We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely little hotel overlooking the beach! Clean, reasonably priced, lovely location and VERY friendly, helpful staff . Dined at the Fish house near the pier on the evening on the hotels recommendation , it was perfect !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    131
    75
    36
    38
See reviews for
81
144
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I shopped and shopped for an affordable room on the beach for a special trip to get engaged (she said YES by the way!) and wanted to stare at that beautiful Santa Barbara ocean. After looking at $700/night rooms at the fancy hotels and some just off the beach, we booked at the Cabrillo Inn. And will go back over and over. Book room 228 for the best view, King bed looks right out over the beach to the ocean. Close to the zoo, about 1/2 mile stroll to the Wharf and touristy-type things but more of a local feel at the east end of the beach. Can't beat it for the bucks and they even allowed a late check-out so that we could go horse-back riding in the morning then grab a shower later. Book it. Great staff, yes, not the modern luxury hotel but view can't be beat and the included breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: Room 228 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bignewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It is at the end near East Beach, so there's not as much traffic as near Stearns Wharf. We ate our breakfast on the patio staring right at the beach. The motel is quite old, but it's very clean and rooms are nice and large. Coffee was available all day in the lounge. Only negative is there is construction on the hotel next door which caused noise pretty early in the morning. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a "partial view of the ocean" but really I thought it was more than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMahoney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

For the price, the place is unbeatable. I had a beautiful view of the beach and was just steps away from it. The only bad thing I can say is that the room smelled pretty bad. I could especially smell something foul and moldy, probably the carpet, when I was laying in bed. I will definitely go back, I will just be armed with air fresheners next time. This is probably a 2 star quality hotel/motel on a 5 star property, so again, for the price you probably won't get better in Santa Barbara. There's a small window in front that I left open to hear the waves crashing at night. It was heavenly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckytravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Yes our Oceanfront "East Beach" location coupled with our affordable rate cannot be matched along Santa Barbara's beachfront. I am sorry to hear that your room had a foul order. We would have addressed the problem and fixed it if we were notified of it. We have very expensive ozone machines that remove all odors and it only takes 30 minutes to treat the room. If the room smelled when you first went into it this is when you should have notified the front desk and we would have assessed the situation and even moved you to another room. We clean our carpets regularly with an extraction machine and then disinfect with a neutralizer. Thank you again and we look forward to accommodating you again without any room issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, Ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The staff were very nice and friendly. The ice machine was being repaired and they had a big ice chest out by the lobby filled with ice for their guests. The rooms were standard,small bathrooms and hard beds. Everything seemed clean.The walls were thin and we could hear the TV next door as well as the 2 children upstairs running through the rooms( stay upstairs) .The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed our little patio with a view of the ocean. The pool was nicely heated to about 80 degrees.The breakfast was all sweet carbs with 4 small pieces of quiche for a room full of 20 guests. Only one overworked lady in the breakfast room trying to toast all those bagels and muffins.OK,I guess, but not a big luxury. The location is right across the road from the beach and we could hear the waves at night. We even saw dolphins swimming very close to the beach right from the parking lot. Not really walkable to State St restaurants. We have stayed in various other budget hotels in SB(what they would call budget hotels...$100+) and this one is just as good and has the beach view. Would stay here again....maybe upstairs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ebande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. It is a great value for the price (very reasonable). It is a little less than a mile away from State St. and the pier, but there is a trolley to take you down there. There are also many places to rent bikes, which is what we did. Overall, a great place to stay in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellabelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a nice spot, not swank, but a great location for the price. It is located closer to the beach than most other hotels in the area. If you keep the window open you can hear the waves and distant barking seals at night. I would recommend the place based solely on the location and price. Some travelers may not like the layout of the facility, decidedly mid-century with an outside corridor and windows that face the walkway. Privacy is not a feature here. We found the bed to be comfortable, no issues there. The walls are a bit thin, but this appears to be a quiet place that may not attract groups of partying youngsters, so that is not too much of a problem. This place is toward the end of area where most of the hotels are located but is only about a 20 minute walk to the pier area. If fortunate to visit Santa Barbara again, we'd most likely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NorCalHereAndThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
#45 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing