We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent one night at this hotel while on our road trip honeymoon and we wish we'd spent longer.
We received an absolutely fantastic upgrade to a top floor suite that was absolutely huge due to being on our honeymoon and also complimentary champagne and chocolates. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The suite was immaculately clean and tidy. We couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    248
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
187
363
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Margaret's Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is perfectly positioned just off Highway 101 and just a half mile from the marina, pier and beach. The welcome was great - they were just serving up free wine and nibbles with free coffee, cake and biscuits following later in the evening. We didn't use the car after our arrival because almost everything is in walking distance and the hotel also offers the free loan of bikes. We had a free upgrade to a suit (lounge/diner/kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, walk-in closet) which was well presented although the décor was slightly faded - the rest of the offering was so good as to still make it worth 5* rating. This was our last hotel stop on a seven week tour and the young gentleman behind the reception gets our top mark for both service and informative advice on the town..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentishman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Brisas Del Mar is well positioned, It is a 2 minutes drive off the 101 Highway and is a 5-10 minute walk down to the harbour and then on to the main beach. Because of this a decent part of Santa Barbara can seen by walking, or alternatively the bicycles which the hotel offers are FOC I believe, the hotel has ample free car parking.

We were booked to stay one night as we have places to visit on our tour round. We were checked in by the receptionist William, who showed the best that American service culture has to offer. Friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, who couldn't do enough for you, this alone gives you a lasting impression which is hard to lose.

We were allocated a suite, with a full kitchen room, stocked with all kitchen utensils, Wifi, a living room with TV, sofa, chairs, coffee table and a bedroom with another TV and chest of drawers. The room had well sized bathroom and overall was very clean, if a little old fashioned. The views out of either windows were a little bit left to be desired, the bedroom window looked out on to a car valet rear courtyard which was full of noise with cleaners and their tools, but this is beyond the control of the hotel.

The hotel offers wine and cheese between 4:30 and 6:30pm, we checked in, quick turn around and then went down to the reception for the wine at 6:30 to find it had already been replaced with the night milk and cookies. However William behind the front desk found us some of the local produce and we sat down by the fire with some Merlot and homemade cookies, which were soft and fantastic. William then recommended a restaurant for us, which we visited.

In the same reception room, breakfast is served in the morning, with a selection of pastries, cereals, toast, coffee and juices. The breakfast food is good but by no means outstanding, but since it is included into the rate, there is no reason for complaint.

Not long after breakfast we checked out (very quick process) and headed off to explore the town and then move on our trip. We booked the stay on Expedia as it was far cheaper than the hotels own website rate quoted, we paid around $160 for the night. I cant say it is a bargain, but because of what sort of town that Santa Barbara is and for what you get in terms of room size, parking, breakfast and customer service makes it feel good value.

Overall this a good hotel which only misses out on the 5/5 because while the rooms is clean, it is beginning to look some what old fashioned, this 'olde' world may appeal to some customers but if they were able to renovate the rooms to a modern yet throwback design, mixed with the high levels of customers service it already offers, then it would have outstanding potential as a hotel. I would very much consider staying in the Brisas Del Mar again when I return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaping_Deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Brisas Del Mar satisfied our desire to enjoy time in Santa Barbara near town and the beach.

Our stay was wonderful. The breakfast and evening wine and cheese around the fireplace was so nice. We met others who were there to enjoy their time without spending a tremendous amount of money to do so.

The welcome was warm and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and immediate with anything needed. Going for ice I came across the maids in the complete on site hotel laundry folding sheets and singing and laughing. That tells me this is a good place to be.

We arrived on Thanksgiving night with staff having already made dinner reservations for us and an envelope of discounts for restaurants around town personally signed by a Brisas representative.

Our suite with full kitchen, living room and bedroom was so pleasant we decided to see if we could possibly rent a larger one for a month next year. I went to the front desk, met a wonderful person who noted to me that he didn't work here - he and his wife come down from Canada to make Brisas his home for 4 months every year.

We didn't need our car to go downtown, to the harbor or the beach. Everything is walkable even though it is about a long block from the harbor - walking past the park.

We also noted that we felt quite safe as the rooms are all off the street up the walkway. You have to go past the front desk living room to get to them and there is a visible and pleasant security guard.

We enjoyed our time and the wonderful smell of fresh baking chocolate chip cookies while sitting with new acquaintances in front of the warmth of the fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0se1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The approach to the hotel is past a pond with fountains and dolphin statues. The hotel itself is of interesting architecture and seemed very welcoming with a few tables and chairs outside. We were greeted by William who explained everything to us. He then carried our luggage to our large, well furnished room with a huge king bed that turned out to be one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We had our own front door to the room which we always like rather than having to walk down endless indoor corridors. The hospitality was exceptional and included a bottle of champagne in the fridge and free water, red and white wine with cheese and biscuits in the reception from 4.30 to 6.30, cookies and milk after that, and free use of bicycles. We enjoyed our cheese and wine on sofas by the gas log-effect fire in the lounge part of the reception, chatting to two American couples who move in to apartments within the hotel for the whole of the winter to get away from the bad weather in Washington where they came from. They had been coming here for 13 years which certainly says something about the hotel! There is a heated swimming pool and jacuzzi, and a very small gym for the residents' use. All in all we really loved this hotel, and the location was excellent being a short stroll to the marina and seafood restaurants in one direction, and to the town in the other. We would definitely recommend it. The only thing we can find to say that is slightly negative is there was no hot food at all at breakfast, although there was a good selection of continental-style cereals, fruit and breads. The space to eat breakfast could also be very limited if everyone chose to come at the same time.

Room Tip: It's really up to how much space you need and how much you want to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Adequate rooms, but main features of the hotel are friendliness of personell and lobby where they serve wine, cheese (between 4.30 -6.30) and cookies and hot chocolate (6.30 a 8.30). They provide a very good (and free) breakfast. Good location, with beach and Main Street at wlking distance. We had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The service was very good. We really enjoyed the added touch of wine and cheese in the evening, a chance to meet other travellers and our kids enjoyed the milk and cookies each evening! Though the complex is older, it is well cared for. The suites have a kitchen and though dated, have the basics. The location is okay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Property: Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3811
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing