We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel in SB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great business hotel in SB”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

When in Santa Barbara on biz travel you need to balance glitz with a hotel that delivers basic affordable biz amenities. The Avania is close to the beach and downtown, with fast free wifi connectivity, free parking, and a very personable and friendly manager. My team and I will return here soon for our biz in SB. You exceeded our expectations this week when 5 members of my team stayed at your property. Thank you very much for your hospitality.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MousseMakesGumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    214
    138
    45
    46
See reviews for
100
257
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Nothing really special and expensive for the services.
Average on everything.
WiFi without good coverage.
Terrible breakfast (named continental) with only muffins and corn flakes.
Not very comfortable bed.
The location was ok.

Doesn't worth more than $70/night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Aviana for 4 nights mid July over an extended weekend. The front office staff is very friendly and accomodated our request to a different room on the same floor, so we were not next to a family with a Baby.
The Hotel´s location is ideal if you are looking for a place to be next to the Harbor, Leadbetter Beach and the Pier, as it is 2 minutes to walk to the seafront.
The Hotel has been renovated - but a bit on the cheap side. The color scheme of brown and light blue feels cheesy. There is no closet, just a bar with hangers, the bathroom is "Motel 8 like" and they are too thrifty with soaps and shampoos for a $240/night weekend logding rate. The breakfast and lounge area are OK, but don´t expect a plentiful breakfast - it´s OK but nothing fancy. The balcony furniture is cheap plastic (if you´re lucky to have anything), so the Hotel can´t shake the motel feel, unless they upgrade.

On the Up-side, we liked free Wi-Fi and of course free parking, something the Fess Parker and Hyatt charge for!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the mountain facing and ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbuenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I've stayed here twice. The rooms are nicely decorated and I've managed to get good deals both times. It's a good location and I've recommended it more than once.

My only problem was when booking for a friend's wedding party last summer...the first person I spoke to on the phone was lovely. He gave us a good group booking and was very helpful & kind. When I called back to confirm the booking the lady in charge was so incredibly rude. Turns out the bride's sister had also had the same experience a few days before with this lady. I had to argue through everything that had already been agreed during my initial call. It was very upsetting, infuriating and such a disappointment to have someone like that ruining the hotel's reputation, especially as I was bringing a lot of custom to the hotel (over 7 rooms). If she hadn't behaved like that, then the whole experience would've been great.

The stay itself ended up being perfect for the bridal party & guests - but no-one should have to go through such rudeness and aggravation to make a booking!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishGirl-AngelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I made a reservation for a weekend at the Avania inn 3 weeks in advance. I received an email confirmation with the correct date, name and my credit card number. After a 3 hour drive, I arrived at the front desk and the woman said they did not have a reservation for me and no vacant rooms. She was very rude and did not offer me anything. She left me stranded and furious. I ended up finding another inn and had to pay a lot more. I will never go to the Avania Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBang7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The thing is with Santa Barbara it is beautiful and as such is very expensive so you hav eto be prepared to pay more here than other motels or inns in the region. We found the Avania really good value for money- lovely suite with loads of space. Very peaceful in the evenings even at the weekends and just a 2 minute walk to the beach or 10 minutes into town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Got it for $109 for one night on June 5th. Perfect for what we needed. Pulled into town late that evening. Started calling around and this was by far the best price for the quality. There were cheaper places but I assure you on driveby that they were slums. 3 other hotels very nearby were $150 or more. This place was clean and had a FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. Waffles and all! Very effecient. The lady at the desk isn't overly friendly but she isn't rude either. She was effecient and very to the point but I made no requests of her so she was fine by me. The room was your basic room but she gave us a balcony even tho we were told it would cost more for one when we called. So she gave it to us at no extra charge to our surprise. It was a clean and adequate room. Nothing fancy but we didn't expect that and it accomodated all our needs. Rooms have been redecorated recently you can tell. It's an older hotel, but has been updated properly. Highly recommend. We walked to the harbor and a small park and shopping. GREAT LOCATION!! FREE PARKING~~~

Room Tip: Ask if balcony is available. It was nice ot have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stc33Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Castillo Inn at the Beach
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing