We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I came to Santa Barbara for the night and we are glad we choose to stay at this hotel. The room was big and clean. The besd was very nice and comfortable. When I first read reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor one of the knocks on the hotel was that they wanted more from a $200 hotel. First of all it is Santa Barbara so everything is going to be high that is just the way it was. And I believe we got our moneys worth. We felt very much at home and relaxed. It is a little bit of a walk to State Street but we found it to be a nice stroll through the neighborhood. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottj6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your understanding about the rate structure of Santa Barbara; and for reviewing our hotel. Sounds like you had a nice visit with us; and hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a clean, cute hotel located not too far from State street. It is comprised of many buildings within a block, sharing a swimming pool, restaurant and aviary.
I had selected a non-smoking, accessible room. We were told that we had to drive through the complex to the building at the end and park underground and then take the elevator to the middle floor.
As we drove we noticed that some of the open parking areas in the complex were off limits for hotel guests, as they belonged to an apartment building stuck in the premises.
We got to our ground-level room and it was very clean, fresh smelling, and comfortable. One king bed, reclining chairs, big TV, spacious bathroom and closet.
We had been driving for 5+ hours so we tried to take an afternoon nap before we headed out.
But the street noise was a bit high, so I turned the air conditioned onto drown the sound.

That evening we left, and when we came back after midnight, the parking garage for our building was full, We had to drive back to the reception building and walk all the way back to our builing, I was thinking that if someone with a physical disability had to do the same in order to get to their accessible room, they would be upset.
We turned all the lights off (some were controlled by sensors) and about two hours later, I was awakened by light - one of the motion sensors detected something and turned the light on.
We slept comfortably after that incident, but were awakened early by loud noises from maintenance equipment (a vaccum cleaner or leaf blower) and by the sound of door banging next door announcing "room service"!

When we checked out, we mentioned the noise issue and the reception did not attempt to be apologetic about it.
I can't comment on other rooms in this hotel, but I would not recommend the one we got (330).

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllergiesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We appreciate your review of our hotel; and am sorry you weren’t completely satisfied. We remind all guests checking in that we only allow one car per room; sounds like some people didn’t listen to us……..and that is why we give out parking passes and patrol the parking lots when possible. I’m sorry you were inconvenienced by the lack of parking next to your room. As to the noise; it is true that you would be in a quieter section if you were up closer to the lobby. Next time ask for that area; and upstairs…that is always more quiet. And any time that you’re here with us; please call the front desk if any one on our property is disburbing you.

Thank you for all your comments; it does help us to maintain the best property possible. We do hope you will come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had a great time here with my family. Beds and furniture were comfortable and in good condition. Room was very good sized and was comfortable in accommodating our kids as well. Location was fairly central which made it nice to go explore around Santa Barbara. We would definitely stay here again if we are to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank O2552RYmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our hotel; we appreciate getting great comments from our guests. Happy you enjoyed Santa Barbara; see you next time you come for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Would never expect a Best Western to be this great! The room was lovely, staff was very courteous, property was very clean. My husband and I stayed with our 2 children, the room was huge and decorated so nicely, felt as though we were in a high end hotel. Close to State street, mission, museum and botanic garden, price was amazing compared to all other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mothers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We are all pleased you enjoyed our hotel; and thank you for choosing us. Your comments are much appreciated. Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well we just got home after three nights in Santa Barbara. Our stay at the Best Western was outstanding. We have three kids aged 16 13 10 and the two bedroom suite was just perfect. enough room to sleep and to have a little privacy too. The room was very clean, beds very comfortable and they even had little treats like fresh fruit and chocolates too. A self contained kitchen, no dishwasher,but I have three anyway. Great location to the main shopping area, 5-10 min drive to the wharf. The staff were very friendly and always smiling. Cant wait to come back and would gladly recommend it to families with younger or older children.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units are located in the back of the property. Quiet but the car park is a little tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joi536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your fun time at our hotel; and happy you enjoyed our accommodations. I do know our parking lot gets tight on busy weekends; and am sorry for that. Wish we had more land to make more parking slots.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friends and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Santa Ynez Valley. The Encina was quiet, clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. The location was convenient to several of the Santa Barbara sites that we visited. There is an on-site restaurant that served a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank travelbuff908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We all do appreciate your nice comments about your recent visit with us; and happy you enjoyed our restaurant also. We love the food there ourselves………hope you come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a long drive from San Francisco it was wonderful to come across this little gem. The staff were most welcoming and the accommodation comfortable and spacious. Highly recommend this hotel. Sorry that we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We are you pleased that you discovered our hotel; and hope you come see us again soon. Thank you for the praise you gave us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
771 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £123 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the Best Western Plus Encina Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara offers comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, the Encina Inn offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, one and two bedroom suites and townhouses. Many of the units have full kitchens. The Live Oak Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available and highlights many of the extraordinary products that Santa Barbara has to offer including: local produce, seafood, local wine, and craft beer. Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing