We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reliable and Comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

This is my second stay. The last was five years ago. My husband remembered the quiet location and given that we were in town for the 4th of July weekend... we wanted to be out of the fray of the strip.
First the cons: 1. They really should have a continental breakfast because although the food quality is fine at the onsite restaurant, the service is so slow it negates the food.
2. It's quaint and a bit dated, but not shabby. Please strip the tiny-flower wallpaper and simply paint the rooms a neutral color! 3. Noise does come through the ceilings when the above floor moves about, but not frightfully so. 4. Needs to pre-cool the rooms when guests are to going to check in that day. It takes forever for the air conditioners to fully cool. 5. Our bathroom smelled slightly of damp. 6. Double beds are a tight squeeze for some couples and grown children (most dip slightly towards center of room from single sleepers). 6. No individual reading lamps by bedside, just a single room lamp in the center which keeps all awake until its extinguished.
Second the pros:
1. Quick, efficient, friendly check in. 2. When I found that the rate had dropped by checking online at their own website, a quick 4 minute call and zero hassle got the rate adjusted. No questions asked. 3. Water pressure and heat of shower is amazing. 4. Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries are nice. 5. Aviary adds a personal, sweet touch, and my child found it soothing to watch the birds. 6. All staff encountered were genial. 7. This may sound weird, but the tile grout is immaculate! I hate scummy or mildewy tile grout and this hotel has NONE! :) 8. Room 206 does not share walls with any other room (but does have upstairs neighbors to hear). Awesome. 9. Quiet street location. 10. Inviting looking from outside. 11. Convenient ice machines and juice dispensers between sections of rooms. 12. Adequately cold and quiet working fridges. (Don't know why this is so hard for most hotels to get right!)

Overall, we will go back. A simply wallpaper peel would do them a world of good. But that being said, even the condition of the paper is good. The print is just too precious.
Thanks for a good stay, again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallfacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peppertree, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2009
Greetings from Santa Barbara SmallFacts!

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Encina Lodge & Suites. Its guests like you who are the true travel experts; so we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with TripAdvisor.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team who genuinely care about the quality of service given to each guest, so your kind comments regarding our front desk team are greatly appreciated.

Our hotel team prides ourselves on the quality of our guestrooms, so learning of your dissatisfaction in your room décor is quite disappointing. You will be pleased to know that our housekeeping and management team are continuously updating décor and furnishings and will take your comments into consideration.

Please be assured that your comments regarding the on site restaurant will be addressed with the restaurant owners and management team. Although the restaurant is not managed by our hotel, we will do everything possible to ensure improvement in their quality of service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with TripAdvisor and for giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Carol Wolford
General Manager – Best Western Encina Lodge & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    247
    103
    35
    15
See reviews for
289
197
34
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

The rooms are large and the beds very firm, which I like. Breakfast service is exceptionally slow. The jacuzzi is a joke. This would be a good option for families - definitely not a romantic destination.

Would recommend to a group on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs UK
Level Contributor
420 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

This was the second BW we stayed in on our recent trip to the west coast of the US. We were somewhat dissappointed on the whole, although the staff were friendly & the room was fine - albeit we had noisy neighbours (also there was constant noise from the adjacent building's fans) - it was relatively expensive. Notwithstanding the cost, car parking was in short supply & in our case not easy - we were asked to park in the underground car at the rear of the hotel, where our room was. Maybe it is the size of US cars but I found it difficult!

The hotel is in a residential area some distance from the centre of Santa Barbara, so we had breakfast in the restaurant on the complex (although it is not part of the hotel). We cannot recommend..

Whether we would stay here on a return visit to SB would be dependant on what other options were available - particularly if we could find somewhere nearer to the centre.

We had a wonderful evening meal with an American friend at Elements - would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

Having spent two weeks touring California, I can honestly say that this was the most disappointing and over-priced hotel we stayed in.
Sure ,the rooms are large but with paper thin walls and little or no sound proofing, we could hear every word spoken by our neighbours who chose to arise at 5.30am in the morning !
The hotel is in a residential part of Santa Barbara and not very conveneient for State St , the main area for shopping, restaurants etc.
We paid about $275 for one night , and given it's poor location and build quality, I think it's grossly over-priced. Look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Noisy, overpriced.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiosEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

One of the better Best Westerns, for sure. It's a good 20 minute walk away from the action on State Street and the opposite end of town from the beach, but it's a pleasant and cosy property set in a quiet residential area in the north end of town.
We hadn't booked in advance so were lucky to get a deluxe room with balcony and two double beds during the high season for around $260 per night. The room on the second floor was spacious with a large desk (free wireless internet), 2 reasonably sized and comfy double beds, a large corner sofa, small kitchenette and reasonably sized bathroom. Also, plenty of storage space, which was important for our family of four. All clean and in good condition, although we managed to block the toliet on our last day.
Check in was fast and friendly and the lobby area provides plenty of information as to where to go and what to do as well as a small gift shop. There's a good restuarant and bar on site (great service at the bar, slow service at breakfast) and an excellent pool area next to the restaurant /bar with several tables, chairs, sunloungers and parasols set in a well kept garden area. There's even a bird aviary which sort of added to the cosy and friendly surroundings. Also a jacuzzi hidden away just around the corner.
We would definitely consider the Best Western Encina again if visiting Santa Barbara, although we'd probably spend the extra on a slightly larger suite. It's not cheap (and remember that their prices don't include breakfast) but not over the top by any means when compared to similar properties in Santa Barbara.
Definitely worth considering for both leisure and buisness.

  • Liked — Pool/Bar area. Front Office
  • Disliked — Few local alternatives for breakfast so you need to use the on site restaurant. Slow!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JENSBritinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2008

I'm afraid to write too glowing of a review - if this place gets too popular, I might not be able to book again!

I stay here every April for a long weekend with my sisters. There are 3 of us, so we get one of the two bedroom suites/apartments for three nights.

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean (if dated), and the location is wonderful. For our purposes, it works out perfectly.

A few things that would be nice improvements: a new/better sofa bed - we take turns using it, and none of us have ever gotten a good night's sleep on it; dual-paned windows for the traffic noise down Bath Street; blackout curtains for the living room and dining room windows for the person trying to sleep on the sofa bed.

The suite had new carpeting since last year, and new wallpaper in the bedrooms - but not the hallway and living room. Hopefully by next year that will be done.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Sofa bed is very uncomfortable!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCashCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE LONDON
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

This was a lovely hotel, the room was clean and the bed comfy. The staff was very nice and helpful

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing