We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mason Beach Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Beach Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
115
235
151
48
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
235
151
48
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate streetfree parkingwalking distance to the beachsmall poolstayed here for one nightpool and hot tubnice breakfastacross the streetbeds were comfortableroom was largefresh fruitcomplimentary breakfastroad tripsamanthablockbalconycereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Upon arrival we were greeting by, Samautle with a smile. She saw that there would be 4 of us and upgraded us to a larger room she had available at no extra charge.
We chose Avania because we were looking for a room relatively close to the beach and services at an affordable price.
The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, no sags and we found plenty of towels for our group of 4. Usually when you have a small group you have to ask for them. There was sufficient free parking as well.
Breakfast was nice for a continental style and included with room, fresh scrambled eggs, choices of bread or muffins and fresh fruit, coffee and juices.
Our gathering is an annual event so we plan to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Nice central location near city and beach.
Walking distance to town center and some tourist attractions.
Clean rooms and nice bed. Pool are available.
No surprise you get what you expect. Service and breakfast ok. Only missed cheese and meet at breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Restaurang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The rooms were a bit small but very nicely redone. The breakfast was good and the staff very nice. They have a pool and a jacuzzi that is heated. It was close to the pier, the park and State St. I would stay again. The only negative would be the poor water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebDaveLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for three night whilst travelling the west coast,had a room on second floor overlooking the pool,room was big clean nice bathroom,has small balcony,wasn't particularly expensive 10 mins walk too the beach nice location as it's quiet.Room cleaned everyday to a high standard in the morning breakfast is buffet style but is good food quickly replaced when runs out (have there own waffles makers so you can make them yourself!!!) Not far from the shops Nd other places too eat there's also the pier too visit a very relaxing hotel would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the second or third floor overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigalb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced place ( compared to others in the area) a comfortable bed, proximity to the beaches (two blocks) and in general a decent place to stop on the way to or from San Diego this is a good place for that . Do not expect much else. It is clean (the different grout colors in the bathroom make you think half the place is infested with mold - which it isnt).

Everything about this place is kind of old and tired- but clean and comfortable. It is in need of major maintenance. EG several of the electrical outlets in the room were so worn out that my plugs just fell out of the receptacles. The television remote was one of those cranky ones that you had to hit the buttons on just the right side with just enough pressure and aim them with the precision of a sniper to get the tv to do anything.

It had a microwave, a fridge, and more importantly comfortable beds. Our room had a patio but the patio furniture had no pads, and was so aged by the sun that it looked dirty.

I added a picture of their presumed maintenance.

Lots of other little cranky things about this place - that need a good makeover. I also suggested that the proprietors keep their doors closed or the kitchen fan on high when cooking for themselves since the smells permeated the whole area - you can smell curries and spices as you walk into the lobby so either its a smell they want everyone to enjoy ( the last time i enjoyed it the right way I was in Old Delhi) or they really don't understand the basics of hotel practice - or their fan needs repair like a lot of other things do.

Their heating cooling is two separate systems - an air conditioner you can plug in if you can keep the plug in the socket, and some kind of cranky old wall mounted heating thing with a fan in it - which smells like singed "last occupant" - neither of which was needed yet. I imagine you could turn both on high and see which one eventually wins.

The shower handle came off in my hands. There were burnt out lights in a couple of lamps and the counter clerk acted as if i was personally robbing her by asking for replacements.

The WiFi worked very well, and hey it was Santa Barbara after all - go walk on the beach.

All in all, you might expect such a place from a dotty old third cousin you happened to call and ask if you could stay over night on your way to somewhere else. Except here you have to pay!

Room Tip: The stairs are not kind- pick a first floor room if you can.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mithra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews