We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My friend and I arrived at the Cabrillo Inn for a two night stay. We were under the impression, from her cousin, that it had been renovated. The location was great, easy to find from the freeway. It was a 5 minute drive to State St., which is the main street in Santa Barbara. We got a first floor room which was at the front corner of the hotel. The door was a sliding glass window, which is a little strange. We walked into an aging, musty smelling room. It looked like a room from a Travel Lodge, with very old wallpaper, dated floral bedspread, only one night table, and the kicker was a large noisy fan, no central air conditioning. A big let down to say the least. The free breakfast didn't have what the office guy had told us, only the basics, the juice machine didn't work, so, it was bagels, coffee tea and croissants and doughnuts. The staff was very friendly, and the grounds were landscaped nicely. Very convenient to the ocean, just a walk across Cabrillo Blvd. and you are there. I would not stay in this place again, there are way too many choices there to end up with a room dated circa 1965! Oh, also the bed is quite hard and my hip was hurting each morning.

Room Tip: I heard from the staff that room 230 upstairs has a private balcony, with a nice ocean view, but I d...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WeLove2travel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This motel is pleasant, clean and functional even though it is an older property. We enjoyed the wonderful ocean view, heated pool, continental breakfast buffet and the friendly staff. The TV was a CRT model, but it worked just fine. Wifi was included. On our weekend trip, we were not affected by construction noise from the project immediately next door, but work appears to be ongoing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and comments. We appreciate your feedback and do realize our property is an older style type with a bat and board wood/stucco exterior. We are almost complete with the replacement of all our tv's with large flat screen types and your room most likely had the large CRT type which will be swapped out in the next month. We have future remodel plans for the exterior and then finally to the interior of the rooms. Our continental breakfast is well received by many guests. After our renovations we will continue to be the "Best Oceanfront Value" along Santa Barbara's most desirable "East Beach" as well as the other end of the beachfront "West Beach"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Location opposite the beach was good , although it is a long walk or taxi ride into main part of Santa Barbara. Didn't feel it was hugely good value, as rooms felt small and on top of each other and the large portable fans in each room were inadequate and got in the way. Free breakfast was ok and better than most but ran out quite quickly. Nice pool and sun bathing area, but it gets crowded in August. Overall, it probably compares well with other Santa Barbara hotels
Which were mostly more expensive, but don't expect much space.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are less noisy. None of the rooms seemed to have an ocean view. This was visib...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxed335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Our Oceanfront "East Beach" location is one of the best along Santa Barbara's beachfront and as stated in prior "Los Angeles Times" Sunday Travel Section newspaper, "The Cabrillo Inn at the Beach" "Rates as low as you will find along Santa Barbara's beautiful Beachfront" The Pier and downtown State Street are only 3/4 mile away and you can be there in less than 5 minutes by taking the 25 cent electric shuttle which runs along the beachfront and into downtown via State Street. Or if you prefer pick up a bike next door and stroll along the bicycle path located right in front of the Inn which crosses over to the beach in just 50 feet. When the property was constructed the rooms used to have either two double or single queen size beds which made the rooms feel larger. Based on customers feedback over the years they prefer rooms with two queen size beds or one King size bed so they can get a good night sleep. They also have told us over the last 35 years that they do not spend allot of time in the room as there are so many things to do and see in beautiful Santa Barbara. Based on this we have accommodated our guests and have larger sized beds which makes the rooms feel smaller than originally set up with smaller beds. Has anyone ever had to sleep two adults in a double size bed? If so you know what I am talking about. The Cabrillo Inn at the Beach is Oceanfront and all of our rooms except one face the ocean either directly or perpendicular and have a view of the ocean via a small or large window. Premium view rooms are on the ends of the buildings or face parallel to the ocean. Our rooms are only one deep versus larger properties that have a middle hallway and have rooms that face the ocean and the back rooms face the mountains. Yes our larger hotels in the area or by the Pier are more expensive and sometimes almost double and when compared to our pristine location and moderate accommodations our new guests and especially our growing returning guests know that we are a good value for Oceanfront accommodations in beautiful Santa Barbara. If you want excellent value check out our 3rd floor Suite on our website for spectacular Ocean and Channel Island Views thru two large 7' x 8' panoramic windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Accommodation in Santa Barbara is expensive but this was good value, close to the Harbour and beaches. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There is no pool, restaurant or big lobby but you get a continental breakfast to get you going in the morning so you can make the most of your holiday time. The owner is very helpful, gave us some provisions for our early start to visit the Channel Islands and gives a quick orientation for SB. Really an ideal place for anyone exploring SB and the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S_J_C_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Our Oceanfront "East Beach" location is one of the best along Santa Barbara's beachfront and as stated in prior "Los Angeles Times" Sunday Travel Section newspaper, "The Cabrillo Inn at the Beach" "Rates as low as you will find along Santa Barbara's beautiful Beachfront" The Pier and downtown State Street are only 3/4 mile away and you can be there in less than 5 minutes by taking the 25 cent electric shuttle which runs along the beachfront and into downtown via State Street. Or if you prefer pick up a bike next door and stroll along the bicycle path located right in front of the Inn which crosses over to the beach in just 50 feet. When the property was constructed the rooms used to have either two double or single queen size beds which made the rooms feel larger. Based on customers feedback over the years they prefer rooms with two queen size beds or one King size bed so they can get a good night sleep. They also have told us over the last 35 years that they do not spend allot of time in the room as there are so many things to do and see in beautiful Santa Barbara. Based on this we have accommodated our guests and have larger sized beds which makes the rooms feel smaller than originally set up with smaller beds. Has anyone ever had to sleep two adults in a double size bed? If so you know what I am talking about. The Cabrillo Inn at the Beach is Oceanfront and all of our rooms except one face the ocean either directly or perpendicular and have a view of the ocean via a small or large window. Premium view rooms are on the ends of the buildings or face parallel to the ocean. Our rooms are only one deep versus larger properties that have a middle hallway and have rooms that face the ocean and the back rooms face the mountains. Yes our larger hotels in the area or by the Pier are more expensive and sometimes almost double and when compared to our pristine location and moderate accommodations our new guests and especially our growing returning guests know that we are a good value for Oceanfront accommodations in beautiful Santa Barbara. If you want excellent value check out our 3rd floor Suite on our website for spectacular Ocean and Channel Island Views thru two large 7' x 8' panoramic windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location, just across the street from beach. Zoo and country club super close by. Rooms are comfortable. No airconditioning but fans cooled down the room. Pool was right outside the rooms. Nice areas to sunbathe & sit out. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubledoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Cabrillo Inn at the Beach is a lovely little place to stay in Santa Barbara. Located right across from the beach, only a 2 minute walk and you're in the sand. The pool is nice and it stays warm. The breakfast comes with the room and was very good. On the other hand I did not notice one room that had onthe air conditioning, it was way to hot for just a fan. When the fan was blowing from the window it was too loud. All in all I would stay here again, the staff is very nice and the location is near to everything but far enough away to make it a hassle free trip.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with a pool view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Batrik910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location was great. The grounds and landscaping was beautiful. The rooms were adequate size although the decor was average and a bit dated. For the location (right across from the beach) it is a good value. The continental breakfast was done very well. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £113 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabrillo Inn at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing