We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is right with this place? - Everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn by the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What is right with this place? - Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I could 'gush' on forever about this Motel but it would take too long!

Location is ideal for just about everything in Santa Barbara - Pier, beach, sights, shops, restaurants and bars of all types. But that is just the start. Even less usual things are close by: two good shops (there are kitchen facilities in the room), petrol station within sneezing distance, railway station ( I took a ride to Ventura on the fantastic Amtrak train which was very reasonable), park. In a nutshell everything you could need.

There is very reasonable and efficient laundry room. So handy as I was on a fly / drive holiday and over a week in to it.

The service was outstanding, even by the high standards I found in California. I remember a Liz and Anthony who did not know the meaning of 'sorry we don't / can't help with that'. !!

Breakfast indoors or outside

I can't think of one thing to complain about.

10 out of 10

.PS Santa Barbara is worth 3 nights at least.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    259
    67
    26
    6
See reviews for
147
410
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

From the moment we walked into the hotel lobby to check in, we knew we were in for a treat. Anthony, could not have been more welcoming and offered us huge congratulations on our recent wedding (we were on honeymoon). We had a lovely bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us in the room, with a hand written card from Anthony. So many lovely touches all of which felt completely genuinely.
Our room was fabulous, plenty of room, clean and right next to the pool and the hotel is in a great location.
Throughout our stay Anthony always came to say hi at breakfast and find out what we had planned for the day and offered us recommendations - the restaurant he told us about was divine. The complimentary bikes were great and we had a whale of a time riding along the seafront.
I rarely bother giving reviews but this hotel was so worth the effort, and most importantly Anthony. I travel regularly with work and his attention to detail and customer service skills are some of the best I have seen. I cannot thank him enough for his warm welcome and efforts.
Keep up the great work - we will be back on our anniversary in two years! We have it planned already!!
Olivia and Steve Galun

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our California road trip and celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by Sophia who checked us in with a welcoming smile and advised us of all the facilities available to us during our stay. The hotel was small and intimate and it felt like home from home, very nice!The room was clean and spacious, the buffet breakfast was superb with plenty of choices to suit all tastes and the complimentary wine and cheese was a welcome treat after shopping and sightseeing. A BIG thanks goes to Anthony on reception who was one of the most helpful and genuine receptionist that we had met during our travels. He advised us on all the local places to eat, drink and visit and explained the directions of local places to visit on the map. We also received a bottle of champagne and chocolates from the hotel and a lovely bottle of wine and chocolates from Anthony to celebrate our anniversary. Every hotel should have an Anthony! We stayed at 7 hotels along the way and this one was our favourite and we left there with good memories of our time there, well done to everyone and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We would have been happy in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malibushaz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of our retirement trip. We were welcomed at reception as if entering someone's home. As the receptionist, Sophie, was dealing with another guest, we were cheerfully instructed to help ourselves to a glass of wine. Check in was informative and helpful, our room overlooking the pool was large and comfortable, with separate kitchen and bathroom areas. There was a generosity in the supply of toiletries and soaps. This spirit was continued though complementary continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and evening milk and cookies. All the staff were knowledgable and helpful. The hotel is convenient for Santa Barbara and we hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WickerArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife & I stayed here for two nights during a tour of California. What a lovely little motel! Reception was exceptionally friendly & efficient & we were advised of the free cheese & wine during the afternoons. The rooms were a little small (by American standards) & perhaps a little dated but were very clean & well kept. Ours backed right on to the small pool & hot tub area via patio doors, which we loved & made good use of in the evening. The cheese & wine were superb & were a lovely touch, the atmosphere in the afternoon sunshine on the front patio was calm relaxed & elegant. I would, without doubt, stay here again if re-visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here during our trip up the coast for 2 nights and have to say how impressed we were.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and the added touches of the cheese and wine, free coffee and cookies were really nice. Breakfast was a nice continental style with mostly pastries.
The location was good and an easy walk to the harbour and along the beach to the pier.
The rooms are nice and spacious if a little dated but this does not really detract from the overall stay. The grounds were lovely, very pretty and the pool area though small was heated and not at all crowded during our stay.
Probably the best place we stayed during our trip amongst some lovely hotels.
Oh and thank you for the bottle of fizz!! It was much appreciated and helped us celebrate our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mand77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Straight off, the only reason why you don't see a full Five Star rating for this hotel is because it's a little far away from the activity hub State Street and also the harbour and sea front in Santa Barbara (both moderate walking distance). Other than that it's 5 Big Stars all the way. This is a marvellous hotel, which ticks just about all the boxes for a couple of days relaxation in Santa Barbara. Sophia, the lady at the front desk, was just about one of the most informative, nicest and best, front of house, hotel staff members we've ever met. Our room on the 2nd floor was excellent and well appointed. The pool area is a beautiful private oasis of calm that is obviously well maintained. The wine, cheese, crackers, fruit, danish and muffin reception every day at 4.30p.m. in the lobby Is really good and the breakfast, also in the lobby, includes various cereals, hard boiled eggs, fruits, yoghurt, breads, muffins, bagels, fruit juices, coffee, tea etc. Nearby there is a 7Eleven convenience store and across the road there is the Santa Cruz supermarket, should you require more variety. There is also plenty of room for car parking on site. We enjoyed our couple of days there and I suppose between walking and taking a taxi once, we didn't mind too much the little bit of distance to the sights and attractions of Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredGent1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Property: Inn by the Harbor
Address: 433 W. Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing