We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy & convenient”
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn by the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose this hotel as an overnight stop between Big Sur and LA

We were looking for a place just to stop for the night as we would be arriving late afternoon and leaving just after breakfast

The hotel is superbly located just off the freeway but not so close for the traffic noise to cause any problems
The room was clean and tidy and good value for money

When we arrived we were met at reception by a very friendly lady and when checking out we were seen by two guys who were extremely polite and ver helpful making our stay a great experience

To all the staff, keep up your high standards as it clearly made a big difference and was appreciated

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a wonderful gem of a place this hotel was! We were visiting from NJ and I read all of the reviews on this site, so I will try to highlight the many positives for future travelers. The rooms were impeccably clean and nicely prepared for our arrival, with an abundance of bath and shower supplies. The staff was friendly, helpful and inviting. One was nicer than the next and they all went above and beyond to see that our needs were met. Parking was free, which was definitely a nice perk. In addition, the free breakfast, 4:30 wine and cheese and 6:30 milk and cookies was a wonderful touch. We also took advantage of the free bike rentals and used them to see all of the sites in the town. Thanks to Peter, Sophia and the rest of the crew for making our visit peaceful, relaxing and unforgettable. If ever return to Santa Barbara, we will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teach341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Over the years we have stayed in 3 hotels in Santa Barbara and this is the one we chose to come back too. The one on the waterfront was very expensive, the one just off State Street was too noisy but this suited us. The room was clean and comfortable although didn't really use the space well.There was a lot of unused space near the door which was odd. We are happy to walk and it was only 5 minutes to the waterfront and about 15 to State Street shops and restaurants. The location was nice and quiet and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We didn't bother with the breakfast but having coffee, tea and apples in reception all day was nice. If you a runner I recommend the nearby waterfront trail, gazing out on the Pacific was certainly an upgrade on my usual route.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

4 out of 5 with that title? Read the entire review to understand why we are recommending the Inn by the Harbor.
We hate when any hotelier "tries" to give us their 'worst' room (we call it the expedia room or room 201 - 2nd floor, front, over reception, beside elevator!).
Do not get me wrong from our reviews you can read that we have had rooms in Europe where we had to climb over the bed because the room was so small, other rooms that barely met the advertised description, even excellent rooms that we moved from because the wifi reception was too bad - requesting a move or accepting a small room is a part of smart travel for us.
The Inn by the Harbor staff made a big part of the difference between room and score!
Lilly, Pilar and William deserve special mention and a real commendation for customer service.
This bad room was really an okay room for us to be in, the Inn by the Harbor has many good rooms. Our two night room was #235 far back of this complex but overlooking a great courtyard. The two small rear windows faced the back parking lot and overlooked the huge baseball diamond parking lot and playing field. Our room abutted the maids little work area, that was directly over the guest laundry room - but a QUIET room, what we asked for!
With the windows closed, we never heard ANY noise from the parking area and the staff didn't start making much noise until close to 9 am.
We were far from the nice pool and outdoor Jacuzzi, so minimal kid noises when they were screaming away! The down side of being so far back was for breakfast (minimal 'continental style' - great croissant), the afternoon wine (red and white) with cheese, then milk and cookies (ah the cookies were so chewy good) - all these were a short walk of the lovely outside courtyard (see images).
The Inn by the Harbor is part of the sbhotels.com group that has two other properties beside the Inn. For dvd and bicycle borrowing, you have to walk over to the "Brisas del Mar", right next door. This gave me a good chance to see that property and although they have the better services, it is really based on a motel model with a parking area instead of the courtyard.

When we come back, I would stay at the Inn by the Harbor, with the quiet courtyard, only in one of the rooms we comment on in TA 'Room Tips'.

Room Tip: Do not take the quiet dark and gloomy 235, but 236 looked good. Ground floor has direct access from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel. It is well located to walk to the sea front and to either walk to State Street (or get a taxi) where most of the night life is. Santa Barbara a safe and pleasant town and is very friendly.
The hotel has a small pool and Jacuzzi in a palm filled area. there are also laundry facilities which is useful when you are on a 4 week road trip. The hotel has decent breakfast and free bike hire.
It is a good place to stop-over for a couple of nights when travelling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbyclog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I could 'gush' on forever about this Motel but it would take too long!

Location is ideal for just about everything in Santa Barbara - Pier, beach, sights, shops, restaurants and bars of all types. But that is just the start. Even less usual things are close by: two good shops (there are kitchen facilities in the room), petrol station within sneezing distance, railway station ( I took a ride to Ventura on the fantastic Amtrak train which was very reasonable), park. In a nutshell everything you could need.

There is very reasonable and efficient laundry room. So handy as I was on a fly / drive holiday and over a week in to it.

The service was outstanding, even by the high standards I found in California. I remember a Liz and Anthony who did not know the meaning of 'sorry we don't / can't help with that'. !!

Breakfast indoors or outside

I can't think of one thing to complain about.

10 out of 10

.PS Santa Barbara is worth 3 nights at least.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

From the moment we walked into the hotel lobby to check in, we knew we were in for a treat. Anthony, could not have been more welcoming and offered us huge congratulations on our recent wedding (we were on honeymoon). We had a lovely bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us in the room, with a hand written card from Anthony. So many lovely touches all of which felt completely genuinely.
Our room was fabulous, plenty of room, clean and right next to the pool and the hotel is in a great location.
Throughout our stay Anthony always came to say hi at breakfast and find out what we had planned for the day and offered us recommendations - the restaurant he told us about was divine. The complimentary bikes were great and we had a whale of a time riding along the seafront.
I rarely bother giving reviews but this hotel was so worth the effort, and most importantly Anthony. I travel regularly with work and his attention to detail and customer service skills are some of the best I have seen. I cannot thank him enough for his warm welcome and efforts.
Keep up the great work - we will be back on our anniversary in two years! We have it planned already!!
Olivia and Steve Galun

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
796 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Address: 433 W Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3880
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £110 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing