definitely return on future trips to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for feeling the ambience of the Encina Lodge!! The cozy bed & breakfast idea is exactly what I tell our guests we have here. Hope you have a Happy Holiday; and will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    256
    106
    36
    15
See reviews for
310
202
33
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We enjoyed all the comfort and amenities in a residential area of Santa Barbara, away from the beach tourism. All expectations met. We appreciated the apartment accommodations, with 2 bedrooms and kitchen, even for one night. Affordable for this upscale area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank katheryn209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Appreciate your taking the time to rate and review our hotel; and happy you enjoyed our accommodations. Please come see us again.

Happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This property is less than a block for the Cottage Hospital in Santa Barbara. I needed a room while my wife was in the hospital. I got a great, spacious room. They matched the internet price at the desk. People were very helpful and friendly. The room had fresh fruit, candies, coffee, tea and plenty of room. It was a great value and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel; we appreciate your kind thoughts. Do hope your wife is doing better and that you will come see us again for a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Encino because we had business at Cottage hospital which is across the street. Contrary to other reviews I had read I thought the price was reasonable for Santa Barbara. The room was very clean the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shower was slightly out of date but I actually wish more places still had the clothes line in the shower.The bed was very comfortable. The location is wonderful mostly residential and Dr.s offices so it was very quiet at night. I was quite happy with our stay and would stay here again if a reason should arise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jmom2many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We do thank you for your review of our property; and your praise for our staff and the rooms. We do have some showers that are dated; am actually in the process of updating many of them. Those old clotheslines are actually the best!!

Please come see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntington beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a wonderful place !!!! I spoke with Aiko and he was so helpful I booked the room for the weekend of 11-16-13. Beautiful and very clean room. Perfect location to everything. Thank you Aiko and all staff members. You all were so wonderful and professional. Plus the Café was as good as you said it would be. We loved everything and can't wait to return. Thank you so very much for all the great care.! See you soon. Sincerely Carol W.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We so much appreciate your kind review of our hotel; and thank you for mentioning Akio especially. He is a great guy; and will be sure to give him a pat on the back for his excellent hotel accommodations and hospitality.

Looking forward to your next visit with us . Have a Happy Thanksgiving………
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My nephew was in a serious accident and was at the Cottage Hospital. We are from Orange County so had to find a place near the hospital. This place is the closet, just a very short walk.

First...the management is excellent. They are use to dealing with people who are visiting the hospital and bend over backwards to accommodate. It got to the point where we were staying day by day, not knowing when my nephew would be released. They never tried to squeeze money out of us because we couldn't give them an exact check out day or even time.

Second....This place was super clean, nicely decorated, well taken care of, nice grounds, very comfortable rooms. We got a two bedroom suite (its so hard to find suites with two actual bed rooms, so dont know what the regular rooms are like. We had a full kitchen, and anything missing was quickly supplied by staff.

The rates were very reasonable. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is that I would like to be beach front while on vacation. There is an old Mission in walking distance which was very pleasant to see. Otherwise, if you feel like walking there are some stores/restaurants around. We didnt try the onsite restaurant as we usually ended up eating in the hospital cafeteria or in the room, but it looked nice. The pool also looked nice but didnt try it. Did try the jacuzzi, little to much chlorine in it but otherwise nice.

Room Tip: Regardless....of purpose of travel this is a great place to stay at, but especially if travel is rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eydie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
How nice of you to take the time to write such great comments about your stay with us here at the Encina Lodge. I am pleased you found us to be comfortable for your stay while your nephew was in the hospital; and hope he has recovered now.

Will definitely check the chlorine level in our Jacuzzi; possibly our maintenance department is putting in to much each morning. Thank you for bringing that to my attention.

Please come and see us again……….I know we are not on the beach…….but it is not far away; and Santa Barbara is always a good place for a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We come here often to visit family, and always enjoy our stay. Beautiful property, close to town yet quiet and peaceful. Lovely desk, housekeeping and maintenance staff, always make the stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for sending in your nice comments about our hotel; I do appreciate your review.

Will see you next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing