We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not much to offer”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I can see how this place "could" have that homie feel but let's not confuse homie with outdated! The place is just plain old. The room has random decor and love seats that are questionable to sit on. Perhaps I'm just a hotel snob but it didn't help when I entered my room, my sliding door was completely open with the wind blowing in and I had to check everywhere to make sure no freaks were hiding in the closet, bathroom or under my bed!! Don't get me wrong, the service was good but there's not much to service besides checking in and out. There's no gym, no decent restaurant around but I suppose driving into town is what they want you to do. All in all, if this is an overnight stay, no problem, but extended stays or vacay spot might not be so great. Well, unless you're under a budget guide, then this place is fine.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maylee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear of any disappointment you found during your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide an exceptional experience for each of our guests, and I regret that this was not achieved for you.
We do have a wonderful restaurant on our property and a fitness room. I am very sorry that this was not explained to you at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    250
    103
    36
    15
See reviews for
297
199
34
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fresno, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I am in town. It is always clean and comfortable and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. It is the best value you can get in expensive Santa Barbara. I will continue to stay here every time I return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steffani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments about your recent visit with us. Thank you for staying with us; and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first time staying here was because family was in the Cottage Hospital around the corner. The staff could not have been more helpful. Friendly front desk staff, rooms clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff next to the pool were amazing with our time constraints, food was yummy and gave great suggestions for local necessities. We've been back 3 times now and will always choose here first. May not be near the water, but comfort and dependability wins out with this hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are a little more but worth it. They are in the corners which are slightly quieter (not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Your very kind review is so much appreciated; we all work hard to keep our guests comfortable and happy. Thank you for choosing us when you come to Santa Barbara; and see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I thought the hotel staff was very good and any question is had they helped me with. The rooms were very clean and comfortable for an older hotel The only thing was for the price they should offer breakfast. Only coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for being a recent guest of ours; and for writing a review of your visit. We do have a wonderful restaurant on our property that serves breakfast; lunch, and dinner.

Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here to recover from a surgery at a hospital around the corner. The staff here could not have been nicer! They let us check in early and more importantly when my wife was not feeling well enough to leave they let a stay a few extra hours for a very reasonable charge! Also the food at the restaurant is a very nice Mexican style and the quality was very good! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We liked our room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancew1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are happy you chose to stay with us during your medical visit to Santa Barbara; and hope your wife has healed nicely by now. Thank you for your kind review; and hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Cute and clean hotel. Room was very clean with candy and fresh fruit each day. There is coffee and fruit available in the lobby. The restaurant on property serves a great breakfast but is not included in room rate. I did not have any noise issues as reported by other patrons but had an upper level room so that may have helped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us when traveling to Santa Barbara; and thanks for your nice review of our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests; and hope you do come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I came to Santa Barbara for the night and we are glad we choose to stay at this hotel. The room was big and clean. The besd was very nice and comfortable. When I first read reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor one of the knocks on the hotel was that they wanted more from a $200 hotel. First of all it is Santa Barbara so everything is going to be high that is just the way it was. And I believe we got our moneys worth. We felt very much at home and relaxed. It is a little bit of a walk to State Street but we found it to be a nice stroll through the neighborhood. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottj6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your understanding about the rate structure of Santa Barbara; and for reviewing our hotel. Sounds like you had a nice visit with us; and hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing