We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Chatsworth, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressed!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in Spring here for a very reasonable rate and it was fabulous! For the price this updated hotel couldn't have been better. I didn't realize it wasn't quite close enough to walk to state street- over a mile and I am not a walker at this point- but there were lots everywhere to use. My daughter and I loved our clean room and had fun at night in the spa and stayed up late watching Full House reruns- perfect getaway. Breakfast is not included but there is a lovely restaurant on site. All the staff were very friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Your review of our hotel makes me so happy; thank you for your wonderful comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself here at the Encina Lodge; and that you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    260
    109
    36
    15
See reviews for
316
208
34
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our family with young children stayed here 2 nights while visiting family in the area. When I talked with the staff by phone ahead of our stay, it really felt like a small family-run business rather than a large chain hotel. They were very understanding of the multiple changes in our dates, and our last minute decision to return later in the day after checking out that morning. They gave us the same room since it was still available. We stayed in one of the apartment like suites with two bedrooms. While it is not the most contemporary decor, it is well-kept and clean. Plenty of space and quite comfortable. Desk staff were helpful and courteous. Priced very reasonable for SB and for the type of accommodation. We tend to prefer a hotel that has breakfast included, but we managed nicely by purchasing some simple breakfast items and utilizing the kitchenette in the room. We also found coffee and breakfast at the Daily Grind shop nearby to be reasonable and delicious. We did not try the hotel restaurant. Parking for the room we were in was on the street only as the parking lot spaces were always full. Also with no elevator, getting luggage upstairs was a bit of a chore. But we did request the upstairs room to avoid noise from rooms above us, so we can't really complain about that too much. The hotel is in a residential area, so it is mostly a very quiet location. The street behind is busy, but not bothersome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We so much appreciate your writing a nice review about our hotel. We do take pride in our property; and see that you had a nice visit with us. We are sorry about the parking; when the hotel is full; some guests have 2 cars; and that makes another guest without a place to put their car. We do try to control that by giving out parking passes.

Please come back and see us again when your traveling to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wanted to spend a weekend in Santa Barbara while visiting my daughter in LA. Many hotel venues were either sold out or out of reach cost- wise. This lovely property proved to affordable, immaculately clean, and quite convenient. We had a room with two double/queen beds. Everything you could think of was in the room. Beds very comfortable and room nicely appointed with comfortable sitting chairs at end of each bed; a more than suitable desk and electric outlets. Nice HDTV and fast Internet connection. Hotel staff just so professional and helpful. Would only say that an elevator would be helpful for someone having difficulty going to second level with luggage. Only a small negative in an otherwise lovely hotel. Will definitely return on the next trip. Thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, request first level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are pleased you chose to stay with us while visiting your daughter here in Santa Barbara; and thank you for writing such a nice review of our property. Next time you come for a visit; and if your in an upstairs room; just request the housemen to assist with your luggage. We have someone here from 7am to 11pm in that capacity. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, al
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was quite concerned about staying in this hotel because the price was so low. I am, sad to say, a recovering hotel snob. I still have moments of stupidity, but with successful stays like this BW, I think I will make it.
PRO's:
Price
Location - We walked everywhere! However, this could also be a bit of a "con". We are very active folks, so walking is not a big deal. Keep in mind getting to the action of downtown is about a 1-mile walk, with some hills, and at night there are NO street lights in the neighborhood where the BW is located. We used our flashlight ap on our phone. Come on Santa Barbara..Really? Put in some lights!
Cleanliness - Our room was spacious and clean.
Breakfast - Not included (con) but the on-site restaurant was fast and yummy. There is a great little diner on State Street just a few blocks from the hotel as well as an IHOP.
There is a nice pool that is heated, although we did not use it.

CONS:
Our room was a little outdated when it came to furnishings. It could use some sprucing up for sure!
Our particular room backed up to a very busy street. The room has little noise cancellation, so for light sleepers, or folks that don't like the sounds of traffic, this could be an issue. Not a big deal for us.
Breakfast not included but great coffee offered in lobby.
So, these cons are NOT a big deal. Overall, I thought the hotel was cool, in a "California Old School" type hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Santa Barbara. Sounds like you really enjoyed your time here; except for the few items you noted. Sorry about the lack of street lights; I have noticed that also over the years of living here. I am constantly updating and renovating the rooms; so hopefully next time you will get one with more modern décor.

Hope you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Myself, my partner and her father stayed here for 4 nights. We originally had a room booked, but upon arrival were upgraded to a suite. The suite turned out to be effectively a self catering apartment, and was fantasic. 2 large, seperate bedrooms, one with 2 double beds and a TV, and one with just one large double bed, no TV (My partners father was dissapointed to not get his own TV!). There was a very large sitting room, with massive corner sofa and recliner chair, with a big screen TV, as well as a decent size kitchen, with fullsize fridge/freezer and a 4 seater table to eat at. All cooking equipment was provided too.

The staff were so helpful it was untrue- I cant say enough about how friendly and accomadating they were. We travelled in by bus from LAX, and they arranged to collect us from the bus drop off, which was great. Then being from the UK, and not knowing the area, a member of the front desk gave us detailed directions allowing us to find the nearest grocery store to stock our cupboards. Later in our stay, we wanted to get in to town without walking (I will come to that later) and again, the front desk were so helpful in phoning a taxi for us, and explaining how much it would cost, and where we could get a taxi to get back later (its illegal to hail a taxi on the street, in Santa Barbara). Then, at the end of our stay, they arranged for us to be dropped to the train station with all our luggage, which again, was really helpful.

The cleaning staff were also wonderful, they came in every day and did a great job, and each day a selection of fresh fruit and a pot of sweets was left (which my partners father loved!) and a couple of bottles of water too. Its the little touches like this that you really, really appreciate.

We only used the pool & jacuzzi once, but they were both nice enough.

The only reasons I cant give 5 stars are:
1) The location.
Whilst the hotel is located in a nice quiet residential area- it is quite a long way from downtown Santa Barbara. We were travelling without a car, and tried to walk to and from downtown, but it was just too long a walk- probably best part of an hour (we arent old- I am 33). Its a nice walk, no bad area's or anything, just too far- especially the walk home in the evening, after being out all day.
The other downside is there is not a lot nearby either, so if you dont want to go all the way to town, there isnt really a local restuarant or bar (at least we couldnt find one!) to pop to on an evening. There is a restuarant on site- but that leads me to the second downside-
2) There was a restaurant and bar on site- but for the duration of our stay, there was a sign up saying they could not serve any alocholic drinks, I think due to a licensing issue. I know this was only temporary, but it was still dissapointing, as one of the reasons we chose this hotel was due to it having a bar on site- as we knew it was a bit out of the main drag, but thought we could alyways pop to the bar on site for food/drink in the evening, if we didnt want to go downtown- However, as it was not serving drinks, this really ruled out this option for us, which was frustrating.

All in all though, a wonderful stay, thanks to great staff and a very well looked after property- would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jave25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are so pleased you chose the Encina Lodge to stay during your vacation in Santa Barbara. Thank you so much for writing such detailed information about your visit; sorry about the lack of alcohol in our restaurant at this time. It is just a temporary problem; we are trying to rectify asap. We do hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fillmore, calif
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Staff were so kind and professional. Hotel clean and I felt safe. Location was great for us across the street from Cottage Hospital. We were able to spend important time with our loved one. They understood how important this was for us and worked to meet our needs. The restaurant was good and very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cindyzhere E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel; and pleased you enjoyed your visit; even if it was for the hospital. Hope you can come next time for a vacation; would be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I needed to attend a wedding in Santa Barbara, however, the rooms at the venue were prohibitive for my budget. Because I booked several months ahead, I got a great deal ($143) at the Encina Lodge. For Santa Barbara, that is a great deal by the way.

My room was charming. It had a single queen size bed and a shower, instead of a bath tub. The ambiance was just right. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating and I enjoyed a cup of coffee when I checked in. The hotel is about a mile from the hubbub of State Street. It is located in a quiet residential area.

As I left to go to my vehicle this morning, I saw their outdoor aviary. It was brimming with activity as finches were flying and jumping from feeder to nest to perch and back again. I stopped to watch and about 6 of them stopped to watch me. They were adorable and beautiful. Frankly, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Santa Barbara the next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglophile0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
All of us here at the Encina Lodge thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel; and thank you for staying with us. We do hope you will come again and enjoy another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing