We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel is mainly because it offers two bedroom townhouse at a really affordable price. For traveling with my parents (we are all adults), two bedrooms is a bonus compare to 1 room suite.

This hotel exceeds my expectation. It is beautiful outside, once you arrive the little flowers all around bring you into a vacation mood. The townhouse is spacious, nice living area and dinning area downstairs, very functioning and convenient kitchen. Also a powder room downstairs. Upstairs two bedrooms with a shared bathroom. Everything is organized and clean. It also has a small back patio. You may sit outside enjoy the peaceful life like a local Santa Barbara people......

A few things I think this hotel could improve: 1, it did take me a few minutes to find my town house after I got instruction from front desk. You said turn left when you see stop sign...but on bath st, there is no stop sign. The sign is on the small st which I need to turn on, how I can see that before I turn on...2, your restaurant is a little pricy and...I personally don't like any dish i ordered there. But maybe that's just me. 3, your front desk is very professional but I feel less warmth compare to the best western I stayed the night before at salinas, ca. (The one when I check in), the one when I check out is super nice though.

Overall I like this hotel a lot. Although it is not by the beach, if offers great value in a town like Santa Barbara. For family vacations I will definitely come back again. Of cause, did I also mention how great place Santa Barbara is? :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_hulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We love your review of our hotel; and thank you for being our guest. I’m sorry if we weren’t completely clear with our directions to your room………we usually give each guest a property map and give detailed instructions as to how to get to their room.

Sorry you weren't completely happy with our restaurant; but that generally you liked our property and the beautiful town of Santa Barbara. We hope you will come back another time and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    247
    102
    35
    15
See reviews for
289
197
34
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corralitos, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I loved this place because it was spacious, clean, full 2 bedroom apartment. Large couch, full kitchen, even the ceilings were wood beamed freshly painted instead of cheap looking hotel room usual ceilings. There was no 'free breakfast' which is a plus for me, I don't care for the cheap bland food at 'free buffets', but there is a restaurant if you want onsite breakfast. The location is close enough to downtown, 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk to the busy part of State St. I will 100% return to this hotel when/if I find myself in SB again.

Room Tip: ask for the suites that used to be apartments, we enjoyed our upstairs room so there weren't peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for being our guest; and for enjoying one of our apartment suites. We do hope you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

It was ok, but the rooms are very tired. Not sure why it's a Best Western "plus"..not sure what the "plus" means. But it needs refreshing and the shower water pressure in my room was horrible. Staff all very nice and helpful and they took $20 off my room price but I don't think I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank craesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for your compliment of our staff, they always appreciate being mentioned.
Best Western Plus means that we meet the requirements of AAA 3-Diamond rating, along with upgraded bath amenities, mini frig. , available breakfast, fitness room, on-site laundry and dry cleaning service, free high speed internet and local calls and a business center.
We are constantly renovating our rooms; so please come see us again when you visit Santa Barbara and give us a chance to put you in one of our newer rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very courteous and helpful staff. It's our second monthly stay in two years time.
We are looking forward to our next stay in December of 2014.

This Lodge/Hotel is definitely recommendable.



...........

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon Gustaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are so happy you chose us as your winter retreat; look forward to your next visit here in sunny Santa Barbara. This winter sure has been warm; glad you got to enjoy it with us.
Thank you for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Several good things to say about this property…complimentary airport shuttle service, the rooms are clean, and the location was a pleasant 20 minute walk to the heart of State Street. The hotel has a nice lobby area offering teas and coffees and there is restaurant and lounge on the premises. The rooms are older and could use updating, but they are spacious, and everything worked. We would stay here again because we like the feeling of being a local in a comfortable neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank for staying with us during your recent visit to Santa Barbara……..and for all your nice observations of our property. Your right; some of the rooms are a bit dated; and I am working on those on a weekly basis. Just keep putting in new carpet, wallpaper, and paint………..next time ask for one of our newly decorated rooms.

Hope you come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

What a great little hotel! Very clean and hard working staff. A very active property and the staff went out of thier way to ensure we were taken care of. A nice restaruant on site with firndly staff and resonable prices. I would definelty stay there agian.

Room Tip: A room by the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acampo, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent 2 nights here and were extremely happy with our accommodations. The room was clean, there is a nice restaurant on site and lounge. The grounds are kept very neat and the room was very clean also. I would stay here again if I were to go to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Just want to thank you for your nice comments about our property; and so happy you enjoyed our restaurant; and the rooms here.

We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing