We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & great decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
“Great value & great decor!”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. I was there w/ my family so the breakfast (which included waffles) was a great deal. The room was very nice, clean & spacious. Nice to have a frig, coffee maker and large flat screen TV too! The decor of the place was great! We loved the colors and furnishings! The lady behind the counter was extremely helpful and friendly. Check out the beautiful colored hardword floor in the lobby! Great all around!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cca6library
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    218
    139
    45
    46
See reviews for
100
262
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Although I was wary of staying here after reading earlier reviews, I'd definitely stay here again. The manager(ess) was extremely helpful and friendly (and obviously hard-working). There was still a little construction going on but that will further improve the inn in time (probably by now). My room was clean and comfortable, with a spacious bathroom. The continental breakfast was great, including make-your-own waffles and fresh fruit (and free newspaper). Location is great too, a short walk from downtown and the beach; with shops and restaurants also nearby.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platycercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Everyday on my vacation they were doing construction outside starting at 7:30a. We were not warned of this before staying here and the people working didn't seem to care when we mentioned it. On top of it, they don't seem to have a high standard for their business, which is too bad cause it's a great location. If you can stand the cigarette smoke filled rooms and loud construction everyday of the week.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cupcakemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed here for a weekend starting on a Wednesday night and checking out on Sunday. While the actual property may be an older building, the rooms had all been updated recently. There were pillow top QUEEN (not double) beds with really nice sheets and comforters. (none of those low thread count scratchy sheets) FLat screen TV's in each room, newly updated granite showers and bathroom areas. The carpeting was new, as were the furniture and paint. While it may not be my decorating style, I'm there to sleep people! We didn't hear a lot of noise from other rooms. The pool is not great. Old, and small but my 10 year old still loved swimming around in it one afternoon. The same with the jacuzzi, but, we still enjoyed sitting out there. Both pool and jacuzzi were well maintained, just older.

It is a two block (long block) walk to the waterfront where you can catch the waterfront trolley to the wharf, zoo, various places to eat, for 25 cents per person. Catch the trolley at the wharf going to downtown for the same price and head for all the great shopping and restaurants on State street. We took the train from Orange County and went without a car the whole time.

The manager at The Avania was very helpful and could tell us how to get anywhere we wanted. The continental breakfast is a little sparse, but between the waffles, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee, we were all happy and saved some money every morning on breakfast.

If you don't want to spend a ton of cash, and want a get-away with your family, this place works great. It is clean, accommodating, and convenient. The staff is great, especially Samantha.

  • Liked — Beds were comfy, nice bedding, sheets
  • Disliked — unfinished carpet installation in lobby
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We booked here at the last minute because our 6-bed dorm room at the hostel turned out to be 6 beds in a many-people dorm, where kids aren't actually allowed, and that evolved into 2 rooms that were 1.5 miles apart. Literally. So we had to give up on the hostel.

I don't normally like to stay in fancy places. Apart from the obvious financial disincentive, they don't usually seem as friendly as the cheaper ones.

This place had the best of both: Good breakfast, luxurious rooms (at least from my perspective), but down-to-earth, friendly staff (Sam).

I recommend it if you want to splurge close to the beach.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank traveller2222252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento,calif
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2008

My son and I were down there "college shopping " stumbled upon this newly renovated Inn within walking distance to the beaches, restaurants and jr.college.
Our hostess at the front desk was fabulous. She was a wealth of knowledge ...directed us in the right paths and made our stay delightful. We look forward to return visits.
The jacuzzi and pool area worked out well.....clean and comfy beds.

Helpful?
Thank flyrobinfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2008

All rooms just renovated - very modern style in dark brown and aqua. Totally new furniture, carpets, and comforters.

Renovation was nearly finished - they just got new leather chairs for their breakfast area.

Breakfast is sub-standard, but the room price was good, since booked on the web site.

Front office personal was very helpful and gracious.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank JAD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Castillo Inn at the Beach
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing