We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mason Beach Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$457
US$413
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
426
272
60
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
272
60
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkwine and cheeseking suitecontinental breakfaststate streetfree bikesdressing roombottle of champagnefull kitchenwalk in closetbike rentalsliving roomsmall gymlate afternooncrackerstwo blocksdvd player
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Brisas del Mar gives you old-fashioned innkeeping and service in a great location just off 101 and a couple of blocks from the waterfront and from State Street. The folks at reception (especially William) really go out of their way to welcome and show you all the wonderful amenities this small hotel offers. Breakfast, wine and cheese happy hour, evening cookies, a fleet of bicycles with which to explore the waterfront and town ... all complimentary. Valuable recommendations for sightseeing and knowledgeable advice for dinner at any time of the day. Nice swimming pool and hot tub. Very comfortable beds. They also have small suites and full apartments for longer stays. This place really has it all, and for a reasonable price. You can pay a great deal more in Santa Barbara but you simply cannot do better for the money than at Brisas del Mar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The person who answered the phone really tried to get us a quiet room, which I appreciate, but I found out later from another person at the inn that the room we got was probably not the quietest. If you want quiet, I would NOT recommend our room, room 27 on the 3rd floor. While it is away from the road and gas station, the inn as one block from Amtrak. The night we stayed, there were train whistles at least at 10:30pm, 4am, and 6:30am. My husband is a sound sleeper while I'm not, but these woke both of us. Part of the problem in this room is that the windows aren't full panes of glass; they're slats, so they don't block sound as well. The second floor on that side of the building may be better (provided it's not by stairs, ice machines, housekeeping, etc.).

The bed was comfortable but the pillow top was thinner than I expected (compared to previous experiences using pillowtops).

Otherwise, the people at this property were all very friendly and helpful. Upon check in, they provided very helpful information, including a good list of restaurants.

Also, as many other people have mentioned, this property has good perks.

Overall, we would stay here again now that we know how to get a quieter room.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room with windows that have full glass panes (not slats). Stay on the side away from the road and gas station, and on the 2nd floor (the 3rd floor is only partial so it's exposed to Amtrak train whistles).
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RooibosDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We just loved Santa Barbara and the Brisas Del Mar was a great place to stay, the hotel staff were so friendly and one of the highlights of our road trip was getting up early (7am), enjoying a lovely breakfast (fresh croissants, fruit yoghurt, coffee etc) and making use of the complimentary bikes to cycle along the beach front which when we were there was tranquil unspoilt and absolutely beautiful. Wished we stayed longer and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked a room for one night after looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor. We drove down the coast from San Francisco to Los Angeles. This hotel was a real find. Older style rooms which has been redecorated and very comfortable and clean. We were greeted with friendly, attentive staff, bottle of bubbly in our room. Free wi fi, free DVDs, wine and cheese in the late afternoon, homemade cookies and milk in the evening, free continental breakfast, free bikes to take out during the day!!
Nice hotel and good location. Could have stopped there for a few days. Would def go again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KookaburraHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I found this inn after pulling off Highway 101 at 7 pm to find overnight accommodation. I used the Tripadvisor app's "Near me now" option and called the hotel with the best rating. Fortunately the app identified Brisas del Mar! I phoned and William answered the phone and invited us to come choose between two available rooms.
We selected one on the top floor, toward the back of the inn (with Spanish-style--or motel-type--layout with rooms opening onto walkways, not interior hallways).
As others have mentioned, William deserves his rave reviews. He was welcoming, told us about all the amenities (an overwhelming list, mentioned in other TA reviews), arranged for help to get our luggage to our third-level room, and advised us of restaurants. (The inn has no elevator, but there are rooms on the ground level with doors level with the tiled walkways for those who have mobility issues.)
Our only regret was that we had just an overnight stay on our drive from LA to San Francisco. We arrived at Las Brisas in time for milk and cookies, enjoyed the complimentary bottle of champagne in our room's fridge, and had dinner at a nearby restaurant.
A buffet breakfast is provided in the morning, with tables in the lobby and the adjacent tiled patio area. (Santa Barbara was experiencing unusually warm weather for January.) The two people at the front desk were long-time staff and reinforced our sense that this inn had "real innkeepers."
Las Brisas and two other inns (Harbor Inn, directly adjacent, and Lavender Inn across the street) are owned by the same family, rather than a chain.
Las Brisas also rents rooms and suites with full kitchens by the month as well, a tempting prospect for a winter-time stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Googleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews