We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters to Sansum clinic patients”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Visalia, United States
2 reviews
“Caters to Sansum clinic patients”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

It is a great place to stay especially when at Sansum Clinic, they will take you there and back for your appointments, there is a pool and spa on the grounds and a restaurant, close off the freeway and quiet. They have rooms, suites and always different goodies when the rooms are cleaned daily

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for visiting us here at the Encina Lodge during your recent trip to Sansum Clinic. We appreciate your kind remarks; and do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    255
    105
    36
    15
See reviews for
307
202
33
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glen ellen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I really appreciate the value, the warmth, and the convenience of this hotel. I stayed in an upstairs corner room not near the pool so it was very quiet. The restaurant menu and food was excellent and the staff are very nice throughout my stay of 8 days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elisaGlenEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We all appreciate your rating our hotel with such high praise. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us; and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I booked this hotel very last minute for a one night stay during the Santa Barbara Fiestas weekend. The hotel is very charming looking and the rooms do have a unique lodge feel with a sidewall full of mirrors from floor to ceiling. The downside: the restroom light and hallway area lights went out while I was getting ready to go out at night. This is a green hotel, so their lights have sensors and thought it was that. I Attempted to turn on the lights and nothing. I immediately called the front desk and explained the situation. They first asked if I had turned them on and after I stated yes they told me they would send someone to check out the problem. They were very speedy on response time and in less than 5 minutes I had a maintenance man checking out the problem. It took him under two minutes to pin point the potential problem which had to be resolved from the outside of the room. The scenario was a bit inconvenient throwing me off schedule for about 15 minutes, but was happy with the overall response time. I understand these things can happen anywhere. What i am most displeased with is their housekeeping. It always looks nice on the surface and then you discover them too late. My sheets and blankets smelled awful, like the smell of vomit (not exaggerating). I didn't bother to call the front desk because it was 3am when I was going to bed and figured housekeeping wouldn't be able to do anything at the time, so I just threw them on the floor. Also, the AC in the room is very outdated and old. It didn't work too well. Hotels are very expensive in the area around Fiestas and this one night stay was not cheap ($250 plus for the night). Therefore, I do feel the need to point out these flaws. I'm sure the fees are SIGNIFICANTLY lower on any other given weekend, but for the price, I did expect at the very minimum, clean-smelling bedding. My suggestion: stay somewhere else. I don't see myself booking here ever again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbanpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property during your visit to Santa Barbara during Old Spanish Days; or otherwise called “Fiesta”. We appreciate your booking with us; but very sorry you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations.

We do not raise the rates for Fiesta weekend; we have one rate schedule for the entire summer season. Our rates are very competitive for the Santa Barbara area.

Regarding the cleanliness of the bed; I am completely dumbfounded that you would find a problem. The housekeeper in the section you stayed in is one of our most efficient; and we pride ourselves on beautiful clean beds. We wash our blankets and bedspreads more often then need be; just to be sure our bedding is super clean. And of course; clean sheets are always put on.

I’m sorry you weren’t happy with us; but do hope you continue to travel the Best Western way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Last minute stay in Santa Barbara so not many places to choose from. This room has wallpaper from the 60s, an ok bed, nice towels. Window in bathroom needs to be replaced. Quiet area. Long walk to restaurants. If you walk to dinner, take a cab back, because streets are not well lit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Moragantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We all thank you for the review you wrote about your visit with us here at the Encina Lodge. Your observations are correct; some of the rooms do have older wallpaper; but I can assure you; it is from the 90’s……………I am renovating rooms year around. Every winter I re-do rooms; and get as many as possible done before summer comes again.

We hope you will come see us again and stay in one of our newer rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room was beautiful, very comfortable, and staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, and with directions. loved the bird enclosure. We found this location through Best Western phone call.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
How lovely it is to read a nice review like the one you posted; thank you so much for that!! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us; and our little birdies. Hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My bedroom faced Bath Street, which sometimes was noisy; however, I ran the air conditioner and it blocked the sounds from the street and sidewalk. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We appreciate your posting a review about your stay with us; and appreciate your nice comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I will definitely share with our head housekeeper.

Sorry about the noise; I know Bath Street usually quiets down by about 9 or 10pm; so hope it wasn’t too much of a bother.

Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our room was very quiet and spacious. The room look outdated however the king bed was comfy and beautiful. 2 tv's helped keep my teenagers in the living room while I was able to watch what I liked. Bathroom seemed small compared to the bedroom and living room/kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 988veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest; and hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Barbara. I am continuing to update our rooms; trying to keep them updated. Next time please ask for one of our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
921 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,018 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing