We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could recommend...we found bedbugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish I could recommend...we found bedbugs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

While the location is great, we found bed bugs in one of the mattresses after my mother was bitten. The mattress appeared to be new. The woman at the front desk came to look & said she thought it was mildew because the sheets weren't bloody (!!), but didn't argue that much with us. The phone in the room was broken as was the lamp (bulb leaning way over & covered in duct tape), and it looked like a recent remodel. I would recommend trying somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    211
    137
    45
    46
See reviews for
100
255
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The front desk staff was good but the hotel needs to put back some of the money it charges for the room into refurbishing the place. They did redecorate but the rooms are like the old Holiday Inn's. I know Santa Barbara is expensive but this is an insult. For $270 a night I expect a lot more than this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I paid $ 212 for an ordinary room, a THEFT. Complimentary Internet, it DOESN'T WORKS. Hotel completely renovated, FALSE ( see my photos). The price was really expensive related to the general low quality of the hotel and the cleanness. I can't suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

I would plan on staying here again next time we visit Santa Barbara. I enjoyed the walk (about one mile) into the main town. The rooms were clean and I liked the way they had been decorated. The breakfast choices were rather limited, the fruit bowl could do with jazzing up a bit. We didn't use the pool as it always seemed hectic.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PurdieParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great find for the price. Santa Barbara is a fairly expensive city to stay and Avania Inn is affordable, clean, and the pool/jacuzzi are great. Small but great. It's a short walk from the water and about a 15 minute walk to where shops and food is on State St. Our stay was quiet and pleasant.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theneilsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Unfriendly staff extremely rude. Rooms were not as I would expect for a $250+ room.Felt like a motor lodge room smelled, was old, cheap, and had beat-up furniture. Broken and dis-repaired bathroom fixtures. Small and ugly room. All around, a bad experience. Will not return. The lady at the front desk has no customer service skills.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mala k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a pleasant stay here for a few nights and it was neither here nor there really. The staff were friendly, it's a short walk to the ocean and they even throw in a free basic breakfast.

I think Santa Barbara in general is expensive so that kind of explains the lack of anything special at this place given the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Castillo Inn at the Beach
#9 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing