We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$482
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
431
288
123
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
288
123
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssansum clinicbird aviaryon site restaurantresidential areafull kitchenbedroom suitestate streetbest westernswould stay here againbottled waterquiet locationclose to downtownbit datedwalking distancebath streetnice stayhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I came to Santa Barbara for the night and we are glad we choose to stay at this hotel. The room was big and clean. The besd was very nice and comfortable. When I first read reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor one of the knocks on the hotel was that they wanted more from a $200 hotel. First of all it is Santa Barbara so everything is going to be high that is just the way it was. And I believe we got our moneys worth. We felt very much at home and relaxed. It is a little bit of a walk to State Street but we found it to be a nice stroll through the neighborhood. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottj6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your understanding about the rate structure of Santa Barbara; and for reviewing our hotel. Sounds like you had a nice visit with us; and hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a clean, cute hotel located not too far from State street. It is comprised of many buildings within a block, sharing a swimming pool, restaurant and aviary.
I had selected a non-smoking, accessible room. We were told that we had to drive through the complex to the building at the end and park underground and then take the elevator to the middle floor.
As we drove we noticed that some of the open parking areas in the complex were off limits for hotel guests, as they belonged to an apartment building stuck in the premises.
We got to our ground-level room and it was very clean, fresh smelling, and comfortable. One king bed, reclining chairs, big TV, spacious bathroom and closet.
We had been driving for 5+ hours so we tried to take an afternoon nap before we headed out.
But the street noise was a bit high, so I turned the air conditioned onto drown the sound.

That evening we left, and when we came back after midnight, the parking garage for our building was full, We had to drive back to the reception building and walk all the way back to our builing, I was thinking that if someone with a physical disability had to do the same in order to get to their accessible room, they would be upset.
We turned all the lights off (some were controlled by sensors) and about two hours later, I was awakened by light - one of the motion sensors detected something and turned the light on.
We slept comfortably after that incident, but were awakened early by loud noises from maintenance equipment (a vaccum cleaner or leaf blower) and by the sound of door banging next door announcing "room service"!

When we checked out, we mentioned the noise issue and the reception did not attempt to be apologetic about it.
I can't comment on other rooms in this hotel, but I would not recommend the one we got (330).

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the parking garage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllergiesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We appreciate your review of our hotel; and am sorry you weren’t completely satisfied. We remind all guests checking in that we only allow one car per room; sounds like some people didn’t listen to us……..and that is why we give out parking passes and patrol the parking lots when possible. I’m sorry you were inconvenienced by the lack of parking next to your room. As to the noise; it is true that you would be in a quieter section if you were up closer to the lobby. Next time ask for that area; and upstairs…that is always more quiet. And any time that you’re here with us; please call the front desk if any one on our property is disburbing you.

Thank you for all your comments; it does help us to maintain the best property possible. We do hope you will come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had a great time here with my family. Beds and furniture were comfortable and in good condition. Room was very good sized and was comfortable in accommodating our kids as well. Location was fairly central which made it nice to go explore around Santa Barbara. We would definitely stay here again if we are to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank O2552RYmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our hotel; we appreciate getting great comments from our guests. Happy you enjoyed Santa Barbara; see you next time you come for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Would never expect a Best Western to be this great! The room was lovely, staff was very courteous, property was very clean. My husband and I stayed with our 2 children, the room was huge and decorated so nicely, felt as though we were in a high end hotel. Close to State street, mission, museum and botanic garden, price was amazing compared to all other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mothers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We are all pleased you enjoyed our hotel; and thank you for choosing us. Your comments are much appreciated. Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well we just got home after three nights in Santa Barbara. Our stay at the Best Western was outstanding. We have three kids aged 16 13 10 and the two bedroom suite was just perfect. enough room to sleep and to have a little privacy too. The room was very clean, beds very comfortable and they even had little treats like fresh fruit and chocolates too. A self contained kitchen, no dishwasher,but I have three anyway. Great location to the main shopping area, 5-10 min drive to the wharf. The staff were very friendly and always smiling. Cant wait to come back and would gladly recommend it to families with younger or older children.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units are located in the back of the property. Quiet but the car park is a little tight if you have a large suv but plenty of parking in the other areas.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joi536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your fun time at our hotel; and happy you enjoyed our accommodations. I do know our parking lot gets tight on busy weekends; and am sorry for that. Wish we had more land to make more parking slots.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews