We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain considering the...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Diego, California, Usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great bargain considering the...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Location, location, location. Walking distance to the Marina and some great shops/ restaurants. Walking distance to the pier and state street! Very affordable pricing with many amenities. It was hundreds less than comparative hotels in the area. Very clean rooms and a nice balcony as well. Free Wifi and a great breakfast included!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 582KevinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    218
    139
    45
    46
See reviews for
100
262
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Given the price point and the motor lodge-looking exterior, I had modest expectations for our short getaway to Santa Barbara. The Avania overdelivered. Our room was very quiet and clean with comfortable beds and the breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good with eggs, sausage, make your own waffles and a variety of breads and cereals. We didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that. Only a couple of blocks to the beach and an easy walk to State Street. Just two minor issues - a tiny bathroom that I had to navigate gingerly and I couldn't take advantage of the free wi-fi unless I was in the lobby. Despite showing an adequate wi-fi signal strength I couldn't get any bandwidth in the room for some reason. I'd happily stay there again, especially for how pricey other Santa Barbara hotels can be.

Room Tip: Room 307 is out of the way and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank monkeysonparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenson Ranch, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We paid $170/nt which seems steep for a 2-1/2 star motel, but after searching all over the Internet this is the best we could find. The rooms are nice, comfy beds and the location is great, close to the beach and the funk zone. We were there mostly to wine taste and we were walking distance to at least 8 tasting rooms. (make sure to go to the visitor center to get 2-for-1 tastings). The staff was great and the breakfast was better then expected. Scrambled eggs, sausage, super yummy waffles, yogurt, cereal and fruit. I would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Hhogelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice and big, clean room, walking distance to the beach and wharf for a reasonable price, this is your spot. We really enjoyed out stay here. Breakfast was simple but doable. Pool is
Small but who spends time there anyway when you have a wonderful beach at your footsteps. Eat at Opal. It was AMAZING!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelseyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It's a typical Inn. You have a good room with TV, a parking lot and a good location. That's about all you can ask, because you don't stay in the hotel.
The bad thing about the hotel is the absence of a safe and the staff was a little indifferent with guests arriving or going.
In one word, I would define as: fine.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry_J_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I found this to be a very good hotel for the price. The parking lot was not very large, but we had no problems parking in the lot. I am not sure what it would be like in high season. It was a very short walk to the pier and beach. A real plus as there is not much parking in town either. The staff was friendly and the breakfast good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachHunterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed one night for a sleep and that was all. Good thing. The drapes had holes in them from sun damage, so if they overlooked the shredded drapes what else are they prepared to overlook? Certainly makes you wonder. Front desk just treated us like a number. She recorded my complaints on her computer with out any acknowledgement or apology. I asked for a refund or reduced rate and she said not its done now , no reversing it.You get the impression they only want your business, bored and uninterested, stock responses. Just relying on transient business. I cant abide service of this nature.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Castillo Inn at the Beach
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing