We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap? but okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We happened to land here during Fiesta Days which might have explained a not-so-cheap stay, but we did get the 2 queen beds we needed. (and comfortable) The room colors are not to my taste, and my son's asthma acted up from the damp (though I didn't smell mildew myself). We enjoyed the jacuzzi and easy walk to the beach and restaurants. The reception staff was fine, helpful, just not effusive.Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place. Well maintained and also well located in Santa Barbara.

Rooms are spacious, well equipped and nicely decorated. The only was a small bathroom (toilet - shower).

Breakfast is generous and good. A big change from a lot of places that are promising more than what they are providing.

Nice swimming pool. A bit too warm, but clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammifere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Avania isn't a great deal, but if you're looking for a cheap hotel near the beach, its a good option. The room and the bathroom are spacious and clean, but a bit old and outdated. The lady on the reception wasn't friendly, but was professional. Free parking avaiable and the breakfast was just OK. Great location, right next to the beach and in a walking distance to nightlife. A bit expensive for what it provides, but in that area I don't think you can get many cheaper options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If I could rate this hotel lower, I would! The decor is way outdated and the smell is over the top! Our room was disgusting, it stunk, the A/C was loud, and you could easily hear your neighbors walking around next door as well as above you! The hallway floors and walls were stained as well! The pool and jacuzzi? Seriously? I've seen pools in the ghetto look better. No disrespect to those that have given high marks to this place, but D**M!!! If this is your last resort on a place to stay, stay at a Motel 6. I was very disappointed!! Never again! Folks! Don't waste your time or money... Trust me!

Room Tip: Run! Run away from this place!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way towards SF.
Rooms are clean and of good size. We had a room towards the street - can be noisy in the morning. Breakfast was not good, so please make sure to have that included in your price.
Location is close to the beach, but it takes 15-20 minutes to walk to downtown.
Service was friendly. Ok hotel for an overnight stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We are Santa Barbara natives and enjoy going back a few times a year. This was our first stay at Avania but it won't be our last. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and the location is two blocks off the beach very near restaurants and groceries. We had a small incident after check in which was handled quickly and perfectly. Frankly, it was a good test of the hotel and they passed with flying colors. The lady at the front desk (the owner?) was very polite and I was able to see her interect with many guests and she was a pleasure each time. We will be staying there again as soon a we get back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

For the second consecutive year my wife and I had a very nice stay over the July 4th holiday at the Avania Inn of Santa Barbara.
This boutique hotel is clean and comfortable; friendly and nicely appointed.
They are walking distance from the Amtrak station- a key consideration as we took the train up from Orange County.
They provide a nice breakfast each morning - and unlike so many places in SB that pass off donuts and coffee as "breakfast," the Avania Inn offers a full breakfast complete with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, in addition to the coffee/juice/pastries.
The rooms are nicely appointed - our room had a king bed with comfy pillow-top mattress.
The staff is friendly and accommodating - I would absolutely recommend the Avania Inn for anyone looking for a getaway weekend to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £92 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing