We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 9 June 2014

With all the negative reviews here we approached our stay at the Cabrillo with some trepidation. Totally unnecessary as it turns out: we (couple with 6 mth old baby) had a very enjoyable stay. I knocked off a star for the fact that it's old and dated, but perfectly clean and functional in an awesome location. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, breakfast was better than your average continental fare, pool lovely and clean. If you have a hankering, fancy drinks/food are just a 5 min stroll away at the Fess Parker.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was available for $20 extra from our online rate. Was definitely worth it for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madramor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Don't expect a fortress or upscale accommodations but prime location! That is what SB is about!!! Best view. Walkable distance to anywhere! Been here several times.
Again, you are not paying $600/ night so be realistic but again you can't beat the location

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Me along with my family stayed here for two nights at the beginning of June. The weather was gorgeous and a dip in the heated pool was just marvellous. Only thing I could possibly suggest would be adding hairdryers in the rooms as there wasn't one. Everything else was perfect.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the most inexpensive room we found in SB for the date and it had a perfect location. Just across from the beach and 15 minute walk to state street. Easy and cheap to get around with Über as well. The rooms were clean and the staff was awesome

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRHild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Position is everything and this property has it in spades. Absolute beachfront next door to the Hyatt but without the pruce tag. We found this via a coupon deal and got a partial sea view room on the ground floor with a terrace. Room was comfortable with basic fittings and very clean. Bed was comfy as were the pillows. No air con but a fan provided air circulation. Bathroom basic but functional. Breakfast offered overlooking the pool had variety and staff were obliging. Thanks to Ryan who checked us in. We liked it so much we stayed a second night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pro: Good Location
Breakfast had a good variety; muffins, bagels,yogurt,waffles,fruit and the lady in charge of it was very friendly
Good bath soap
Uprgaded for 50 oceanfront and was able to check in earlier


Cons: The young man at check-in had a bad attitude you could tell he could care less about his job. No idea why he is in the hospitality industry.
Old looking carpet, curtains, bedspread
Unpleasant old stuffy smell

Overall for the location it was a good choice but I will not be staying there again I would rather choose a hotel that isn't oceanfront and is more updated the smell is not worth it to me.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbaj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very pleasant staff, fantastic location directly across from the beach, excellent assortment of breakfast fare along with coffee, very clean (and not too cold or too warm) pool, easy to find, good freeway access, and nice patio furniture with views of the ocean to enjoy. We definitely would stay there again upon a return trip to Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask the front desk about which rooms have an ocean view or a patio outside the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
410 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 931 E Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3642
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £85 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabrillo Inn at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing