We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Large comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Travelling the Pacific Coast Highway from San Francisco southbound, stopped here for one night-Originally it was the free Milk and Cookies that got our attention!
Unfortunately, the receptionist on check in, grunted they didn't have any-Only bad point to hotel stay!
Large comfortable rooms with flatscreen tv, could do with new paint job/TLC, but perfectly comfortable and a 5 min walk to the Pier.
Free waffles and coffee for Breakfast eased my girlfriend's disappointment of No cookies and Milk in the evening! Yum!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharpnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2009

We made a mistake and thought our check-in time was earlier than 3pm. No big deal, we'll just come back at 3, right? WRONG! The lady became very argumentative and defensive and her terrible attitude was shocking. She proceeded to demand that we tell her what our name was so that she could have our room ready at 3pm. I was afraid she would sabotage our room or something. What a Psycho. If we could get a refund and go somewhere else, we would. AWKWARD!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 5oceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AT ALL

I came to Santa Barbara for my birthday with friends. We decided to book this place because from pictures it looked decent. But when we got there, the manager was psycho. First of all, we got there around 11pm, but had to notify them because they don't have around the clock front desk clerks. When we arrived, the lady was furious with us and really rude (and the place is ugly). From the beginning she was not hospitable at all and made no effort. The rooms are whatevers and the service makes it definitely not worth staying. We wanted to leave that night but had no other options..it was the biggest waste of money. Hotels should be all about making your guests feel comfortable and welcome (I grew up in the Hotel business) and nothing they did was to that extent at all.

DO NOT STAY HERE. i'd rather sleep in my car. or on the ground.

WORST SERVICE. HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizkang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My husband, myself and 9 yr old daughter stayed at this hotel overnight on our way to San Diego and made the booking via internet. Thank goodness it was only for one night! The rooms had a dirty grubby feel and smell, the bathroom was in bad need of repair, clean & update. The bedspread was dusty and grubby and carpet also. The matting along the walkways were filthy. Across the road was a large oval where uni students play baseball. Because the games don't finish till 10pm every night the very loud shouting, whistling and cheering prevented us getting an early night. We could hear every footstep from the person in the room above us and when he turned on his room airconditioner, which protruded from the outside wall, the condensation dripped onto our outside unit. It sounded like a perpetual drum. I rang reception and she opened our window, removed the screen and placed a towel on top of our unit to soften the dripping noise. She left the filthy gauze next to our bed intending to replace it the following day. This hotel should be rated as 2 star at best. Even for just an overnight stay I would not recommend the Avania Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Decided to head up to Santa Barbara on a day's notice; found it on Hotel dot com, but ended up making the reservation directly on the hotel's website. Great value; recently renovated, 1 block to the beach (sand).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buyhevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Driving down the pacfic coast and having such good experiences in the accommodation we stayed at on the way, the Avania Inn was a sharp contrast. The lady behind the counter was clearly hated her job and was extrem;ey rude. She must be the owner as there could be no way she coudl keep her job otherwise. We were given a room with no airconditioning and not told about it beforehand and unable to change rooms. This was by far the worst place I stayed in on the whole holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Third time at this hotel and it's such a great find! New comfy beds, nice size room, flat screen TV, good shower, free internet, plenty of parking, good location around the corner 2 blocks from the main drag along the beach. Breakfast is better than many continentals out there. Nice staff. What more do you need? Oh, and a good price. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charley88Denver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
797 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £93 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing