We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, good value for money, central enough location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A good 10 minute walk from State Street is the only downside to this hotel but it is near the beach and harbour.
Really good rooms and a decent breakfast.
Key to this hotel is great value for money!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

anywhere else $200 for this place would have been insane, but for Santa Barbara it was reasonable. as others have said, the refurbishment was done cheaply and it definitely shows, the place just feels unloved and univiting, a criticism that extends to the pool, not sure that was worth the bother.
I had no problems at reception, she was nice enough to me. breakfast was fine, good coffee and great waffle maker!
I stayed one night and it was fine, just fine though, I would have been dissapointed if i had booked for longer, it is far from the part of state street that you want to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havecasewilltravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Last minute booking on deciding to stay in Santa Barbara. Location is fine, but there are a lot nicer looking hotels nearby! Room is really spacious and has everything that you'd want, particulary for a longer stay, there is a fridge and microwave. Room was mainly clean but there were a couple of hairs on the towels which was quite off-putting. I think this would be a really good choice for people who want a spacious base for exploring the coast and not wanting to spend a lot.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LBRBNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We went into the Avania with no prior booking. We got a king room overlooking the pool, with sofa and chairs, and the lady at the front desk knocked $30 off the price. This was for a three night stay. The room was large and clean, and the hotel is well located- five minutes to the sea front and ten minutes to State Street. The pool is small but nice to cool off in, and there's also a hot tub which is open until ten, and we enjoyed a dip one hot evening afte eating out. A good last minute find, and I'd stay here again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1982_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The Day's Inn next door may be the next marquee for this war horse.
Rooms have been updated so that there is the "suddenly it's 1961" feel upon entering.
They are clean and comfortable and THAT is what is important.
Lobby and breakfast area are well below Hampton, Fairfield, or HIE standards.
Internet service in room was sporadic and weak. Video streaming could not be supported. Location was convenient to beach and State Street Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairWinds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Only a block from the beach and from several excellent places to eat, this mid level motel has large rooms, comfortably furnished, very quiet and with a comfortable bed. Besides wifi in the rooms, it has a computer in the lobby with internet access. While the pool is small, the beach is five minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Location is ok but a fairly long walk to the action on State st or Stearns Wharf. The price reflects that lack of prime position. Rooms are good size and clean. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £92 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing